• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How much will the i3 4150 bottleneck a GTX 770?

Heavenz

New Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2014
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hello Everyone,

I ordered a GTX 770 and an i3 4150 a couple days ago, the package is almost here but now Im kind of worried about how it will perform.

Do you guys think the i3 will bottleneck it by much?

Specs:

- i3 4150

- ASRock H97 ITX

- Corsair Vengeance 8GB Ram (2x4GB)

- 1 TB WD BLUE

- Rosewill Capstone 550W

- Obsidian 250D
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.51/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#2
Most well rounded games won't see much of a bottleneck, it's the poorly optimised port/early access/generally badly coded ones that will sometimes cause a bit of stutter due to 2c/4t. I'm relatively certain you won't see issues unless you're playing Star Citizen or Crysis 3 or something (Metro 2033/Last Light is another good example of how to slaughter an i3)
 

Heavenz

New Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2014
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
Most well rounded games won't see much of a bottleneck, it's the poorly optimised port/early access/generally badly coded ones that will sometimes cause a bit of stutter due to 2c/4t. I'm relatively certain you won't see issues unless you're playing Star Citizen or Crysis 3 or something (Metro 2033/Last Light is another good example of how to slaughter an i3)
But I would still be able to maintain 60 fps on lets say high - ultra settings on CPU bound games right?
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.51/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#4
But I would still be able to maintain 60 fps on lets say high - ultra settings on CPU bound games right?
I don't think anyone can get 60FPS in Total War to this day. That is the most CPU bound game I'm aware of. Point is, per core performance is excellent regardless, it's the games that are semi-cpu heavy, but can use up to 8 threads that would struggle in some cases.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,033 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,635
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#5
It will be okay but let me say it this way. Latter on an upgrade to a i5 will see an improvement well worth the $
 

Heavenz

New Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2014
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
I don't think anyone can get 60FPS in Total War to this day. That is the most CPU bound game I'm aware of. Point is, per core performance is excellent regardless, it's the games that are semi-cpu heavy, but can use up to 8 threads that would struggle in some cases.
So for example if I played Total War would it be unplayable for me?

It will be okay but let me say it this way. Latter on an upgrade to a i5 will see an improvement well worth the $
Yeah I plan on doing that, but I really can't spend more money atm. Maybe by Christmas.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.51/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#7
Nah, you'd be just as screwed as everyone else! It's not as bad as I make it out to be, but its pretty hard to maintain anything close to 60FPS in that game. It's perfectly playable, but people who want Ultra+60FPS will get irritated. Most other games will be fine.
 
Joined
May 15, 2007
Messages
752 (0.19/day)
Likes
108
System Name Daedalus | ZPM Hive Mini
Processor Core i7 4700MQ @ 3.4Ghz (QC) | Core i7 8700K @ ??
Motherboard Intel H87m | MSI Z370i Pro Carbon AC
Cooling AC MX-2 & 2 x Exhaust Fans | Kuhler 620
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Ven-X 1600MT/s | 16GB T-Group 8Pack 3200 C14
Video Card(s) GTX780m 4GB @ 950/6000 (-25 mV) | GTX1070 @ ??
Storage OCZ Arc 100 240GB Boot/ 1TB HD | Samsung 960 Evo Boot / 2TB HD
Display(s) 17.3" matte 1080p | Dell 1440p 144Hz G-Sync
Case Clevo P170SM | Corsair 250D
Audio Device(s) Onboard w/ 2.1 Onkyo Speakers | Onboard w/ Edifier 980T
Power Supply 230w Adaptor | Thermaltake Toughpower XT 675w
Mouse R.A.T 3
Keyboard Vengeance K70 w/ Cherry Red
Software Win 10 x64 | Win 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Daedalus - 3DMark11 - 8912 (+135/+500)
#9
But I would still be able to maintain 60 fps on lets say high - ultra settings on CPU bound games right?
In something like Crysis 3, no it won't maintain 60FPS at all times*. The level "Welcome to the jungle" absolutely hammers the CPU (the grass in particular is a heavy burden). Even at 5888x1080 I still noticed an improvement going from a 4C/4T CPU to a 4C/8T CPU.

My laptop for example (GTX780M/4700MQ) shows 90-99% CPU utilisation across all eight threads in this level.

*Ignoring of course that the 770 itself won't be able to maintain this level of framerate at max setting in crysis 3 anyway.

Most other non RTS games should be fine however.

I would say though, moving to at least a 4C/4T CPU would be beneficial from a "future proof" point of view (in the the sense of the lifespan of the system itself).
 

Heavenz

New Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2014
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
In something like Crysis 3, no it won't maintain 60FPS at all times*. The level "Welcome to the jungle" absolutely hammers the CPU (the grass in particular is a heavy burden). Even at 5888x1080 I still noticed an improvement going from a 4C/4T CPU to a 4C/8T CPU.

My laptop for example (GTX780M/4700MQ) shows 90-99% CPU utilisation across all eight threads in this level.

*Ignoring of course that the 770 itself won't be able to maintain this level of framerate at max setting in crysis 3 anyway.

Most other non RTS games should be fine however.

I would say though, moving to at least a 4C/4T CPU would be beneficial from a "future proof" point of view (in the the sense of the lifespan of the system itself).
I will upgrade to an i5 as I have said above but not now, I know I wont get 60 fps on max settings in crysis 3, that game just eats gpus for lunch, my doubt was if games could become unplayable because of the i3.

I could say RCoon has alleviated some of that doubt I had, but still would appreaciate if anyone else could leave their opion on this topic :D
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,343 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,961
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#11
total war murders even the beastliest systems crysis 3 is poorly optimized
is the i3 going to be a bottle neck ? : yes
will it render any title unplayable: no it wont
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#12
I don't think you will have much of an issue. I also wouldn't be worried about getting 60fps+ in a single player game either. And yeah, you won't get 60fps in Crysis 3 even if you had an i5/i7. I beat Crysis 3 with a GTX680 which is the same as a 770, and don't think it touched 60fps. Played the game right around 40fps IIRC.