• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HP Workstations Owners Club

Joined
Jul 24, 2020
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
System Name HP Z620 Workstation
Processor E5-1650 rev0
Memory 32GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Quadro K2000 2GB
Storage 1TB HDD, DVD ROM
Audio Device(s) Integrated Intel/Realtek HD ALC262
Power Supply 800W
Software Windows 10 Pro
Hi all, new to owning a Z620 and looking at upgrading storage. Plan is to install a couple of PCIe M.2 adapter cards and two NVMe SSDs - 1TB for OS and apps, and 500GB for scratch. System will be used for GIS/mapping, photo and video editing. Specs are 2011 build Z620, E5-1650v0 3.2 cpu, 32GB RAM, 1TB hdd, NVIDIA Quadro K2000.

My question is will the Z620 with this cpu support NVMe by PCIe M.2 adapter and at what speed?

One dealer suggested only PCIe 2.0 only and I would be just as well off installing a 2.5" SATA SSD and saving money. Obviously I would prefer the speed of the NVMe SSD.

Any help would be appreciated.

cheers, Pete
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2019
Messages
89 (0.07/day)
Location
Sacramento California
System Name Ryzen & Ryzen-II
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X 4.4 Ghz 8-Core Processor | AMD RYZEN 5 2600X 4.2Ghz 6-Core Processor
Motherboard ASRock X470 Taichi ATX AM4 Motherboard | ASRock X570 Phantom Gaming 4 ATX
Cooling Corsair H100I Pro 240mm AIO | Corsair H100X Extrememe 240mm AIO
Memory GSKILL Trident Z 32gb GTZB DDR4 3200 4 X 8 | Corsair Dominator Platinum 32 GB DDR4-3200 2 X 16
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon RX 580 8 GB Red Devil Video Card (Not Golden) | Zotac GTX-1060 6GB Amp
Storage 1- Samsung 970 Evo 500 GB M.2 2 - Western Digital Caviar Blue 1 TB | Ditto
Display(s) Two 24 inch HP E242 Elite Buisness Monitors | Two 27 inch LG M38 Monitors
Case Rosewell Rise | Ditto
Audio Device(s) Yamaha Yst-sw160 Subwoofer (2) infiniti monitors | Bose Accustimax 5 audio
Power Supply Corsair RMi 750 W 80+ Gold Modular ATX Power Supply | Ditto
Mouse Logitech Wireless optical mouse | Ditto
Keyboard Logitech Wireless keyboard | Ditto
VR HMD None
Software Windows 10 build 1909 | Ditto
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/yf8p96 | https://valid.x86.fr/mk995k
Tarvis

You wont be able to boot from m.2 drive ..the UEFI Bios wont look for it
as for storage that shouldnt be a issue
Please correct me if im wrong

although i did find this


Sam
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 24, 2020
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
System Name HP Z620 Workstation
Processor E5-1650 rev0
Memory 32GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Quadro K2000 2GB
Storage 1TB HDD, DVD ROM
Audio Device(s) Integrated Intel/Realtek HD ALC262
Power Supply 800W
Software Windows 10 Pro
Tarvis

You wont be able to boot from m.2 drive ..the UEFI Bios wont look for it
as for storage that shouldnt be a issue
Please correct me if im wrong

although i did find this


Sam

Thanks Sam.
I have seen conflicting information which is why I was asking before ordering the parts. Some posts agree with what you have said, whereas others suggest that after a bios update they can boot from M.2 NVMe over PCIe. I have updated to the latest bios (details at home) and hoping another user has some experience that can help.

thanks, Pete
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2018
Messages
278 (0.19/day)
if your boot block BIOS is 2013, with the latest update. it should support NVME

 
Joined
Jul 24, 2020
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
System Name HP Z620 Workstation
Processor E5-1650 rev0
Memory 32GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Quadro K2000 2GB
Storage 1TB HDD, DVD ROM
Audio Device(s) Integrated Intel/Realtek HD ALC262
Power Supply 800W
Software Windows 10 Pro
if your boot block BIOS is 2013, with the latest update. it should support NVME

Hi juisenab, and thanks.
This is my bios as per HP performance Advisor (see below). If I'm right, this should work?
Many thanks, Pete
1595938734086.png
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2018
Messages
278 (0.19/day)
I think your good, can you go to your bios and check the boot block date? should say 2011 or 2013...

