• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

High Virtual memory On SSD

killua 53

New Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2020
Messages
5 (0.17/day)
hello everyone
i have problem and i think its my crucial ssd is the problem when i was palying playing Valorant the game froze for a sec so i immediately quit the game and open Crucial Storage Executive to see if anything went wrong so i have noticed that the virtual memory was high like 9gb i dont know what this coulde mean
ps- i have lost lexar ssd 512 gb last month eventhough it was new one [2 months] and it was doing just like this new ssd did
Sorry For My English
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
8,730 (2.26/day)
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel Xeon X3470
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. P55A-UD3R (Socket 1156)
Cooling Enermax ETS-T40F
Memory Samsung 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800
Storage V-GEN03AS18EU120GB, Seagate 2 x 1TB and Seagate 4TB
Display(s) Samsung 21 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case Icute Super 18
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte
Power Supply Silverstone 600 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Sades Excalibur + Taihao keycaps
Software Win 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
how much ram that you have? looks like your ram is full or it has big temp data that dumped in the ssd
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
6,543 (2.72/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet
Processor 3700x
Motherboard AsRock Taichi Ultimate x470
Cooling NH-D15 Chromax
Memory G.Skill 2x16GB 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 2 NVME + 4 HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W
Case CoolerMaster NR600
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro
Keyboard Corsair K57
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Brrrrrrr
Pagefile could be eating your SSDs.
 

Rei

Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
223 (2.59/day)
Location
Guam
System Name 1 Desktop, 2 Laptops, 1 Nettop
Processor Pentium, Celeron & Atom
Motherboard Brandless???
Cooling Stock
Memory 4 GB + 3 GB + 2 GB + 1 GB
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce GTX 780 Ti
Storage 6 TB Total
Display(s) HP Pavilion 14 Inch CRT
Case Brandless
Audio Device(s) Various
Power Supply Seasonic 500 Watt
Mouse Wayes Iron Man wireless mouse
Keyboard Rexus VR2 Wireless keyboard
Software Win10 & WinXP SP3
Benchmark Scores It sucks...
If you have low RAM & your virtual memory paging file is automatically managed, then Windows will increase existing pagefile on your SSD. This is normal & not something you should be alarmed about & unlikely related to your previously lost Lexar SSD.
Did your game suffer in performance after the temporary freeze?
 

killua 53

New Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2020
Messages
5 (0.17/day)
how much ram that you have? looks like your ram is full or it has big temp data that dumped in the ssd
16 GB DDR4

Pagefile could be eating your SSDs.
[
Pagefile could be eating your SSDs.
PAGE FILE WHAT IS THIS?
If you have low RAM & your virtual memory paging file is automatically managed, then Windows will increase existing pagefile on your SSD. This is normal & not something you should be alarmed about & unlikely related to your previously lost Lexar SSD.
Did your game suffer in performance after the temporary freeze?
no it worked just fine
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
9,829 (4.48/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
We need to know your full system specs.
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
6,543 (2.72/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet
Processor 3700x
Motherboard AsRock Taichi Ultimate x470
Cooling NH-D15 Chromax
Memory G.Skill 2x16GB 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 2 NVME + 4 HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W
Case CoolerMaster NR600
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro
Keyboard Corsair K57
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Brrrrrrr
It's basically your system using storage as ram once your actual ram runs out.

Basically what Rei said.
 

killua 53

New Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2020
Messages
5 (0.17/day)
should i disable page file if i have 16 gb ram and can it the problem or not ?

It's basically your system using storage as ram once your actual ram runs out.

Basically what Rei said.
anyway to fix this please?
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
6,543 (2.72/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet
Processor 3700x
Motherboard AsRock Taichi Ultimate x470
Cooling NH-D15 Chromax
Memory G.Skill 2x16GB 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 2 NVME + 4 HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W
Case CoolerMaster NR600
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro
Keyboard Corsair K57
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Brrrrrrr
Besides TPU showing messages backwards..

Not really unless you want to get more ram but we don't know if that's the actual issue. We need to know ram usage and SSD temps to narrow down what the issue is.

It's like the show House MD; it takes 30 minutes of drama to get to the point of curing the patient of something simple.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rei
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
9,829 (4.48/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
I would have thought once the GPU runs out of memory it would use shared system memory, but it seems it is using the SSD as a cache with games stored on there.
My solution would be to get a second platter drive for game storage to minimise the read/ writes to the SSD.
 

