• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How to check if I can run DX11 effect in games

Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,525 (0.74/day)
Likes
506
System Name Desktop | Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6500 4.5GHz@1.275V | 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming | Intel 5500
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400MHz | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) RX480 8GB |On-Board
Storage 250GB SSD + 512GB SSD|4x320GB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Case Fractal Design Define Nano S
Software Windows 10 | Server 2012 r2
#1
I have 5750 with 10.2 and Win 7 7100 and I don`t think that I can run DX11 effects. I have tried Heaven with tessellation and the test comeup w/o it. I just installed AVP3 and I started the DX11 exe and in options there are no tessellation options. Same with Dirt2 I don`t think it runs in DX11 mod. How to make sure that I can run DX11 ? And if I`m not wrong about this how to make it work.
Thanks.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2007
Messages
5,105 (1.33/day)
Likes
1,249
Location
Kansas
Processor Core i5 3570K
Motherboard AsRock z77 Pro4
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Extreme
Memory 2x4GB GSkill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming
Storage 240GB OCZ ARC 100, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Antec P100
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Edge 750W
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64
#2
In Dirt2, I believe "ambient occlusion" is the option that has to be at high/enabled for dx11 to be in effect.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2009
Messages
4,911 (1.54/day)
Likes
759
Location
Northampton,UK
System Name Spiderman
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350-Plus
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire Cooler/2x140mm Fractal Design case fans/1x120mm Fractal Design case fan
Memory TeamGroup Vulcan 16GB DDR4 2400MHZ CAS-13
Video Card(s) AMD Sapphire RX Vega 64 8GB
Storage SSD - OCZ ARC 100 256GB HDD - Western Digital Black 500GB+Western Digital Green 1TB
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 1080p 72Hz Monitor
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium - Grey Window Version
Audio Device(s) onboard/Speakers: Logitech Z-4
Power Supply XFX Pro Semi Modular 650W
Mouse CMStorm Laser Mouse
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Cherry MX Red Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
#3
I have 5750 with 10.2 and Win 7 7100 and I don`t think that I can run DX11 effects. I have tried Heaven with tessellation and the test comeup w/o it. I just installed AVP3 and I started the DX11 exe and in options there are no tessellation options. Same with Dirt2 I don`t think it runs in DX11 mod. How to make sure that I can run DX11 ? And if I`m not wrong about this how to make it work.
Thanks.
When you load AVP DX11 exe you should see the "DX11 enhance tech" at the top in the video option and select it and you should be able to enable tesselation.
Although lot of people having issues booting the game with DX11 cards,mine just crashes and go back to desktop.
 