From memory, i'm sure the 2013 will work; I own some Z420's (they use the same BIOS)
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2020
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
System Name HP Z620 Workstation
Processor E5-1650 rev0
Memory 32GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Quadro K2000 2GB
Storage 1TB HDD, DVD ROM
Audio Device(s) Integrated Intel/Realtek HD ALC262
Power Supply 800W
Software Windows 10 Pro
Well, apparently still on 2011 block. How do I update it? Can I update it?
1595941610871.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
Location
Sweden
System Name HP Z600v2
Processor 1x xeon E5645
Motherboard Z600v2
Cooling HPZ600 95W cooler
Memory 24GB 1333 ECC
Video Card(s) HD6850
Storage Intel 520 SSD 120GB, WD Black 2TB, Samsung F3 1TB
Display(s) BenQ 24"
Case HP Z600 Chassi
Power Supply HP Z600 650W
Software W10 x64
Hi,

I just got the Z600 v2 and I want the best CPU for it. Is it possible to put a W3690 in it with the 130W cooler?
Ive googled and got very mixed results. Im not interested in X series, cause i dont need the 2nd slot, and i found the W3690 at a good price.
 

Lolless

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
pc.jpg

Hello everyone this is my beast of a machine... Its a HP z420 with an e5-2667 v2 processor, 64gb ram, nvidia 1080 founders edition gpu, a 1tb samsung ssd, and a seasonice 750w 80+ gold psu. now i have a question i have been looking at a different processor e5-2697 and am wondering if it will work in the z420?
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2020
Messages
354 (0.43/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Alienware PC
Processor Intel 4790K
Motherboard ASROCK Z97 EXTREME4
Cooling Stock Intel Cooler
Memory 32GB DDR3 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 7770 2GB GDDR5
Storage SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS M.2
Display(s) SAMSUNG UE57 Series 28-Inch 4K UHD
Case Alienware Area 51 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Realtek On Board
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt
Mouse Microsoft Wireless
Keyboard HyperX - Alloy Elite 2 Mechanical Gaming Keyboard.
Software Windows 10 Pro & LTSB & LTSC Windows 11 Pro
Hello everyone this is my beast of a machine... Its a HP z420 with an e5-2667 v2 processor, 64gb ram, nvidia 1080 founders edition gpu, a 1tb samsung ssd, and a seasonice 750w 80+ gold psu. now i have a question i have been looking at a different processor e5-2697 and am wondering if it will work in the z420?
Sweet! they could probably use that to operate the Space Shuttle, nice machine. :D
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
13,208 (4.46/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1260L v5
Motherboard MSI E3 KRAIT Gaming v5
Cooling Tt tower + 120mm Tt fan
Memory G.Skill 16GB 3600 C18
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 970 Mini
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Hello everyone this is my beast of a machine... Its a HP z420 with an e5-2667 v2 processor, 64gb ram, nvidia 1080 founders edition gpu, a 1tb samsung ssd, and a seasonice 750w 80+ gold psu. now i have a question i have been looking at a different processor e5-2697 and am wondering if it will work in the z420?
Have you checked the compatibility list at HP?
I doubt it will work unless it is a V2 also.
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2018
Messages
278 (0.19/day)
Hi,

I just got the Z600 v2 and I want the best CPU for it. Is it possible to put a W3690 in it with the 130W cooler?
Ive googled and got very mixed results. Im not interested in X series, cause i dont need the 2nd slot, and i found the W3690 at a good price.