Rei

Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
223 (2.59/day)
Location
Guam
System Name 1 Desktop, 2 Laptops, 1 Nettop
Processor Pentium, Celeron & Atom
Motherboard Brandless???
Cooling Stock
Memory 4 GB + 3 GB + 2 GB + 1 GB
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce GTX 780 Ti
Storage 6 TB Total
Display(s) HP Pavilion 14 Inch CRT
Case Brandless
Audio Device(s) Various
Power Supply Seasonic 500 Watt
Mouse Wayes Iron Man wireless mouse
Keyboard Rexus VR2 Wireless keyboard
Software Win10 & WinXP SP3
Benchmark Scores It sucks...
Besides TPU showing messages backwards..
LOL! I was curious why messages was shown backwards. I thought that was just my browser acting up.
It's like the show House MD; it takes 30 minutes of drama to get to the point of curing the patient of something simple.
Yay... I love House! Right after the final season ended, I binged watched all 8 seasons in 4 days. I was only 9 years old & I felt like a mad doctor already. Kids...
anyway to fix this please?
Well, that is the "fix", so to speak. It is not the problem in itself.
should i disable page file if i have 16 gb ram and can it the problem or not ?
I don't think you should disable page filing. If you do & you run out of system RAM, whatever program that is eating up your RAM fairly, will crash. On rare occasion, your Windows could also crash with BSOD, possibly.
Just leave page file on & automatically managed by Windows. This is good for crash management. This also shouldn't negatively impact your SSD that much.
If this happens again & your computer feels sluggish after it runs out of system RAM, just restart your computer. If you are using Win10, make sure that you use the restart button & NOT shutting down your computer then turning it back on.
I would have thought once the GPU runs out of memory it would use shared system memory, but it seems it is using the SSD as a cache with games stored on there.
I have no experience with GPU running out of VRAM so maybe it does straight away create pagefile instead of moving over to main RAM.
My solution would be to get a second platter drive for game storage to minimise the read/ writes to the SSD.
That might not be a good solution. Other than game/software performance will be sluggish due to the slower mechanical HDD therefore creating constant pagefile management, read/writes doesn't negatively impact SSD write-cycle that much that you'd notice a decrease in lifespan. By that time, you're due for an upgrade anyway...
 
Last edited:

killua 53

New Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2020
Messages
5 (0.17/day)
Besides TPU showing messages backwards..

Not really unless you want to get more ram but we don't know if that's the actual issue. We need to know ram usage and SSD temps to narrow down what the issue is.

It's like the show House MD; it takes 30 minutes of drama to get to the point of curing the patient of something simple.
My SSD temp is around 40 and 45

LOL! I was curious why messages was shown backwards. I thought that was just my browser acting up.

Yay... I love House! Right after the final season ended, I binged watched all 8 seasons in 4 days. I was only 9 years old & I felt like a mad doctor already. Kids...

Well, that is the "fix", so to speak. It is not the problem in itself.

I don't think you should disable page filing. If you do & you run out of system RAM, whatever program that is eating up your RAM fairly, will crash. On rare occasion, your Windows could also crash with BSOD, possibly.
Just leave page file on & automatically managed by Windows. This is good for crash management. This also shouldn't negatively impact your SSD that much.
If this happens again & your computer feels sluggish after it runs out of system RAM, just restart your computer. If you are using Win10, make sure that you use the restart button & NOT shutting down your computer then turning it back on.

I have no experience with GPU running out of VRAM so maybe it does straight away create pagefile instead of moving over to main RAM.

That might not be a good solution. Other than game/software performance will be sluggish due to the slower mechanical HDD therefore creating constant pagefile management, read/writes doesn't negatively impact SSD write-cycle that much that you'd notice a decrease in lifespan. By that time, you're due for an upgrade anyway...
im afraid this ssd will die like the previous one im sure there is problem but i dont know what is it and i have enough rams to play at least valorant so why it is using ssd as cache and also i think gtx 1070ti could run valorant without any problem
is it possible that the game is not using my rams properly ?
 

