• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to recover from a bad video BIOS flash

Goodgo0d

New Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
1 (0.01/day)
Would you help me? I try to flash my rx vega 56 reference card power color with bios on techpowerup but it doesnt work.. Still can not boot to windows
 

Attachments

waeil

New Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2020
Messages
9 (0.10/day)
just one more queastion this is pins i have to short it same on the image
and thx
20200730_180850.jpg
 

waeil

New Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2020
Messages
9 (0.10/day)
i did short to pins 1 and 8 same the image then i logged to the dos get the same massage
ERROR 0FL01 : press '1' to continue"
then i loged to windows to flash the card by antiflash.exe its not work
then i tried to log windows by normla card rx 850 its log normla but give me black screen
when i did this steps the card was hot
now this steps i did it on low pc motherboard asus ddr2 b5g41c
maybe this is problrm this motherboard cant work my card beacuse my main mother board is free P7P55D-E-LX-ASUS
so any help
 
Joined
May 17, 2017
Messages
109 (0.09/day)
System Name War Daddy
Processor Intel Core i7-950 @4.1GHz
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH X58
Cooling Cryorig R1
Memory 3x4GB SAMSUNG DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE NITRO+ RX 570 8GB
Storage Segate barcuda 2TB
Display(s) SAMSUNG S24C750
Case Corsair carbide spec 03
Power Supply EVGA G3 650W
just one more queastion this is pins i have to short it same on the image
and thx
View attachment 164157
Maybe you've bridged the wrong pins, the 1-8 pins are usually facing each other.

Google for the datasheet, then look at the mechanical drawing:



Note the position of the little notch and the dot near pin 1
 

waeil

New Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2020
Messages
9 (0.10/day)
Maybe you've bridged the wrong pins, the 1-8 pins are usually facing each other.

Google for the datasheet, then look at the mechanical drawing:



Note the position of the little notch and the dot near pin 1

hello I am very thankful for your help
put forgive me i do not know these mechanical things that your are talking about
i will show you a clear photo of the pins an pleas tell me what are the 2 pins that i should bridge ?
because i am afraid of doing something wrong and PCI do not work again
now i will show you the numbers on the pins and i will send a clear photo to them

pm25l0020
be1636
p10361tg
Screenshot_20200804-170112.png


thats all for now i will wait for reply and pleas answer
and thank you again for your help
 
Joined
May 17, 2017
Messages
109 (0.09/day)
System Name War Daddy
Processor Intel Core i7-950 @4.1GHz
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH X58
Cooling Cryorig R1
Memory 3x4GB SAMSUNG DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE NITRO+ RX 570 8GB
Storage Segate barcuda 2TB
Display(s) SAMSUNG S24C750
Case Corsair carbide spec 03
Power Supply EVGA G3 650W
hello I am very thankful for your help
put forgive me i do not know these mechanical things that your are talking about
i will show you a clear photo of the pins an pleas tell me what are the 2 pins that i should bridge ?
because i am afraid of doing something wrong and PCI do not work again
now i will show you the numbers on the pins and i will send a clear photo to them

pm25l0020
be1636
p10361tg
View attachment 164543

thats all for now i will wait for reply and pleas answer
and thank you again for your help
Don't worry my friend, a lot of people here are willing to help.

I searched for your flash memory and here are the pins you need to short..



Watch for that little dot printed on the chip, it should guide you.

Make sure not to short any other components around the chip, good luck.
 

waeil

New Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2020
Messages
9 (0.10/day)
at the first realy thank you for your help
i have tried every thing u said it and every thing same the image and shorted pins 1 and 8
but there is no thing heppned same problems cant log windows and dos cant see the card so any other fix or help or i do smth wrong
and this is image for my card after i shorted the pin 1 and 8
20200806_063321.jpg
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
9,813 (4.48/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
at the first realy thank you for your help
i have tried every thing u said it and every thing same the image and shorted pins 1 and 8
but there is no thing heppned same problems cant log windows and dos cant see the card so any other fix or help or i do smth wrong
and this is image for my card after i shorted the pin 1 and 8
View attachment 164911
Are you sure you have shorted the Bios chip and not another?
Check the number printed on it, online to confirm, or find a picture showing the exact location for your card.
Pin 1 is near the dot, pin 8 is diagonally opposite in the other corner.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 17, 2017
Messages
109 (0.09/day)
System Name War Daddy
Processor Intel Core i7-950 @4.1GHz
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH X58
Cooling Cryorig R1
Memory 3x4GB SAMSUNG DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE NITRO+ RX 570 8GB
Storage Segate barcuda 2TB
Display(s) SAMSUNG S24C750
Case Corsair carbide spec 03
Power Supply EVGA G3 650W
Are you sure you have shorted the Bios chip and not another?
Check the number printed on it, online to confirm, or find a picture showing the exact location for your card.
Pin 1 is near the dot, pin 8 is diagonally opposite in the other corner.
I think he got the right pins shorted, I had an RX 460 with the same exact chip and I believe I've managed to resurrect it that way.
at first, really thank you for your help
I have tried everything u said it and everything same the image and shorted pins 1 and 8
but there is nothing happened same problems cant log windows and dos cant see the card so any other fix or help or I do smth wrong
and this is an image for my card after I shorted the pin 1 and 8
The wrong thing you're doing here is keeping the pins bridged during the whole process, you have to cut the bridge once you're in DOS or Windows.