I'm not seeing any good info either. A w3690 would be cool because the CPU is unlocked.

I don't see any benchmarks for the 3690 in the Z600, highest is x5675. I know the W3690 will work in a Z400v2

It may be possible that the socket is limited to 1 or 2 95W CPU's only.

 
Joined
Sep 7, 2020
Messages
354 (0.43/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Alienware PC
Processor Intel 4790K
Motherboard ASROCK Z97 EXTREME4
Cooling Stock Intel Cooler
Memory 32GB DDR3 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 7770 2GB GDDR5
Storage SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS M.2
Display(s) SAMSUNG UE57 Series 28-Inch 4K UHD
Case Alienware Area 51 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Realtek On Board
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt
Mouse Microsoft Wireless
Keyboard HyperX - Alloy Elite 2 Mechanical Gaming Keyboard.
Software Windows 10 Pro & LTSB & LTSC Windows 11 Pro

I'm not seeing any good info either. A w3690 would be cool because the CPU is unlocked.

I don't see any benchmarks for the 3690 in the Z600, highest is x5675. I know the W3690 will work in a Z400v2

It may be possible that the socket is limited to 1 or 2 95W CPU's only.

Go here and pick the processor you would like to use, and half way down the page on the right it will give you some popular comparisons. It might even have the info you're looking for on that site, also they ask you to let the ads run on that page, no big deal compared to the abundance of information this person has put together.


 
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
Location
Sweden
System Name HP Z600v2
Processor 1x xeon E5645
Motherboard Z600v2
Cooling HPZ600 95W cooler
Memory 24GB 1333 ECC
Video Card(s) HD6850
Storage Intel 520 SSD 120GB, WD Black 2TB, Samsung F3 1TB
Display(s) BenQ 24"
Case HP Z600 Chassi
Power Supply HP Z600 650W
Software W10 x64
I changed my mind and actually gonna buy two x5675. Gonna use them for some folding and server stuff (learning etc).

Its the easiest way, and I will be happy anyway.
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2018
Messages
278 (0.19/day)
That is a good plan, if you look at the single core difference; its not that much, I'd rather have 2x 5675 myself as I do production stuff.

Plus, you can fit a decent amount of RAM and drives in the Z600's.

I'm always on the hunt for good prices on Z420's and Z440's. I've found some great deals; pretty much just put an upgraded SSD and CPU and you get a complete computer for $150-$200...you can beat that. I will say that these new Zen 3 CPU's are going to be pretty powerful; so that lowers the price vs performance a little of these used workstations; but I see a lot of value still But you don't need all that for general computing.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
2,699 (0.43/day)
Location
Canada
System Name PCGR
Processor Intel 10500 ES
Motherboard MSI Z490 Gaming Plus
Cooling Snowman MT4 Dual Fan
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX 6800XT Gaming OC
Storage 1x 1tb ADATA XPG 8200 Pro NVME | 1x 1TB WD Blue HDD
Display(s) BenQ 24" 1080P
Case MSI MPG 110M
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Cooler Master 550W MWE 80+ Gold
Software Windows 10 64bit Pro
Hey guys.

I just picked up a HP Z420 with a 1620v2 cpu.

Issue is, it has 16gb of RAM but only 2x8gb sticks. Is there no way to run it in dual channel? Otherwise it was set to single channel.

Edit: NVM, figured it out. The memory configuration on the board vs what manual says was different. Got it working.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
5,308 (1.61/day)
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name WS#1337
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard ASUS X570-PLUS TUF Gaming
Cooling Xigmatek Scylla 240mm AIO
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Ares OEM DDR4-3200 (B-die)
Video Card(s) Inno3D RTX 3070 Ti iChill
Storage Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case ghetto CM Cosmos RC-1000
Audio Device(s) ALC1220
Power Supply SeaSonic SSR-550FX (80+ GOLD)
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Modecom Volcano Blade (Kailh choc LP)
Software Windows 10, Ubuntu 20.04 LTS
I just picked up a HP Z420 with a 1620v2 cpu.

