• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

help with gpu and psu

Joined
Oct 13, 2013
Messages
277 (0.18/day)
Likes
54
System Name IVY BRIDGE
Processor i7 3770K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Cooling PHANTEKS TC14PE
Memory GSKILL ARES DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 770 WF OC
Storage SAMSUNG 830 / GSKILL PHOENIX / SAMSUNG F4 / SEAGATE MOMENTUS / SEAGATE HDD 1.5
Display(s) ASUS 24" / DELL 20"
Case CORSAIR AIR 540
Audio Device(s) ASUS XONAR DG
Power Supply COOLERMASTER V700
Software WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE x64
#1
my current psu (that i really dont wanna upgrade honestly)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817371016

after much research and browsing, the best card i can get for my budget ($250 and down) is a gtx 760 2gb card from nvidia.

-most online sources say a 500w psu with 30amps on the 12v rail is required.
-my current psu is 25amps on the 12v3/pcie rail
-this same psu and rig ran a HD6950 2gb (overclocked/volted to the max) for well over a year no problems
-using a killwatt; my system drew under 400w of power on full gpu load


should i be okay here? am i borderline?
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2009
Messages
1,469 (0.45/day)
Likes
381
Location
Toronto
Processor i7-2670QM / Q9550 3.6ghz
Motherboard laptop / Asus P5Q-E
Cooling laptop / Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 2x4gb ddr3sd / 2x2gb ddr2
Video Card(s) 570m / MSI 660 Gaming OC
Storage ST9750420AS / ST1000DM003
Display(s) BenQ FP241VW / BenQ GW2265HM
Case MSI gx780 / Corsair 500r
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply laptop / Corsair 750tx
Mouse Steelseries Kinzu V2 / Logitech M120
Keyboard Logitech Deluxe 250 / Logitech K120
Software Windows 7
#2
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,160 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,709
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#3
I don't know how you came up with 25A for your PSU, but it's wrong. Even the Basiq version of it has 32A, and the Continuous Power models are built better.

"Basiq BP550Plus ~32A"

Source: http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=205763

The PSU you have now will run a 760 just fine.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2013
Messages
277 (0.18/day)
Likes
54
System Name IVY BRIDGE
Processor i7 3770K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Cooling PHANTEKS TC14PE
Memory GSKILL ARES DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 770 WF OC
Storage SAMSUNG 830 / GSKILL PHOENIX / SAMSUNG F4 / SEAGATE MOMENTUS / SEAGATE HDD 1.5
Display(s) ASUS 24" / DELL 20"
Case CORSAIR AIR 540
Audio Device(s) ASUS XONAR DG
Power Supply COOLERMASTER V700
Software WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE x64
#4
I don't know how you came up with 25A for your PSU, but it's wrong. Even the Basiq version of it has 32A, and the Continuous Power models are built better.

"Basiq BP550Plus ~32A"

Source: http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=205763

The PSU you have now will run a 760 just fine.
i read it off the sticker on my psu in front of my face.

the 12v1 rail has 22 amps on it
the 12v2 rail has 22 amps on it
the 12v3 rail has 25 amps on it
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 13, 2013
Messages
277 (0.18/day)
Likes
54
System Name IVY BRIDGE
Processor i7 3770K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Cooling PHANTEKS TC14PE
Memory GSKILL ARES DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 770 WF OC
Storage SAMSUNG 830 / GSKILL PHOENIX / SAMSUNG F4 / SEAGATE MOMENTUS / SEAGATE HDD 1.5
Display(s) ASUS 24" / DELL 20"
Case CORSAIR AIR 540
Audio Device(s) ASUS XONAR DG
Power Supply COOLERMASTER V700
Software WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE x64
#5
well, for example... http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/MSI/GTX_760_HAWK/24.html seems like a 760 is less power than a 6970, not sure how your OC+OV 6950 compared to a 6970