Likes: r9
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,525 (0.74/day)
Likes
506
System Name Desktop | Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6500 4.5GHz@1.275V | 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming | Intel 5500
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400MHz | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) RX480 8GB |On-Board
Storage 250GB SSD + 512GB SSD|4x320GB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Case Fractal Design Define Nano S
Software Windows 10 | Server 2012 r2
#4
In Dirt2 for postproces medium is the max it can go. So I guess that I was right about not being able to run DX11. So now I need someone that can be right about how to enable DX11 :D.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2009
Messages
4,911 (1.54/day)
Likes
759
Location
Northampton,UK
System Name Spiderman
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350-Plus
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire Cooler/2x140mm Fractal Design case fans/1x120mm Fractal Design case fan
Memory TeamGroup Vulcan 16GB DDR4 2400MHZ CAS-13
Video Card(s) AMD Sapphire RX Vega 64 8GB
Storage SSD - OCZ ARC 100 256GB HDD - Western Digital Black 500GB+Western Digital Green 1TB
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 1080p 72Hz Monitor
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium - Grey Window Version
Audio Device(s) onboard/Speakers: Logitech Z-4
Power Supply XFX Pro Semi Modular 650W
Mouse CMStorm Laser Mouse
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Cherry MX Red Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
#5
In Dirt2 for postproces medium is the max it can go. So I guess that I was right about not being able to run DX11. So now I need someone that can be right about how to enable DX11 :D.
have you uninstalled your 4850 drivers and have you installed the latest DirectX drivers?
You should be able to kick post process to high.
Also there should be options to set things on Ultra which should be only for Dx11 card aswell i believe.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,525 (0.74/day)
Likes
506
System Name Desktop | Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6500 4.5GHz@1.275V | 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming | Intel 5500
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400MHz | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) RX480 8GB |On-Board
Storage 250GB SSD + 512GB SSD|4x320GB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Case Fractal Design Define Nano S
Software Windows 10 | Server 2012 r2
#6
When you load AVP DX11 exe you should see the "DX11 enhance tech" at the top in the video option and select it and you should be able to enable tesselation.
Although lot of people having issues booting the game with DX11 cards,mine just crashes and go back to desktop.
There is no "DX11 enhance tech" in the options. So officially I need help enabling DX11.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,395 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,034
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#7
I don't think build 7100 has DX11.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,525 (0.74/day)
Likes
506
System Name Desktop | Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6500 4.5GHz@1.275V | 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming | Intel 5500
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400MHz | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) RX480 8GB |On-Board
Storage 250GB SSD + 512GB SSD|4x320GB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Case Fractal Design Define Nano S
Software Windows 10 | Server 2012 r2
#8

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,395 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,034
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#9
Is there no option for Downloading DX11 afterwards ?
I don't think so. Build 7100 does not support DX11.
 
Likes: r9
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,525 (0.74/day)
Likes
506
System Name Desktop | Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6500 4.5GHz@1.275V | 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming | Intel 5500
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400MHz | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) RX480 8GB |On-Board
Storage 250GB SSD + 512GB SSD|4x320GB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Case Fractal Design Define Nano S
Software Windows 10 | Server 2012 r2
#10
Thank you all for taking time and interest to help. I guess I need to find a way to update to 7.600. That should fix my problem.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2009
Messages
4,911 (1.54/day)
Likes
759
Location
Northampton,UK
System Name Spiderman
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350-Plus
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire Cooler/2x140mm Fractal Design case fans/1x120mm Fractal Design case fan
Memory TeamGroup Vulcan 16GB DDR4 2400MHZ CAS-13
Video Card(s) AMD Sapphire RX Vega 64 8GB
Storage SSD - OCZ ARC 100 256GB HDD - Western Digital Black 500GB+Western Digital Green 1TB
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 1080p 72Hz Monitor
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium - Grey Window Version
Audio Device(s) onboard/Speakers: Logitech Z-4
Power Supply XFX Pro Semi Modular 650W
Mouse CMStorm Laser Mouse
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Cherry MX Red Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
#11
Now that you mention it erocker it makes me wonder if this is the same issue with AVP,i got build W7 build 6.1 7600
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,950 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#12
I moved back to Vista to get my DX11, I will be buying my MAPS subscription shortly and get a few retail keys for 7. I never even bothered installing 7RTM or anything as I had so much data I couldn't at the time.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
4,315 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,015
Location
Multidimensional
System Name Derp!
Processor i7 7700 @ 4.2Ghz Turbo On
Motherboard Gigabyte B250 Phoenix Wifi ITX Motherboard
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i LP Cooler || Cooler Master Fan Pro RGB 120mm x 2
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400mhz RAM
Video Card(s) AMD Reference RX 480 8GB
Storage 250GB SS 960 Evo M.2 || WD Blue 500GB SSD || 2TB SG FC SSHD
Display(s) Hisense 1080p Smart LED HDTV 40inch
Case Fractal Node 202 Mini ITX Case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio / HDMI Audio Via GPU
Power Supply Corsair SFX 600W PSU
Mouse CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mouse
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mem-Chanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit
Benchmark Scores Later
#14
Win7 64bit 7100 build DX11 worked for me!