• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How to make a Dummy VGA Dongle

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,259 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,069
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#1
I figured id make this guide to help people running more than 1 card. or dual GPU's. As without these niffty devices tri quad or even 6-8 GPU's will not run on the same machine. here is how it is done.


First get yourself a DVI to VGA adapter. Any will do.

Adapter

Next you will need resistors. The other guides on the net say to use between 68-70 ohm ones but any i find will do. The point of the resistor is to well...privide resistence so that Vista is fooled into thinking their is another monitor. Why do this? We are doing this because monitors are detected through current. when you plug a monitor in their is resistence on the line. if we mimic resistence we in essence mimic a monitor.

you can get resistors at your local radioshack or micro center. we will need 3 per dongle so if you plan to make more than one buy accordingly.

Resistor

Now that we have our parts we need a diagram. you in essance will be putting the resistors in the last 3 holes of the first and second line on the right side of the vga (blue) end. Sound difficult? Its not but here is a pic.



ok so now we start. Now some guides will make you take apart the connector etc. However this is unnessisary it fits fine you simply need to wiggle it if it gets caught. let us begin.

First you have a standard VGA adapter.



now on the VGA side pictured below start putting your resistors into place.



Now keep in mind when you put them in keep the resistor itself (not the legs) center. this will avoid snapping or breaking and makes them easier to handle and insert. Also make sure that you bend the resistors so that they do not touch each other. I myself bend them to the right. the next onw slightely to the right. and finally the last one all the way to the left straight up. this will prevent them from touching. Example below



Now that you get the idea. Continue with all 3 of the resistors when your done make sure the legs are relatively snug or at the very least dont fall out when upside down. your finished Dongle will look something like the one in the pic below. Now that your done disable SLI, plug it into your DVI port, extend the desktop and fold away good luck!



 
Last edited by a moderator:

Vagike

New Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2008
Messages
89 (0.03/day)
Likes
9
Processor AMD 965 BE
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula
Cooling Stock
Memory 4gb Mushkin Ridgeline
Video Card(s) ASUS HD 5870 V1
Storage 640GB WD + 1TB WB
Display(s) Syncmaster T220 20000:1
Case Cooler Master 690 II Advanced
Audio Device(s) Onboard X-fi
Power Supply 1000watt
#2
This makes zero sense.:banghead:

By doing this, you telling the drivers to render images to a monitor that DOESN'T EXIST. Sure, you are now using the unused GPU cycles, or GPU cores, but I cannot see how this is a performance enhancement to a multi-gpu system, when it could potentially rob performance from the monitor that is actually rendering images.

give your head a shake, :shadedshu or prove performance gains.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,259 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,069
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#3
This makes zero sense.:banghead:

By doing this, you telling the drivers to render images to a monitor that DOESN'T EXIST. Sure, you are now using the unused GPU cycles, or GPU cores, but I cannot see how this is a performance enhancement to a multi-gpu system, when it could potentially rob performance from the monitor that is actually rendering images.

give your head a shake, :shadedshu or prove performance gains.
what forum is this in? i think you dont know what folding at home is. or you wouldnt think this is some kind of preformance booster. this is so you can run folding at home on more than 2 GPU cores on a machine. if you knew anything about folding at home or bothered to see what forum this is in you would be able to put together the fact that you need dongles or more than 2 monitors to run F@H on more than 1 card. thanks for reading or not.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2008
Messages
2,304 (0.68/day)
Likes
1,162
Location
Edmonton, Alberta
System Name AMD | Intel | Chumpy
Processor PHII 955BE Stock | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70 | EX58 - UD5 | E760 4 Way SLI
Cooling Zalman 9700 CNPS | Water Loop | Water Loop
Memory 4 GB XMS3 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x 9600GSO, GTX260 216 | 2 x GTX 260 216 | GTX 260 216, 9600 GSO
Storage WD 640GB | Couple o' 5400RPMs | WD 1TB
Case Cosmos S | Lancool K62 Dragonlord | Lian Li PC-P80 Armor
Power Supply TX850 | HX 1000 | HX 1000
Software Win 7 Home Premium | Win 7 Ultimate | Vista Home Premium
#4
This isn't meant to up game performance. It is to fool the computer into thinking the second card is actually active. Its because the Folding @ Home GPU client requires the card to be active (with its own desktop) to then be able to iniate folding on the graphics core. Why? I don't know. But it does exactly what its meant to do. Extend the desktop to the false monitor, and start folding on your second, third, fourth (or more) graphics core.
 