So let's make it simple..

1- plug your card in with 1+8 pins shorted.
2- boot into DOS or Windows.
3- cut the wire from the middle. Don't desolder the joints, why? so you can short them again easily by twisting the two ends of the wire if needed.
4- use atiflash -i to see if your card is recognized if so flash it with the right BIOS.

You might not get it to work from the first time, just turn off your PC, reconnect the bridge by twisting the two ends of the wire -you have cut in step 3-, boot again into DOS and repeat the previous steps.

After several of tries if you didn't manage to bring the card to life, I've seen some people providing alternative pins shorting combinations like #4 + #7 or #5 + #6. but really at this point, I recommend you to use the spi flasher method to not risk killing the chip.
 

Sentry2077

New Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2020
Messages
8 (0.40/day)
Hi I just had a failed flash vbios on my hp omen 15 ce198wm i870h with NO integrated graphics it does have an gtx 1060 max q after the vbios flash now all i get its a black screen it does not beep or go allow me to go into recovery using esc key please advise ..it does have thunderbolt 3 but i never used it..Im thinking a spi tool flasher but I wouldnt know which one is good or how to go about using it
found this on amazon https://www.amazon.com/KeeYees-SOIC8-EEPROM-CH341A-Programmer/dp/B07SHSL9X9/ref=sr_1_6?dchild=1&hvadid=78134091588687&hvbmt=be&hvdev=c&hvqmt=e&keywords=flashcatusb&qid=1601623559&sr=8-6&tag=mh0b-20 is this a good spi tool and how is it used?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
9,813 (4.48/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Hi I just had a failed flash vbios on my hp omen 15 ce198wm i870h with NO integrated graphics it does have an gtx 1060 max q after the vbios flash now all i get its a black screen it does not beep or go allow me to go into recovery using esc key please advise ..it does have thunderbolt 3 but i never used it..Im thinking a spi tool flasher but I wouldnt know which one is good or how to go about using it
found this on amazon https://www.amazon.com/KeeYees-SOIC8-EEPROM-CH341A-Programmer/dp/B07SHSL9X9/ref=sr_1_6?dchild=1&hvadid=78134091588687&hvbmt=be&hvdev=c&hvqmt=e&keywords=flashcatusb&qid=1601623559&sr=8-6&tag=mh0b-20 is this a good spi tool and how is it used?
As per your other thread, your Laptop DOES have integrated graphics built in to the CPU.
As per the HP website it also shows drivers for the Intel HD Graphics, as well as the Nvidia drivers.
 

Sentry2077

New Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2020
Messages
8 (0.40/day)
As per your other thread, your Laptop DOES have integrated graphics built in to the CPU.
As per the HP website it also shows drivers for the Intel HD Graphics, as well as the Nvidia drivers.
I had asked HP support for and an technician to answer why the integrated gpu is not active they said that my laptop for that year my anthing under a gtx 1060 max q does not have integrated graphics i even tried to install the drivers and it did not work my laptop had models with gtx 1050ti and gtx 1050 that supposedly had integrated graphics and nvidia I was told by the expert tech that my particular laptop was a dedicated video gpu not dual gpu model regardless of the drivers being listed and said i8750h is supposed to havr he igpu they bypassed it altogether ..so Im stuck trying to restore my vbios Im hoping someone here in the forums can find out where the vbios chio is for my laptop because I cannot seem to locate it on the front of rhe mobo i dont wanna go tearing it down any further maybe someone here knows more and can find a way ..and does someone program vbios chips here in good standing that could pre flash a chip form me with the correct bios
 
Last edited:
Top