• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HP Workstations Owners Club

Joined
Sep 20, 2021
Messages
36 (0.07/day)
System Name Z840
Processor E5-2698 V4 X2
Memory 128GB ECC 2400mhz
Storage a lot
Power Supply 1400W
None taken. Thought it was clear that this was just a test bench, back in the day you couldn't go to eBay or Amazon and order the power adapters and I/O shield. You had to make them yourself...but I had bad luck with this build and the motherboard died not long after installing it in the case...and I ended up with a case with extra holes and some messed up fan connectors.

 
Last edited:
Joined
May 13, 2018
Messages
225 (0.13/day)
System Name Terminator T3500
Processor Intel Xeon W3680 4GHz
Motherboard Dell T3500
Cooling Deepcool Gammax 400
Memory 12GB (6x2GB) DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) PowerColor Red Dragon RX 580 8GB
Storage 120GB SSD + 1TB HDD
Display(s) Acer H233H - 1920x1080 75Hz
Case Corsair Carbide Spec-01
Audio Device(s) Kinter MA-170
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Mouse Corsair Katar
Keyboard Ajazz AK33
Software Windows 10
None taken. Thought it was clear that this was just a test bench, back in the day you couldn't go to eBay or Amazon and order the power adapters and I/O shield. You had to make them yourself...but I had bad luck with this build and the motherboard died not long after installing it in the case...and I ended up with a case with extra holes and some messed up fan connectors.
I have been making all of mine myself since years back too...not hating on your test bench at all. I just thought you were implying that is what any attempt at it might turn out like. I don't even buy consumer grade systems at all anymore just out of sheer boredom, really. I've built more computers than I care to recall, and making custom cable adapters is pretty much the norm for all of my builds now. Granted...in most cases, someone has already published the pinouts somewhere and I just use what's already been done. But not always. I still use my multimeter and do my own pinouts from time to time when I need to. It's just more rare these days than it used to be. My last few builds have needed case modification to fit the motherboard and / or cable adapters, which I made myself. There is even a photo not far back in this thread of one I did around Christmas time last year with custom adapter cables and an HP Z400 motherboard. I've also done the test bench lots of times, but I am clumsy and destroy hardware when it's left out like that...back in 775 days, I killed my whole main PC by having it out like that and spilling auto antifreeze all over everything. It killed my precious P5N SLI board and I was bummed and now just build in a case instead of risking it.

The next upgrade I am eyeing (I think) was a Dell T5610 motherboard...dual 2011 with a couple 8 core Xeon...rest will stay the same. Case will need some more hacking up, but I have the tools and space again to do it, so why not. I looked at the dual 2011 HP boards and they are way pricey.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 13, 2018
Messages
225 (0.13/day)
System Name Terminator T3500
Processor Intel Xeon W3680 4GHz
Motherboard Dell T3500
Cooling Deepcool Gammax 400
Memory 12GB (6x2GB) DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) PowerColor Red Dragon RX 580 8GB
Storage 120GB SSD + 1TB HDD
Display(s) Acer H233H - 1920x1080 75Hz
Case Corsair Carbide Spec-01
Audio Device(s) Kinter MA-170
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Mouse Corsair Katar
Keyboard Ajazz AK33
Software Windows 10
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
21,842 (6.25/day)
Location
USA
Not even entirely sure yet, to be honest.
If you do decide to go that direction, give the 2667V2 serious consideration. It's the fastest 8core for that socket and it doesn't run very warm. Under load mine gets into the low 50s C at the warmest.
E5-2667V2-Prime95.jpg

Granted, I have an excellent cooler, but the heatsinks that come with the T5610 are very good. This CPU might get into the mid or high 50s C one them. 16c/32t and 32GB or 64GB of 1866EccReg quad channel RAM and you won't need another system for a few years.
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2022
Messages
113 (0.29/day)
My hypothesis is that the HP motherboards have a more standard "nearly ATX" motherboard layout that makes using the boards in other scenarios easier and more desirable than Dell's misshapen boards.
haha that makes sense.

give the 2667V2 serious consideration. It's the fastest 8core for that socket
again - another tough choice.
i am thinking of a dual cpu.

v2 let's say. Cause it's cheaper than MoBo with v3/v4.

but you would think v3/v4 is more future proof.
too many choices and it's hard to choose.

*or the eternal "new Ryzen"...
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
21,842 (6.25/day)
Location
USA
but you would think v3/v4 is more future proof.
too many choices and it's hard to choose.
Think about your time frame. How long do you intend to use the system for? If you want to use it for the next 2 or 3 years V2 is a solid choice. However if you intend 4, 5 or more, the V3/V4 might be the better option. However, that depends greatly on your workload.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2021
Messages
36 (0.07/day)
System Name Z840
Processor E5-2698 V4 X2
Memory 128GB ECC 2400mhz
Storage a lot
Power Supply 1400W
Just got this beautiful HP Workstation, anyone can guess what model it is?
 