Rei

Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
223 (2.59/day)
Location
Guam
System Name 1 Desktop, 2 Laptops, 1 Nettop
Processor Pentium, Celeron & Atom
Motherboard Brandless???
Cooling Stock
Memory 4 GB + 3 GB + 2 GB + 1 GB
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce GTX 780 Ti
Storage 6 TB Total
Display(s) HP Pavilion 14 Inch CRT
Case Brandless
Audio Device(s) Various
Power Supply Seasonic 500 Watt
Mouse Wayes Iron Man wireless mouse
Keyboard Rexus VR2 Wireless keyboard
Software Win10 & WinXP SP3
Benchmark Scores It sucks...
My SSD temp is around 40 and 45


im afraid this ssd will die like the previous one im sure there is problem but i dont know what is it and i have enough rams to play at least valorant so why it is using ssd as cache and also i think gtx 1070ti could run valorant without any problem
is it possible that the game is not using my rams properly ?
Is your SSD RGB-lit? 40-45 is a bit warm for SSD. Try to ventilate air into SSD properly.
While I dunno the story with how your previous SSD died, it couldn't be possibly related to this issue. There could be several reasons your system is running low on RAM:
1) Your game may be leaking memory. Update your game (And OS too while you're at it).
2) You played the game for too long. Exit the game & restart your PC then play again.
3) I'm Batman!!!
4) None of the above...
5) All of the above...
 
Joined
May 8, 2020
Messages
77 (0.45/day)
System Name ValueRig
Processor i5-3470
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H61M-S2P-B3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 Evo *fanless
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 6GB Gaming XXX
Storage 120GB Crucial BX300 - 1TB WD Caviar Blue (2010)
Display(s) 3X LG Flatron L1753T (3840x1024)
Audio Device(s) VIA VT2021 integrated :)
Power Supply Seasonic SSR-750FX
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Old IBM
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1
My SSD temp is around 40 and 45


im afraid this ssd will die like the previous one im sure there is problem but i dont know what is it and i have enough rams to play at least valorant so why it is using ssd as cache and also i think gtx 1070ti could run valorant without any problem
is it possible that the game is not using my rams properly ?
Well u can just go ahead and disable the paging shit, just go system properties>advanced system settings>performance>advanced>virtual memory (here u would be able to adjust the amount, the drive used and it can be disabled altogether if needed) .

To see your ram usage u can simply open Task Manager and leave it in the background, then use ur pc (like you normally do it) for a couple of hours and then come back to the task manager and see how much ram is being utilized.
 
Last edited:

Rei

Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
223 (2.59/day)
Location
Guam
System Name 1 Desktop, 2 Laptops, 1 Nettop
Processor Pentium, Celeron & Atom
Motherboard Brandless???
Cooling Stock
Memory 4 GB + 3 GB + 2 GB + 1 GB
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce GTX 780 Ti
Storage 6 TB Total
Display(s) HP Pavilion 14 Inch CRT
Case Brandless
Audio Device(s) Various
Power Supply Seasonic 500 Watt
Mouse Wayes Iron Man wireless mouse
Keyboard Rexus VR2 Wireless keyboard
Software Win10 & WinXP SP3
Benchmark Scores It sucks...
Well u can just go ahead and disable the paging shit
Except if he does that, his game & whatever other program is also running & possibly his OS too, might crash due to insufficient RAM.
 
Joined
May 8, 2020
Messages
77 (0.45/day)
System Name ValueRig
Processor i5-3470
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H61M-S2P-B3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 Evo *fanless
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 6GB Gaming XXX
Storage 120GB Crucial BX300 - 1TB WD Caviar Blue (2010)
Display(s) 3X LG Flatron L1753T (3840x1024)
Audio Device(s) VIA VT2021 integrated :)
Power Supply Seasonic SSR-750FX
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Old IBM
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1
Except if he does that, his game & whatever other program is also running & possibly his OS too, might crash due to insufficient RAM.
yep, but prior to that there will a notification from windows saying that ur pc is running low on ram...
Soooo u would know for sure when to upgrade the ram :)
 

Attachments

Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
1,339 (0.25/day)
Processor Ryzen 1600AF @4.2Ghz 1.35v
Motherboard MSI B450M PRO-A-MAX
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L120t
Memory 16GB Team Group Dark Pro Sammy-B-die 3400mhz 14.15.14.30-1.4v
Video Card(s) XFX RX 5600 XT THICC II PRO
Storage 240GB Brave eagle SSD/ 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Dell SE2719HR
Case MSI Mag Vampiric 011C AMD Ryzen Edition
Power Supply EVGA 600W 80+
Software Windows 10 Pro
Is your SSD RGB-lit? 40-45 is a bit warm for SSD. Try to ventilate air into SSD properly.
No it's definitely not, they usually run mid/high 40's under normal use and higher (50c's) under strenuous use.