Issue is, it has 16gb of RAM but only 2x8gb sticks. Is there no way to run it in dual channel? Otherwise it was set to single channel.
Just follow the HP official docs

Well, apparently still on 2011 block. How do I update it? Can I update it?
Only via external flash programmer. I'm not sure if header can be updated via fpt. Did it on my Z620 few months ago. I don't have an Ivy Bridge EP CPU to test it with, but that wasn't my main priority.
I've spliced together a firmware based off Z420v2, and added NVME module. If you wanna risk it, just buy any cheap SPI flash programmer with 300-mil socket, and PM me for binary. You'll need to desolder and solder it back afterwards, so the hot air rework station is a must.
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
2,699 (0.43/day)
Location
Canada
System Name PCGR
Processor Intel 10500 ES
Motherboard MSI Z490 Gaming Plus
Cooling Snowman MT4 Dual Fan
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX 6800XT Gaming OC
Storage 1x 1tb ADATA XPG 8200 Pro NVME | 1x 1TB WD Blue HDD
Display(s) BenQ 24" 1080P
Case MSI MPG 110M
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Cooler Master 550W MWE 80+ Gold
Software Windows 10 64bit Pro
Just follow the HP official docs


Only via external flash programmer. I'm not sure if header can be updated via fpt. Did it on my Z620 few months ago. I don't have an Ivy Bridge EP CPU to test it with, but that wasn't my main priority.
I've spliced together a firmware based off Z420v2, and added NVME module. If you wanna risk it, just buy any cheap SPI flash programmer with 300-mil socket, and PM me for binary. You'll need to desolder and solder it back afterwards, so the hot air rework station is a must.

Thanks. Yeah I did check the docs and the ram slots shown on the board mentioned in the doc vs mine was different. But otherwise, got it working. Now need 2x8gb ddr3 1866 more ram (it was what it's got now) for quad channel.
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2018
Messages
30 (0.02/day)
Hi everyone,

Looking for a specific SD card reader for my 800 G1 USDT retro pc console build for a fair price. The part number is HP 742719-001. There is one on ebay listed as brand new for 60 pounds, which is ridiculous for a 10 year old machine. Clearly I don't require a brand new part, if someone has one laying around, would appreciate if he pings me.

Thanks!
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
13,208 (4.46/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1260L v5
Motherboard MSI E3 KRAIT Gaming v5
Cooling Tt tower + 120mm Tt fan
Memory G.Skill 16GB 3600 C18
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 970 Mini
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Hi everyone,

Looking for a specific SD card reader for my 800 G1 USDT retro pc console build for a fair price. The part number is HP 742719-001. There is one on ebay listed as brand new for 60 pounds, which is ridiculous for a 10 year old machine. Clearly I don't require a brand new part, if someone has one laying around, would appreciate if he pings me.

Thanks!
Generic parts are a lot cheaper, if you require specific OEM parts then you have to pay what you have to pay, especially for an original retro build.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
1,470 (0.24/day)
Processor Ryzen 1600AF @4.2Ghz 1.35v
Motherboard MSI B450M PRO-A-MAX
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L120t
Memory 16GB Team Group Dark Pro Sammy-B-die 3400mhz 14.15.14.30-1.4v
Video Card(s) XFX RX 5600 XT THICC II PRO
Storage 240GB Brave eagle SSD/ 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Dell SE2719HR
Case MSI Mag Vampiric 011C AMD Ryzen Edition
Power Supply EVGA 600W 80+
Software Windows 10 Pro
Just bought a HP z400 for under £60 shipped, its got a Xeon W3520, 8gb DDR3, 1tb, gt640. I'm probably going to buy a W3570 for it unless it will take a 6 core though I'm not sure it will. I'll be putting in a 1060/570 and this will replace my sons sff i3 2c4t gt 1030 sff rig. I'll probably upgrade the ram to 12gb (4GBx3) and throw in his 120gb ssd for Windows and 500gb hdd for 1.5tb space. I think I can recoup the cost of a new gpu or most of it from the sale of his old pc and the gt640 though that might come in handy as a spare. All in all its a great deal for the price. Count me in to the clubhouse :toast:

