• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

how to completely remove windows

Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
529 (0.17/day)
Likes
20
Processor i3-4160
Motherboard msi z97 pcmate
Cooling generic
Memory 8gb ballistix
Video Card(s) evga 750 ti ftw
Storage samsung ssd 120gb + 1tb samsung
Case 210 elite
Power Supply evga 500w
Software Win 7 ultimate 64bit
#1
My story: I have win 7 installed in a 250gb hd. Couple days ago I bought a new hd and also install win 7 in there. I then format the old hd with the old os in disk management.

But during start up it still ask me to choose which win 7 i want to boot on. The first one will boot up fine but if i choose the second one, it says "device inaccessible...". How do i get rid of that?
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.32/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#2
You have to modify the boot.ini file.
I did it once when I dual-booted Vista and 7....

Save your boot.ini on notepad so that if you muck up you have a working copy.
Set the time to choose between operating systems to 0.
Then you have to delete the string which refers to booting the OS from the other hdd.

Sorry if it doesn't sound clear, it's difficult to explain if I don't have the pc in front of me lol.
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
529 (0.17/day)
Likes
20
Processor i3-4160
Motherboard msi z97 pcmate
Cooling generic
Memory 8gb ballistix
Video Card(s) evga 750 ti ftw
Storage samsung ssd 120gb + 1tb samsung
Case 210 elite
Power Supply evga 500w
Software Win 7 ultimate 64bit
#3
I already have my stuff back up in an external usb and the 2 hd now are basically blank clean.

How about if I format the 2 drives during windows installing process (i have time so it's not a hassle at all), will it do it?
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.32/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#4
Well I guess it would work because then you'd basically get a new boot.ini
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#5
Editing the boot.ini used to work in WinXP, but Vista and Win7 doesn't use the boot.ini anymore.

Download EasyBCD, it will allow you to remove the second useless entry.
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.32/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#6
Hmmm, that's the way I remember doing it to remove the Win7 option when dual-booting under Vista 64x :confused: It had worked for me...:ohwell:
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#7
The boot.ini file doesn't even exist anymore.
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
529 (0.17/day)
Likes
20
Processor i3-4160
Motherboard msi z97 pcmate
Cooling generic
Memory 8gb ballistix
Video Card(s) evga 750 ti ftw
Storage samsung ssd 120gb + 1tb samsung
Case 210 elite
Power Supply evga 500w
Software Win 7 ultimate 64bit
#8
hi say, what will happen if I install 2 windows in 1 drive, will i still be able to us EasyBCD to remove 1 os if i dont need it?

edit: btw EasyBCD works really well. I'm happy. but the above question is still there tho. If I install another os in same drive (it will take up some space..), when i "delete entries" in easyBCD, will it completely uninstall the one i delete and free up space?

edit2: oh damn and one more question. For some reason I cant delete and create partitions while installing windows 7 anymore :confused: normally there is the advanced option or sth like that but it's just not there anymore
 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#10
Do not install more than one OS on a single partition.

No, deleting the entry from BCD will not free up any space used by the other OS, you have to delete the OS files manually.

Boot from the DVD, don't run it from inside of Windows itself, and do not select upgrade, that will allow you to delete and create partitions.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,518 (6.45/day)
Likes
6,938
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#11
This was from windows help

What happened to the boot.ini file?

In earlier versions of Windows, boot.ini was a system file that contained information about the Windows operating systems installed on a computer. This information was displayed during the startup process when you turned on your computer. It was most useful in multiboot configurations, or for advanced users or administrators who needed to customize how Windows started.

In this version of Windows, the boot.ini file has been replaced with Boot Configuration Data (BCD). This file is more versatile than boot.ini, and it can apply to computer platforms that use means other than basic input/output system (BIOS) to start the computer.

If you need to make changes to BCD, such as removing entries from the list of displayed operating systems, use the command-line tool Bcdedit, an advanced tool intended for administrators and IT professionals. For technical information about Bcdedit, go to the Microsoft website for IT professionals.

If your computer is a multiboot configuration, you can still change which Windows operating system opens by default, and how long to display the list of operating systems, by using System in Control Panel.

Click to open System.

In the left pane, click Advanced system settings. If you are prompted for an administrator password or confirmation, type the password or provide confirmation.

Click the Advanced tab, and then, under Startup and Recovery, click Settings.

Under System startup, choose a default operating system and the amount of time to display the list of operating systems, click OK, and then click OK again.