Vagike

New Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2008
Messages
89 (0.03/day)
Likes
9
Processor AMD 965 BE
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula
Cooling Stock
Memory 4gb Mushkin Ridgeline
Video Card(s) ASUS HD 5870 V1
Storage 640GB WD + 1TB WB
Display(s) Syncmaster T220 20000:1
Case Cooler Master 690 II Advanced
Audio Device(s) Onboard X-fi
Power Supply 1000watt
#5
my apologies for not reading the forum header.
 

wolf

Performance Enthusiast
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
5,576 (1.44/day)
Likes
864
System Name MightyX (MITX)
Processor Core i7 4770K @ 4.2ghz
Motherboard Asus Z87i-Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory 16gb DDR3 1600 LP
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 OC
Storage Lots of SSD's
Display(s) AOC AGON AG352QCX
Case Raven RVZ-01
Power Supply SFX 450 G
Mouse Razer Mamba Tournament Chroma
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow X Chroma
#6
excellent work solaris!

i wonder if i can get 3 different GPU's folding on my old 680i....

well with your help i know its possible thats for sure :)
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2008
Messages
2,304 (0.68/day)
Likes
1,162
Location
Edmonton, Alberta
System Name AMD | Intel | Chumpy
Processor PHII 955BE Stock | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70 | EX58 - UD5 | E760 4 Way SLI
Cooling Zalman 9700 CNPS | Water Loop | Water Loop
Memory 4 GB XMS3 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x 9600GSO, GTX260 216 | 2 x GTX 260 216 | GTX 260 216, 9600 GSO
Storage WD 640GB | Couple o' 5400RPMs | WD 1TB
Case Cosmos S | Lancool K62 Dragonlord | Lian Li PC-P80 Armor
Power Supply TX850 | HX 1000 | HX 1000
Software Win 7 Home Premium | Win 7 Ultimate | Vista Home Premium
#7
As a note for Solaris and for anyone making these. I used 100 ohm, 1/4 watt resistors and they work perfectly fine. Generally anything between 50-150 ohms (make sure only ohms and not k ohms) and either a 1/8 watt to max 1/2 watt resistors (I believe 1 watt would be too much). Anything in those ranges should be fine.
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#8
Just an FYI, I was able to complete this project with higher resistance resistors, I did it with 230 ohm ones.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,259 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,069
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#9
excellent work solaris!

i wonder if i can get 3 different GPU's folding on my old 680i....

well with your help i know its possible thats for sure :)
id deff help man i absolutely dont see why you should be able to. just to let everyone know getting the parts is the hardest part this job took less than 5min and putting the resistors in is simple unless god forbid you have parkinsons
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.17/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#10
this way looks nicer and prevents any snags...

Here is how to make up a dummy plug for your card in about 30 seconds.

All you need are three 68 ohm resistors from RadioShack. They come in packs of 5 for a buck.


You will need the DVI-VGA adapter that ships with every GFX card, the resistors and a clipper. You could use scissors or a nail clipper, the wire is soft.


Bend one leg of the resistor around till it is parallel to the other then clip off the long leg so it is the same length as the bent leg.


The wire is just the right gauge to slide into the VGA plus securely.


Push it home. Note you want to bridge the top three pins on the right with the pins directly below one-to-one.. Hold the plug so the wide part is up top.


Alternate the resistors so the leg of one is against the body of another to avoid shorting out the jumpers.

And that is all there is to it. Start Folding on your second GPU :D
 

wolf

Performance Enthusiast
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
5,576 (1.44/day)
Likes
864
System Name MightyX (MITX)
Processor Core i7 4770K @ 4.2ghz
Motherboard Asus Z87i-Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory 16gb DDR3 1600 LP
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 OC
Storage Lots of SSD's
Display(s) AOC AGON AG352QCX
Case Raven RVZ-01
Power Supply SFX 450 G
Mouse Razer Mamba Tournament Chroma
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow X Chroma
#11
id deff help man i absolutely dont see why you should be able to. just to let everyone know getting the parts is the hardest part this job took less than 5min and putting the resistors in is simple unless god forbid you have parkinsons
cheers man, i know your always here for me *awwwwwwwww*

yeah ive done a handful of vGpu hard mods before, so just jamming some resistors into pin holes should be within my scope :rolleyes:

@fits, ty, that's a very clean way to do it. with either working just the same it seems.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,259 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,069
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#12
this way looks nicer and prevents any snags...
i think the general idea was to make a guide in this section you can tie a pink bow on the resistors for all i care.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,259 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,069
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#13
cheers man, i know your always here for me *awwwwwwwww*

yeah ive done a handful of vGpu hard mods before, so just jamming some resistors into pin holes should be within my scope :rolleyes:
lol
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#14
Also:

Protip:

Make one of the resistors an LED, that way you can tell if the thing is working or not!
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,259 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,069
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#15
Also:

Protip:

Make one of the resistors an LED, that way you can tell if the thing is working or not!