you'll probably be fine? no cpu OC?
well i ran my 3770k back to stock for now, havent had the time to adjust the new overclock after adding in more 2 more ram sticks (had it at 4.8ghz @ 1.380volts previously), im not sure exactly how many watts the cpu add to the draw, but worst case scenario it pulls 150w?
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2012
Messages
1,888 (1.01/day)
Likes
742
Location
CZ
System Name TITAN Slayer / CPUCannon / MassFX
Processor i7 5960X @ 4.6Ghz / i7 3960x @5.0Ghz / FX6350 @ 4.?Ghz
Motherboard Rampage V Extreme / Rampage IV Extreme / MSI 970 Gaming
Cooling Phanteks PHTC14PE 2.5K 145mm TRs / Custom waterloop / Phanteks PHTC14PE + 3K 140mm Noctuas
Memory Crucial 2666 11-13-13-25 1.45V / G.skill RipjawsX 2400 10-12-12-34 1.7V / Crucial 2133 9-9-9-27 1.7V
Video Card(s) 3 Fury X in CF / R9 Fury 3840 cores 1145/570 1.3V / Nothing ATM
Storage 500GB Crucial SSD and 3TB WD Black / WD 1TB Black(OS) + WD 3TB Green / WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) LG 29UM67 80Hz/Asus mx299q 2560x1080 @ 84Hz / Asus VX239 1920x1080 @60hz
Case Dismatech easy v3.0 / Xigmatek Alfar (Open side panel)
Audio Device(s) M-audio M-track / realtek ALC 1150
Power Supply EVGA G2 1600W / CoolerMaster V1000 / Seasonic 620 M12-II
Mouse Mouse in review process/Razer Naga Epic 2011/Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Keyboard in review process / Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2014/Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2011
Software Windows 7 Ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate
Benchmark Scores cinebench 15.41 3960x @ 5.3ghz Wprime32m 3.352 3960x @ 5.25ghz Super PI 32m: 6m 42s 472ms @5.25ghz
#6
you have a PSU that has:
22A on 12v1 that's 264W
22A on 12v2 that's 264W
25A on 12v3 that's 300W
So if you have your CPU on 12v1 and your GPU on 12v3 and your HDDs and fans on 12v2/12v1 you'll be fine.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2013
Messages
277 (0.18/day)
Likes
54
System Name IVY BRIDGE
Processor i7 3770K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Cooling PHANTEKS TC14PE
Memory GSKILL ARES DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 770 WF OC
Storage SAMSUNG 830 / GSKILL PHOENIX / SAMSUNG F4 / SEAGATE MOMENTUS / SEAGATE HDD 1.5
Display(s) ASUS 24" / DELL 20"
Case CORSAIR AIR 540
Audio Device(s) ASUS XONAR DG
Power Supply COOLERMASTER V700
Software WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE x64
#7
you have a PSU that has:
22A on 12v1 that's 264W
22A on 12v2 that's 264W
25A on 12v3 that's 300W
So if you have your CPU on 12v1 and your GPU on 12v3 and your HDDs and fans on 12v2/12v1 you'll be fine.

kinda off topic, but for the power cables that come out of the psu itself (non-detachable)l; what "rails" are those? i have the 24 pin mobo power, an 8 pin cpu power, and a 8 pin pcie power coming out from there
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
9,375 (2.73/day)
Likes
13,013
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Processor Core i7-3770k 3.5Ghz, O/C to 4.2Ghz fulltime @ 1.19v
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 250GB MX200 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#8
More than likely the 8 pin pcie coming out of the bundle is the 12v2, bc I think the priority is the cpu power, so that should be 12v1.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,160 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,709
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#9
i read it off the sticker on my psu in front of my face.

the 12v1 rail has 22 amps on it
the 12v2 rail has 22 amps on it
the 12v3 rail has 25 amps on it
If you think eyes alone are all it takes to know PC electronics, you'll never learn anything.

There's two general ways people misinterpret PSU specs.

1. Voltage+Wattage formulas
2. Adding rail amperages

The reason 1. is an inaccurate assumption is because no PSU delivers it's full power. There's always some efficiency lost in current leakage before the final output. Assumption 2. assumes perfect combined amperage, also not possible.

You came up with an even more bizarre assumption and mistook the rail with the most amperage as the total amperage. You have a 3 rail PSU. The efficiency of it determines the effective output amperage. The only way you can tell from the sticker is on single rail PSUs that have only one +12v spec.

This is why combined 12v rail charts from trusted sites, like I showed you via Guru3D, are very handy, and should not be taken for granted. It's bad enough when people pick parts based on such speculations, some even go tinkering physically thinking they have the necessary knowledge.

