1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How do I enable port forwarding?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by ShadowFold, May 18, 2008.

  1. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I want to set up a Dedicated server and my friend said I needed to enable port forwarding for people to see my server cause currently no one else but me can. Thanks :toast:
     
  2. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    15,267 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,728
    Location:
    US
    On your Router. Type the address it be some thing like 192.168.1.1 look in the manual of your router. O yeah should have a password in there too maybe some thing like Admin.

    O yeah what Router do you have ?..
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I got it OEM so no manual. D-LINK EBR 2310
     
  4. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    15,267 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,728
    Location:
    US
  5. CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,758 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    470
  6. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. jonmcc33

    jonmcc33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    580 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    What is your server used for? If it's FTP then forward ports 20 and 21 from the router to your server's internal IP address. If it's a game server then forward that port, etc.
     
  8. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    idk about any of this stuff I just want to get my TF2 dedicated server working lol...
     
  9. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    15,267 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,728
    Location:
    US
    forward ports 27015 and 27020

    Likely there's more sorry don't play TF2 not my type of FPS.

    If it still not working you could try DMZ your router this will open EVERY port for a local IP.

    If you want to know your local IP addres use the IPConfig in a dos box.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Cybrnook2002

    Cybrnook2002

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    622
    You might also want to try things like making sure your PC is not set to private, then its invisible. Also, make sure your firewall is not disabling things like file sharing, or stealthing your pc.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)