Could well be texture streaming, loading game textures from the SSD and it's not fast enough to do it without hitching.

Windows 10 manages page file pretty well, though if you're concerned you can set it to a fixed amount say 4096/8192MB so you still have pagefile should/when you need it but it's not auto set by Windows.
 

Rei

Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
223 (2.59/day)
Location
Guam
System Name 1 Desktop, 2 Laptops, 1 Nettop
Processor Pentium, Celeron & Atom
Motherboard Brandless???
Cooling Stock
Memory 4 GB + 3 GB + 2 GB + 1 GB
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce GTX 780 Ti
Storage 6 TB Total
Display(s) HP Pavilion 14 Inch CRT
Case Brandless
Audio Device(s) Various
Power Supply Seasonic 500 Watt
Mouse Wayes Iron Man wireless mouse
Keyboard Rexus VR2 Wireless keyboard
Software Win10 & WinXP SP3
Benchmark Scores It sucks...
yep, but prior to that there will a notification from windows saying that ur pc is running low on ram...
Soooo u would know for sure when to upgrade the ram :)
I dunno how it is on Win10 as I haven't seen it yet but on WinXP, the notification would not pop up when pagefile is disabled, only when enabled. He also doesn't need a RAM upgrade. Clearly there are other issues.
No it's definitely not, they usually run mid/high 40's under normal use and higher (50c's) under strenuous use.
I don't have enough knowledge on the average SSD temp for other people but I assumed SSD would run cooler that mechanical HDD. In fact, those are my HDD's temp while my SSD has never run hotter than 35C. That is close to room temp.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
1,339 (0.25/day)
Processor Ryzen 1600AF @4.2Ghz 1.35v
Motherboard MSI B450M PRO-A-MAX
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L120t
Memory 16GB Team Group Dark Pro Sammy-B-die 3400mhz 14.15.14.30-1.4v
Video Card(s) XFX RX 5600 XT THICC II PRO
Storage 240GB Brave eagle SSD/ 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Dell SE2719HR
Case MSI Mag Vampiric 011C AMD Ryzen Edition
Power Supply EVGA 600W 80+
Software Windows 10 Pro
I dunno how it is on Win10 as I haven't seen it yet but on WinXP, the notification would not pop up when pagefile is disabled, only when enabled. He also doesn't need a RAM upgrade. Clearly there are other issues.

I don't have enough knowledge on the average SSD temp for other people but I assumed SSD would run cooler that mechanical HDD. In fact, those are my HDD's temp while my SSD has never run hotter than 35C. That is close to room temp.
Nope, SSD's definitely run hotter than mechanical drives, though it's not really that much of an issue
 

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
21,857 (3.94/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 1x 250GB 960 EVO | 1x 500gb Intel 720p | 32TB SAN
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Schiit Fulla 3 on Beyerdynamic DT 990 Pros
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Kone Aimo White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Nope, SSD's definitely run hotter than mechanical drives, though it's not really that much of an issue
People will go wild when they see the amount of current they eat as well.
 
Joined
May 8, 2020
Messages
77 (0.45/day)
System Name ValueRig
Processor i5-3470
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H61M-S2P-B3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 Evo *fanless
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 6GB Gaming XXX
Storage 120GB Crucial BX300 - 1TB WD Caviar Blue (2010)
Display(s) 3X LG Flatron L1753T (3840x1024)
Audio Device(s) VIA VT2021 integrated :)
Power Supply Seasonic SSR-750FX
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Old IBM
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1
Nope, SSD's definitely run hotter than mechanical drives, though it's not really that much of an issue
Wtf, that is wrong.


