1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to set up F@H on Suse 11.3

Discussion in 'Linux / BSD / Mac OS X' started by Solaris17, Dec 2, 2010.

  1. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,850 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,571
    Location:
    Florida
    Im sure you have all seen my ubuntu guide. Now that my laptop has found a new host OS it is time to get serious once again and install Folding At home.

    First we Start off slow the desktop:

    [​IMG]

    The next part is easy in our process. We will be going here.

    http://folding.stanford.edu/English/Download

    The client we are after in this example is 6.02.
    (6.29 has difficulties running uniformly on all linux distributions so I will revise later when it is stable)

    [​IMG]

    Click the penguin and your download should start. Our filename will be "FAH6.02-Linux.tgz".

    With the download complete right click and select "Extract here, Auto Detect subfolder". Your extraction option may have a different name but the trick here is simplicity just extract it to a folder.

    The folder can be put wherever you would like. I recommend making it a simple location so it is easier to remember when using terminal.

    [​IMG]

    Next up we take a look inside our extracted folder (the .tgz can now be deleted.) and make sure we have our 2 files. The 2 will be named like so.

    Code:
    fah6
    mpiexec
    Right click on either of these files and select "properties", After which you will be greated with a screen containing various information about the file. However this isnt really of intrest. All we want is the location. Highlight and copy the location of the file.

    [​IMG]

    Now open a terminal no su or sudo privileges are needed. At the prompt type the following.

    Code:
    cd
    Now hit the space bar, right click and select paste. The location you copied from one of the 2 files in your FAH folder should now be next to "cd" like so.

    Code:
    cd /home/Solaris17/FAH6.02-Linux
    It should look like this.

    [​IMG]

    Press enter now if it did not already change your current directory. You should have a prompt that looks similar to the above. Once you are in the FAH folder Their is only one command left to seal the deal.

    Enter
    Code:
    ./fah6
    Your terminal should now jump to life and ask you to enter you user name team number etc for Folding At home. To quite FAH at any time simply close the terminal. To restart it navigate to the FAH folder using the terminal commands above (cd /home/Solaris17/FAH6.02-Linux) and simply pressing ./fah6 to begin again. Closing out of the terminal will shut down FAH but your progress will be saved.

    [​IMG]

    Enjoy, and thanks for the contribution! :toast:

    Difficulty: 1/10
    Time lapse: 10min
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  2. Peter1986C

    Peter1986C

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,439 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,689
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    What really is a bummer, is that there still is no GPU client for Linux. Nice guide, though. :)
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  3. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,850 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,571
    Location:
    Florida
    ah one day though! and thanks!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,501 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,144
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    Solaris, why don't you just use get / yum? I found I was able to get F@H alot quicker that way. Also, on some distros, you have to give permission to use the folders and everything inside them. Might want to include that in there!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,850 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,571
    Location:
    Florida
    FAH is no longer availible on the 11.3 repositories and I stated that su and sudo privileges are not needed. No permission modifications need to be made at all to get this to work it will read and write and execute with no issues.
     
    PVTCaboose1337 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)