Couple of questions, is this standard ATX size motherboard or proprietry? same with the PSU, standard 24pin ATX and 4pin CPU or proprietry? as it would be good to swap out the PSU and change the case.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 25, 2018
Messages
278 (0.19/day)
Look at the ram slots; the v2 Z400 should have 6, if it only has 4 ram slots then 3500's series is all it will take as far as I'm aware.

looks like you can go upto a W3580 in the v1 z400.

 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
5,308 (1.61/day)
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name WS#1337
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard ASUS X570-PLUS TUF Gaming
Cooling Xigmatek Scylla 240mm AIO
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Ares OEM DDR4-3200 (B-die)
Video Card(s) Inno3D RTX 3070 Ti iChill
Storage Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case ghetto CM Cosmos RC-1000
Audio Device(s) ALC1220
Power Supply SeaSonic SSR-550FX (80+ GOLD)
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Modecom Volcano Blade (Kailh choc LP)
Software Windows 10, Ubuntu 20.04 LTS
Couple of questions, is this standard ATX size motherboard or proprietry? same with the PSU, standard 24pin ATX and 4pin CPU or proprietry? as it would be good to swap out the PSU and change the case.
Motherboard size is standard ATX. PSU is the problem - it's custom 24-pin, not the standard ATX.


You can buy an aftermarket adapter or mod your PSU cabling. It's much easier than on newer HP workstations, casue it still uses +5VSB and it's very close to regular ATX. Just need to switch a few wires, no active parts required.
-5V is not used in most new PSUs (if it is - you can just cut that wire and put a jumper to the nearest ground). The only thing you need to mod, is a pair of pins on a +4 section of ATX connector.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
1,470 (0.24/day)
Processor Ryzen 1600AF @4.2Ghz 1.35v
Motherboard MSI B450M PRO-A-MAX
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L120t
Memory 16GB Team Group Dark Pro Sammy-B-die 3400mhz 14.15.14.30-1.4v
Video Card(s) XFX RX 5600 XT THICC II PRO
Storage 240GB Brave eagle SSD/ 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Dell SE2719HR
Case MSI Mag Vampiric 011C AMD Ryzen Edition
Power Supply EVGA 600W 80+
Software Windows 10 Pro
Look at the ram slots; the v2 Z400 should have 6, if it only has 4 ram slots then 3500's series is all it will take as far as I'm aware.

looks like you can go upto a W3580 in the v1 z400.





Hey, I have only just seen this reply, guess I should watch the thread to get notifications.

I haven't received the Z400 yet, it's in transit so should be here tomorrow, hopefully it will be the V2, it's odd it's based on the x58 chipset and comes with 4 DIMMs.

also came across this post on HP forums and hopefully I can throw an x5687 or better CPU into it


Motherboard size is standard ATX. PSU is the problem - it's custom 24-pin, not the standard ATX.


You can buy an aftermarket adapter or mod your PSU cabling. It's much easier than on newer HP workstations, casue it still uses +5VSB and it's very close to regular ATX. Just need to switch a few wires, no active parts required.
-5V is not used in most new PSUs (if it is - you can just cut that wire and put a jumper to the nearest ground). The only thing you need to mod, is a pair of pins on a +4 section of ATX connector.


Thanks, I've found this https://www.moddiy.com/products/ATX...dard-ATX-Pinout-Main-Power-Adapter-Cable.html

Can't find too many more of these anywhere, non on amazon UK or ebay, though they do ship worldwide for free so that's not a bad price imo.
 
Top