• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to set up my 3800x for regular usage

aPNyag

New Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2020
Messages
8 (0.12/day)
Hey, so I successfully finalise my first build today consisting of a 3800x Ryzen with a Noctua D15s + Gigabyte x570 Elite + 3200Mhz C14 and a RX590 Fatboy .
I am not intending to do any overclocking, mainly using for gaming/browsing and programming.
Currently my temp are great, idle low to high 30's, while playing high 50's to lower 60s.
The RAM that I got is 3200Mhz C14 , I have only enabled XMP so I can use the memory I paid for. I also played a bit with the voltage and the clock speed, setting max voltage to 1.3 and max clock speed to 3,900.I am assuming those settings are okay for what I intend to do with the PC, but just wanted to check with someone more experienced if it would be safe in the long term for the CPU.

My BIOS settings currently:
muflh5bo8ie51.jpg


elye65bo8ie51.jpg

The Advance PBO was a default setting after booting the PC. On disabling PBO I was observing idle temps low 50's to low 60's so I decided to turn it back to Advance.

And those are my Ryzen Master settings:
hmlkwk2u8ie51.png


I have noticed the voltage fluctuating from 0.300 to 1.2 and some other numbers with a big gap in between. Is that normal?
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
1,228 (0.23/day)
Processor Ryzen 1600AF @4.2Ghz 1.35v
Motherboard MSI B450M PRO-A-MAX
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L120t
Memory 16GB Team Group Dark Pro Sammy-B-die 3400mhz 14.15.14.30-1.4v
Video Card(s) XFX RX 5600 XT THICC II PRO
Storage 240GB Brave eagle SSD/ 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Dell SE2719HR
Case MSI Mag Vampiric 011C AMD Ryzen Edition
Power Supply EVGA 600W 80+
Software Windows 10 Pro
Hey, so I successfully finalise my first build today consisting of a 3800x Ryzen with a Noctua D15s + Gigabyte x570 Elite + 3200Mhz C14 and a RX590 Fatboy .
I am not intending to do any overclocking, mainly using for gaming/browsing and programming.
Currently my temp are great, idle low to high 30's, while playing high 50's to lower 60s.
The RAM that I got is 3200Mhz C14 , I have only enabled XMP so I can use the memory I paid for. I also played a bit with the voltage and the clock speed, setting max voltage to 1.3 and max clock speed to 3,900.I am assuming those settings are okay for what I intend to do with the PC, but just wanted to check with someone more experienced if it would be safe in the long term for the CPU.

My BIOS settings currently:
View attachment 164284

View attachment 164285
The Advance PBO was a default setting after booting the PC. On disabling PBO I was observing idle temps low 50's to low 60's so I decided to turn it back to Advance.

And those are my Ryzen Master settings: View attachment 164286

I have noticed the voltage fluctuating from 0.300 to 1.2 and some other numbers with a big gap in between. Is that normal?
You don't need to change the clock speed or vcore, leave it on auto. If you have changed the multiplier to 39 then you're losing out on your boost frequency which is upto 4.5ghz single core, 4.4ghz 2 cores etc
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,049 (8.23/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 3700X Stock w/ H110i (4.3GHz 1.2v/4.35 1.275v)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling GPU: Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro @ 3200MHz c14
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) (45C max load, H110 AIO)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Eleventy
Yeah all core OC is only useful if you're pushing it up high, you're better off on auto instead of a low speed medium volts clock like that.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
9,657 (4.45/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
I am not intending to do any overclocking.......

The RAM that I got is 3200Mhz C14 , I have only enabled XMP so I can use the memory I paid for. I also played a bit with the voltage and the clock speed
:laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
4,100 (2.48/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-3200 16GB kit & PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-2666 16GB kit
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v2004
I’ve found my 3800X takes care of overclocking all by itself through XFR2. It’s a minor 25-50 MHz over. I’m not going to complain though.
 

aPNyag

New Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2020
Messages
8 (0.12/day)
Okay I see it doesn't make sense ... I meant OC-ing the CPU :D
Guys, thanks for the input. I have set up VCore to auto and PBO from Advance to Auto in BIOS.
Now Ryzen Master shows Maximum Clock Speed 4,500MHz but what I don't like is how the temperature fluctuate from 35 to 50 for a second then back to 35 - those spikes are happening when opening a browser or new tab, etc. When the CPU spikes the CPU fan is constantly throttling which is annoying.
When setting the vCore to 1.3 and ClockSpeed to 3,900 the CPU was still spiking but only from low 30's to low 40's maximum (mostly high 30's)
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
6,652 (1.15/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
All normal behaviour, nothing to worry about. Go in to the UEFI and change the fan profiles to silent and you won't have that problem. Alternatively, set up your own fan curve.
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,049 (8.23/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 3700X Stock w/ H110i (4.3GHz 1.2v/4.35 1.275v)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling GPU: Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro @ 3200MHz c14
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) (45C max load, H110 AIO)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Eleventy
the spikes are annoying but totally normal with the boost behaviour
 

aPNyag

New Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2020
Messages
8 (0.12/day)
You guys know if it's normal while playing all 16 cores to run at 4,300 clock speed?
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
1,228 (0.23/day)
Processor Ryzen 1600AF @4.2Ghz 1.35v
Motherboard MSI B450M PRO-A-MAX
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L120t
Memory 16GB Team Group Dark Pro Sammy-B-die 3400mhz 14.15.14.30-1.4v
Video Card(s) XFX RX 5600 XT THICC II PRO
Storage 240GB Brave eagle SSD/ 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Dell SE2719HR
Case MSI Mag Vampiric 011C AMD Ryzen Edition
Power Supply EVGA 600W 80+
Software Windows 10 Pro
Yes quite normal, it will boost to the max it can on all cores within thermal and power limits
 

aPNyag

New Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2020
Messages
8 (0.12/day)
Fair enough, I assumed it will only use and boost the cores that are running the process/threads
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2008
Messages
18 (0.00/day)
There's quite a few ways to set things up. They involve the bios, power plan, and reg. For gaming, in the bios you want Cool n Quiet, C-States disabled, and SMT off, under Advanced CPU settings. In your power plan settings you'll also need to set 'Processor Idle Disable' to Disable. Use one power plan with it disabled, and another with it enabled when you are not gaming.

The cpu doesn't need anything, imo, to be tweaked via bios. Mine is stock. I've found most things that help gaming are in the areas I mentioned, not overclocking the CPU.
 
Last edited:
Top