Stop and learn something before you damage some expensive parts.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 29, 2012
Messages
1,888 (1.01/day)
Likes
742
Location
CZ
System Name TITAN Slayer / CPUCannon / MassFX
Processor i7 5960X @ 4.6Ghz / i7 3960x @5.0Ghz / FX6350 @ 4.?Ghz
Motherboard Rampage V Extreme / Rampage IV Extreme / MSI 970 Gaming
Cooling Phanteks PHTC14PE 2.5K 145mm TRs / Custom waterloop / Phanteks PHTC14PE + 3K 140mm Noctuas
Memory Crucial 2666 11-13-13-25 1.45V / G.skill RipjawsX 2400 10-12-12-34 1.7V / Crucial 2133 9-9-9-27 1.7V
Video Card(s) 3 Fury X in CF / R9 Fury 3840 cores 1145/570 1.3V / Nothing ATM
Storage 500GB Crucial SSD and 3TB WD Black / WD 1TB Black(OS) + WD 3TB Green / WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) LG 29UM67 80Hz/Asus mx299q 2560x1080 @ 84Hz / Asus VX239 1920x1080 @60hz
Case Dismatech easy v3.0 / Xigmatek Alfar (Open side panel)
Audio Device(s) M-audio M-track / realtek ALC 1150
Power Supply EVGA G2 1600W / CoolerMaster V1000 / Seasonic 620 M12-II
Mouse Mouse in review process/Razer Naga Epic 2011/Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Keyboard in review process / Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2014/Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2011
Software Windows 7 Ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate
Benchmark Scores cinebench 15.41 3960x @ 5.3ghz Wprime32m 3.352 3960x @ 5.25ghz Super PI 32m: 6m 42s 472ms @5.25ghz
#10
I didn't say that 22A 12v1 + 22A 12v2 + 25A 12v3 = 69A combined. I said that if the GPU pulls 16.6A off of 12v3 then you should run the CPU on 12v1/12v2 because it could over load 12v3 because the 3770K will draw 6.5A so it's better to have it on it's own rail. The PSU max output is 550W so the combined of all 3 rails should be 40-42A spread over 3 rails each of which triggers shut down if you go over what the rail is rated at. If you go over the 550W the PSU is rated at then you have a problem but a 200W GPU + 77W CPU is only 277W but that would trigger OCP on 12v1 or 12v2 so put 77W on one rail and 200W on another if you don't wanna trigger rail specific OCP.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,160 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,709
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#11
I didn't say that 22A 12v1 + 22A 12v2 + 25A 12v3 = 69A combined. I said that if the GPU pulls 16.6A off of 12v3 then you should run the CPU on 12v1/12v2 because it could over load 12v3 because the 3770K will draw 6.5A so it's better to have it on it's own rail. The PSU max output is 550W so the combined of all 3 rails should be 40-42A spread over 3 rails each of which triggers shut down if you go over what the rail is rated at. If you go over the 550W the PSU is rated at then you have a problem but a 200W GPU + 77W CPU is only 277W but that would trigger OCP on 12v1 or 12v2 so put 77W on one rail and 200W on another if you don't wanna trigger rail specific OCP.
I don't give a crap what you said, did you not see that I quoted and was responding to DF is BUSY?
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2012
Messages
1,888 (1.01/day)
Likes
742
Location
CZ
System Name TITAN Slayer / CPUCannon / MassFX
Processor i7 5960X @ 4.6Ghz / i7 3960x @5.0Ghz / FX6350 @ 4.?Ghz
Motherboard Rampage V Extreme / Rampage IV Extreme / MSI 970 Gaming
Cooling Phanteks PHTC14PE 2.5K 145mm TRs / Custom waterloop / Phanteks PHTC14PE + 3K 140mm Noctuas
Memory Crucial 2666 11-13-13-25 1.45V / G.skill RipjawsX 2400 10-12-12-34 1.7V / Crucial 2133 9-9-9-27 1.7V
Video Card(s) 3 Fury X in CF / R9 Fury 3840 cores 1145/570 1.3V / Nothing ATM
Storage 500GB Crucial SSD and 3TB WD Black / WD 1TB Black(OS) + WD 3TB Green / WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) LG 29UM67 80Hz/Asus mx299q 2560x1080 @ 84Hz / Asus VX239 1920x1080 @60hz
Case Dismatech easy v3.0 / Xigmatek Alfar (Open side panel)
Audio Device(s) M-audio M-track / realtek ALC 1150
Power Supply EVGA G2 1600W / CoolerMaster V1000 / Seasonic 620 M12-II
Mouse Mouse in review process/Razer Naga Epic 2011/Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Keyboard in review process / Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2014/Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2011
Software Windows 7 Ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate
Benchmark Scores cinebench 15.41 3960x @ 5.3ghz Wprime32m 3.352 3960x @ 5.25ghz Super PI 32m: 6m 42s 472ms @5.25ghz
#12
Sorry for the misunderstanding it's just that the quote looked similar to my first post here