...Unless we are talking about some early gen SLC server-class units, these ssds ran hot and were power hungry, that is for sure.
1) Modern (like 2011 onwards) SSDs run really efficiently and only consume some energy while doing intense r/w operations.
2) Dont let your HDD sensor deceive you, because usually that sensor is located pretty far from the metal chassis of the hdd, which always heats up quite significantly, just touch it with your hand to proof that.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
1,339 (0.25/day)
Processor Ryzen 1600AF @4.2Ghz 1.35v
Motherboard MSI B450M PRO-A-MAX
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L120t
Memory 16GB Team Group Dark Pro Sammy-B-die 3400mhz 14.15.14.30-1.4v
Video Card(s) XFX RX 5600 XT THICC II PRO
Storage 240GB Brave eagle SSD/ 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Dell SE2719HR
Case MSI Mag Vampiric 011C AMD Ryzen Edition
Power Supply EVGA 600W 80+
Software Windows 10 Pro
Yup the sensor of my 2.5" SSD is located at the backdoor of my house and not on the tiny little 2.5" SSD itself, have you even heard yourself? SSD's run at a higher temp than HDD's 40c+ is normal compared to 30c+ on HDD's which is also perfectly fine, check your facts, or better yet, check your hardware and se for yourself

Ohhhhh look, an ssd @40c and a hdd @35c in the same system, sitting next to each other.... you'd think I was almost talking sense?

I guess they put them pretty little heatsinks on them for asthetics? P.S watts consumed doesnt equal heat produced, just so you know.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
May 28, 2020
Messages
305 (2.02/day)
System Name Main PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard ASUS X570 Crosshair VIII Hero (Wi-Fi)
Cooling EKWB X570 VIII Hero Monoblock, Corsair HYDRO X 2080 Ti block & XD5 pump/res, Heatkiller IV SB block
Memory 2x 2x16GB 3200-14-14-14-34 G.Skill Trident RGB (OC: 3600-14-14-14-28)
Video Card(s) PNY GeForce RTX 2080 Ti OC
Storage Corsair Force LE SSD 500GB, Fusion IoDrive 2 1TB, Huawei HSSD 2TB
Display(s) 1x Dell U2913WM 2560x1080 75Hz, 1x BENQ XL2411Z 1920x1080 100Hz, 1x Acer XB1 xb271hu 2560x1440 144Hz
Case Phanteks P600S
Audio Device(s) Sennheiser HD599, Blue Yeti
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB MK2
Software Windows 10 Pro 2004
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R20: 5086 MC, 498 SC CPU-Z 17.01.64: 5788.9 MC 521.5 SC
I guess they put them pretty little heatsinks on them for asthetics? P.S watts consumed doesnt equal heat produced, just so you know.
I mean.. that's not entirely true, energy has to go somewhere. 1st law of thermodynamics; "energy cannot be created or destroyed, only transferred and transformed". There's no light produced, nor is there any sound produced, there's no energy turning into kinetic energy making a platter move (which subsequently would be slowed down by friction, turning the energy into heat anyway), so all the energy put in pretty much turns into heat. It's very close to a 100% conversion. This is true for pretty much every single electronic appliance that isn't an LED or speaker (in these specific appliances the majority of the power put in comes out in the form of light/sound waves, respectively.)

The reason why SSDs might run hotter despite using less watts is mainly down to surface area. The surface area of a 15mm tall 2.5" drive is 191 cm2 while for a 3.5" it's ~502 cm2. That's over twice the surface area for heat to dissipate.
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
6,543 (2.72/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet
Processor 3700x
Motherboard AsRock Taichi Ultimate x470
Cooling NH-D15 Chromax
Memory G.Skill 2x16GB 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 2 NVME + 4 HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W
Case CoolerMaster NR600
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro
Keyboard Corsair K57
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Brrrrrrr
Yup the sensor of my 2.5" SSD is located at the backdoor of my house and not on the tiny little 2.5" SSD itself, have you even heard yourself? SSD's run at a higher temp than HDD's 40c+ is normal compared to 30c+ on HDD's which is also perfectly fine, check your facts, or better yet, check your hardware and se for yourself

Ohhhhh look, an ssd @40c and a hdd @35c in the same system, sitting next to each other.... you'd think I was almost talking sense?

I guess they put them pretty little heatsinks on them for asthetics? P.S watts consumed doesnt equal heat produced, just so you know.
Half my HDDs are running at around 50c, same as my uncooled NVME. Typically I wouldn't be in this situation but that's just what the Cosmos has in store for me.
 
Top