• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help with flashing bios on RX 6800 using AMD Flash-Tool 3.04+

MartinDOC

New Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2021
Messages
5 (0.08/day)
I am trying flash a modified bios on my reference rx 6800. When using AMD Flash-Tool 3.04+ in the command prompt (with administrator privileges) it does not seem to be able to find my card.

I am following Igor's guide and when trying to flash the new bios using the command "amdvbflash -f -p 0 6800.rom" it returns the following:

"AMDVBFLASH version 3.04+EXTERNAL, Copyright (c) 2019 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.

-f option not support in external version of the tool. Please refer to tool help for list of option supported
Adapter not found

ERROR: 0FL01"

When I type in "amdvbflash -i" it returns "Adaptor not found"

The card is definitely exists/works as I am using a 5800x and wouldn't have a video output!

Can anybody advise?
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
721 (3.18/day)
Location
Germany
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X (and a LOT of other CPUs)
Motherboard MSI B550 Tomahawk
Cooling Corsair H150i RGB Pro XT
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600 Mhz CL16 (2x16GB)
Video Card(s) All Ampere, two 6900XTs and other RDNA2, all Turing, all Pascal, Vegas, 980 Tis and older.
Storage Corsair MP 600 Pro 1TB, 2x Samsung 870 QVO 4TB, Samsung 870 Evo 500GB (Backup)
Display(s) Samsung Odyssey G7 32"
Case Fractal Design Meshify S2 White TG / Noctua NF-A14 iPPC-3000RPM Fans
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 running through a SoundblasterX G6
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1200w Titanium
Mouse Glorious PC Gaming Race Model O, G903 Hero, G502 Hero SE, Deathadder V2, EC2-A
Keyboard ASUS ROG Strix Scope TKL DLX, Corsair K95, Logitech G815
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
what do you try to flash that you can not do with the MPT?
flashing RDNA2 is pretty finicky and can go bad very often.
 

MartinDOC

New Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2021
Messages
5 (0.08/day)
So from my understanding you use MPT to update the power tables in the bios and then flash the modified bios with new power tables. Is this not correct?
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
721 (3.18/day)
Location
Germany
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X (and a LOT of other CPUs)
Motherboard MSI B550 Tomahawk
Cooling Corsair H150i RGB Pro XT
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600 Mhz CL16 (2x16GB)
Video Card(s) All Ampere, two 6900XTs and other RDNA2, all Turing, all Pascal, Vegas, 980 Tis and older.
Storage Corsair MP 600 Pro 1TB, 2x Samsung 870 QVO 4TB, Samsung 870 Evo 500GB (Backup)
Display(s) Samsung Odyssey G7 32"
Case Fractal Design Meshify S2 White TG / Noctua NF-A14 iPPC-3000RPM Fans
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 running through a SoundblasterX G6
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1200w Titanium
Mouse Glorious PC Gaming Race Model O, G903 Hero, G502 Hero SE, Deathadder V2, EC2-A
Keyboard ASUS ROG Strix Scope TKL DLX, Corsair K95, Logitech G815
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
no you just modify the sppt in the registry file, reboot and you have it set until you install a new driver. (you can save your MPT settings and just load them once a new driver released)
no flashing, no risk.
 

MartinDOC

New Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2021
Messages
5 (0.08/day)
Just to check, are you sure this works on 6000 series? Aren't they locked down in some way to prevent this?
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
721 (3.18/day)
Location
Germany
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X (and a LOT of other CPUs)
Motherboard MSI B550 Tomahawk
Cooling Corsair H150i RGB Pro XT
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600 Mhz CL16 (2x16GB)
Video Card(s) All Ampere, two 6900XTs and other RDNA2, all Turing, all Pascal, Vegas, 980 Tis and older.
Storage Corsair MP 600 Pro 1TB, 2x Samsung 870 QVO 4TB, Samsung 870 Evo 500GB (Backup)
Display(s) Samsung Odyssey G7 32"
Case Fractal Design Meshify S2 White TG / Noctua NF-A14 iPPC-3000RPM Fans
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 running through a SoundblasterX G6
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1200w Titanium
Mouse Glorious PC Gaming Race Model O, G903 Hero, G502 Hero SE, Deathadder V2, EC2-A
Keyboard ASUS ROG Strix Scope TKL DLX, Corsair K95, Logitech G815
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Just to check, are you sure this works on 6000 series? Aren't they locked down in some way to prevent this?
Of course does that work.. MPT is the only tool to use for getting anything out of RDNA2.
you can not overvolt and not go over the clock speed limits but everything else works just fine.
Screenshot_2.png
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,199 (6.20/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I am trying flash a modified bios on my reference rx 6800. When using AMD Flash-Tool 3.04+ in the command prompt (with administrator privileges) it does not seem to be able to find my card.

I am following Igor's guide and when trying to flash the new bios using the command "amdvbflash -f -p 0 6800.rom" it returns the following:

"AMDVBFLASH version 3.04+EXTERNAL, Copyright (c) 2019 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.

-f option not support in external version of the tool. Please refer to tool help for list of option supported
Adapter not found

ERROR: 0FL01"

When I type in "amdvbflash -i" it returns "Adaptor not found"

The card is definitely exists/works as I am using a 5800x and wouldn't have a video output!

Can anybody advise?
Why are you flashing a working card?

You are using a old tool

Take white sticker pics from card back or on the side of heatsink near pcie blade contactor and a gpu-z screenshot, post here
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2020
Messages
301 (0.65/day)
Location
Florida
Processor 3800x
Motherboard MSI Tomahawk x570
Cooling EK
Memory Ballistix E die
Video Card(s) rx 5700
Display(s) 144hz 1080p
Case Corsair Air 540
Power Supply Corsair HX750
You may need to extract your SPPT from your bios file, but you don't need to write a modified bios to the card to make MPT work.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2020
Messages
301 (0.65/day)
Location
Florida
Processor 3800x
Motherboard MSI Tomahawk x570
Cooling EK
Memory Ballistix E die
Video Card(s) rx 5700
Display(s) 144hz 1080p
Case Corsair Air 540
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Yeah man we don't want you bricking your beautiful card! Good luck.
 
Top