1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How do I find the model on a video card?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by anxietyjnky, Jan 8, 2011.

  1. anxietyjnky New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Thank you all for the information on thermal paste. I think I have a good knowledge of it now.

    As for my video card, its an ASUS so I think it will do. But I dont remember the model and my son threw away all the documantation/packaging. I bought it about 2 months ago for my prebuilt that started freezing and crashing before I got it put in there.

    I do know that it is supported by WoW which is what it was purchased for in the first place.
    My only concern for it is that the PSU will be high enough at 450w to handle it.

    Anyone know where I could look to find out what model I have?

    Thanks.
     
  2. dank1983man420

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    522 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    It should have a sticker on the back of the card saying what it is. I'm sure someone can tell what it is if you have a couple of pics of it also. You could also download gpu-z and it will tell you most of the vendor information on it as well
     
  3. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,934 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,201
    You can put it in a spare pc or if you don't have one use your current pc, then run GPU-Z to give you all the info about it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. anxietyjnky New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Nebraska
    According to the sticker it is the EN8400GS SILENT/P/512M/A

    but it looks almost like this:
    http://usa.asus.com/product.aspx?P_ID=NamCbx9IwqvXUIog

    ?

    I can't run gpu-z. I haven't got a spare comp to use. It wouldn't fit in a slimline, so this one I'm using to post from won't help.
     
  5. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,099 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    551
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    Depending on the setup of your system, I'd reccommend buying something newer. A GT 240 is a bare minimum for gaming these days, and I don't think your 450w PSU would be a problem,
     
  6. anxietyjnky New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Nebraska
    the gt 240 is a bit out of my price range ATM.
    Just making a bare minimum build to run until funds increase.

    Only running my mmorpg on lowest settings until then.

    what do you all think of the ATI Radeon HD5450?
    I have one that I bought for the old comp that died still in the package that I was thinking of returning.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 8, 2011

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)