1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Hmailserver issues.

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Sir B. Fannybottom, Feb 15, 2014.

1. Sir B. Fannybottom

Sir B. Fannybottom

Thanks Received:
    To start this off, I'm just going to say I am a networking noob, I know the basics but not much, please be kind. Last night I set up a server with Hmailserver, squirrelmail, and wampserver. I can send emails to any address with no problem, and can receive them from other email addresses from my same server, however I cannot receive emails from gmail.com, or hotmail. I have tried googling this issue, and only really found people with MX issues, which is something I don't believe I have. I tried fiddling with SMTP settings, and tried setting up a route for the SMTP, but the documentation from the hmailserver website is a bit confusing, and I kept getting errors no matter what I did. Here are the diagnostics from hmailserver, and here is a link to the intodns of my domain. Thanks in advance!

2. silentbogo

silentbogo

Thanks Received:
    Check your your MX settings again. When i'm trying to go to heraiz.com it redirects me to http://198.91.220.229/, which is a local IP.
    Traceroute gets lost on the way to your host too.

3. R-T-B

R-T-B

Thanks Received:
    I don't think that's a local ip.

4. silentbogo

silentbogo

Thanks Received:
    oops.. missed by a few digits.
    But still it does not match his CNAME or MX records.

***left for some coffee

5. Sir B. Fannybottom

Sir B. Fannybottom

Thanks Received:
    Thanks for your help guys, but as I said in the first post I'm a networking noob. How exactly do I change this? Theres a section on the godaddy page about nameservers but I don't know what I would change it to.

6. silentbogo

silentbogo

Thanks Received:
    MX records will indicate the name of mail servers.
    CNAME is the an alternative name for your domain(pseudonym).