that is an incredably good idea! infact dont led's provide some kind of resistence? for example the higher voltage they can take the more resistence? if that was really the case you migh even be able to get away with using an led instead of a resistor!
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2005
Messages
880 (0.20/day)
Likes
394
Processor 2500K @ 4.5GHz 1.28V
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Corsair Vengeance 1600 9-9-9-24 1T
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 470
Storage Crucial m4 128GB + Seagate RAID 1 (1TB x 2)
Display(s) Dell 22" 1680x1050 nothing special
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W
Software Windows 7 64bit Pro
#16
As a note for Solaris and for anyone making these. I used 100 ohm, 1/4 watt resistors and they work perfectly fine. Generally anything between 50-150 ohms (make sure only ohms and not k ohms) and either a 1/8 watt to max 1/2 watt resistors (I believe 1 watt would be too much). Anything in those ranges should be fine.
The wattage of the resistors won't effect how much current goes through them. In fact, the higher wattage means they can take higher current and still not degrade. Going with the higher watt resistors could be overkill but would not cause any issues in any way (well they would be bigger so you might have crowding).
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2008
Messages
2,304 (0.68/day)
Likes
1,162
Location
Edmonton, Alberta
System Name AMD | Intel | Chumpy
Processor PHII 955BE Stock | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70 | EX58 - UD5 | E760 4 Way SLI
Cooling Zalman 9700 CNPS | Water Loop | Water Loop
Memory 4 GB XMS3 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x 9600GSO, GTX260 216 | 2 x GTX 260 216 | GTX 260 216, 9600 GSO
Storage WD 640GB | Couple o' 5400RPMs | WD 1TB
Case Cosmos S | Lancool K62 Dragonlord | Lian Li PC-P80 Armor
Power Supply TX850 | HX 1000 | HX 1000
Software Win 7 Home Premium | Win 7 Ultimate | Vista Home Premium
#17
And you get to pimp out your folding rig with all the fanciest of lights, which dazzle all the basement ladies. You know... the ladies that frequent my basement where my folding rig is... and um, they like LEDs.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,259 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,069
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#18
And you get to pimp out your folding rig with all the fanciest of lights, which dazzle all the basement ladies. You know... the ladies that frequent my basement where my folding rig is... and um, they like LEDs.
i havent met a lady yet that doesnt like shiny objects.
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#19
Example:

My current one is plugged in but I used a spare VGA card so you can see what to do!

EDIT: O BTW, don't follow my example of my resistors used, those are like 2000 ohms I think!
 

Attachments

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
#20
that is an incredably good idea! infact dont led's provide some kind of resistence? for example the higher voltage they can take the more resistence? if that was really the case you migh even be able to get away with using an led instead of a resistor!
you would need to measure the voltage and current(amperage) of the two pins in question. it's likely that you would not get enough of either.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,259 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,069
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#21
you would need to measure the voltage and current(amperage) of the two pins in question. it's likely that you would not get enough of either.
this is true in which case just buddy up the vga pins plug an led and a resistor into the same pin holes. the added resistence would be miniscule and due to the fact that you can use relatively large resistors this wouldnt cause any damage.
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
#22
this is true in which case just buddy up the vga pins plug an led and a resistor into the same pin holes. the added resistence would be miniscule and due to the fact that you can use relatively large resistors this wouldnt cause any damage.
the problem would not be too much current, as an led only uses what it needs and passes the rest, and if the voltage is too high you could put a resistor in series with the led. my concern is that there is not enough current, not enough voltage, or not enough of both to drive an led.
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#23
you would need to measure the voltage and current(amperage) of the two pins in question. it's likely that you would not get enough of either.
The two pins I plugged my LED into give off about 5 volts, more than enough to run the LED.

EDIT: DON'T make me break out my multimeter again!!!
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,259 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,069
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#24
not necessarily. if you short two pins this may cause damage.
well buddying up a resistor and an led wouldnt cause damage the pins of a diffirent set of holes would. which is why i strongly suggest bending them and making absolute sure they do not touch.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2008
Messages
2,304 (0.68/day)
Likes
1,162
Location
Edmonton, Alberta
System Name AMD | Intel | Chumpy
Processor PHII 955BE Stock | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70 | EX58 - UD5 | E760 4 Way SLI
Cooling Zalman 9700 CNPS | Water Loop | Water Loop
Memory 4 GB XMS3 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x 9600GSO, GTX260 216 | 2 x GTX 260 216 | GTX 260 216, 9600 GSO
Storage WD 640GB | Couple o' 5400RPMs | WD 1TB
Case Cosmos S | Lancool K62 Dragonlord | Lian Li PC-P80 Armor
Power Supply TX850 | HX 1000 | HX 1000
Software Win 7 Home Premium | Win 7 Ultimate | Vista Home Premium
#25
As far as I remember, the amount of resistance needed was almost nil. Basically the pins connected are R G B (1,2,3) to monitor with R G B from monitor (6,7,8) and its only supplying a bridge for the power. Wouldn't hurt to test the LED method anyways. Don't think it would cause the computer to melt through the floor. It'd either recognize it as a false monitor or not.