Attachments

  • PXL_20220222_114829717.jpg
    PXL_20220222_114829717.jpg
    3.2 MB · Views: 85
Joined
May 13, 2018
Messages
225 (0.13/day)
System Name Terminator T3500
Processor Intel Xeon W3680 4GHz
Motherboard Dell T3500
Cooling Deepcool Gammax 400
Memory 12GB (6x2GB) DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) PowerColor Red Dragon RX 580 8GB
Storage 120GB SSD + 1TB HDD
Display(s) Acer H233H - 1920x1080 75Hz
Case Corsair Carbide Spec-01
Audio Device(s) Kinter MA-170
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Mouse Corsair Katar
Keyboard Ajazz AK33
Software Windows 10
Can't say without googling other than it looks to be dual 771.

EDIT - XW8200 it looks like. Don't know anything about it. Do the CPU have HT?
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 13, 2018
Messages
225 (0.13/day)
System Name Terminator T3500
Processor Intel Xeon W3680 4GHz
Motherboard Dell T3500
Cooling Deepcool Gammax 400
Memory 12GB (6x2GB) DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) PowerColor Red Dragon RX 580 8GB
Storage 120GB SSD + 1TB HDD
Display(s) Acer H233H - 1920x1080 75Hz
Case Corsair Carbide Spec-01
Audio Device(s) Kinter MA-170
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Mouse Corsair Katar
Keyboard Ajazz AK33
Software Windows 10
Yeap, 2 cores and 4 threads on this dual CPU workstation :)
Now you just need an era appropriate "top end" GPU to go with and then post it in the Nostalgic Hardware thread on here!

EDIT - maybe Crossfire or SLI to go with the dual CPU? That would be pretty cool.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 22, 2021
Messages
58 (0.08/day)
Processor Xeon e5-2690 (v1)
Motherboard HP z620 Rev.2
Cooling HP z620 heatsink
Memory 8x4gb Hynix DDR3 1333 ECC
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 SC
Storage Hynix S31 Gold, 2x WD Blue 2tb, Kioxia 128gb NVME
Display(s) MSI Optix G24c, 2 crappy VA panels from the ewaste pile
Case HP z620 Workstation
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply HP 800w
Mouse Logi G602
Keyboard Drop CTRL
Software Win 10 Pro
Been running a HP z620 with Xeon e5-2690, 8x4gb DDR3-1333 ECC, and GTX 980 for video editing for a few years now. Used to have a second E5-2690 on the riser card, but unfortunately I started getting random blackscreen crashes/system lockups with the card so had to take it out.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2021
Messages
36 (0.07/day)
System Name Z840
Processor E5-2698 V4 X2
Memory 128GB ECC 2400mhz
Storage a lot
Power Supply 1400W
That's a pretty nice setup, too bad about the riser card, but probably didn't affect your workflow too much.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
21,842 (6.25/day)
Location
USA
Just got this beautiful HP Workstation, anyone can guess what model it is?
That looks like a dual Socket 604 based system. The SCSI port & cable gives away the generation of hardware. As for the exact model, no idea..

Yeap, 2 cores and 4 threads on this dual CPU workstation :)
Really? Socket 771? Fair enough. I'd get a pair of X5450s for it. They go cheap on ebay currently.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2021
Messages
36 (0.07/day)
System Name Z840
Processor E5-2698 V4 X2
Memory 128GB ECC 2400mhz
Storage a lot
Power Supply 1400W
It's a socket 604 system alright, The cpu's are Xeon Nocona 3.6GH/z, so they are single core units with 2 threads. My goal with this system is just making it period correct.
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2019
Messages
90 (0.07/day)
Location
Sacramento California
System Name Ryzen & Ryzen-II
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X 4.4 Ghz 8-Core Processor | AMD RYZEN 5 2600X 4.2Ghz 6-Core Processor
Motherboard ASRock X470 Taichi ATX AM4 Motherboard | ASRock X570 Phantom Gaming 4 ATX
Cooling Corsair H100I Pro 240mm AIO | Corsair H100X Extrememe 240mm AIO
Memory GSKILL Trident Z 32gb GTZB DDR4 3200 4 X 8 | Corsair Dominator Platinum 32 GB DDR4-3200 2 X 16
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon RX 580 8 GB Red Devil Video Card (Not Golden) | Zotac GTX-1060 6GB Amp
Storage 1- Samsung 970 Evo 500 GB M.2 2 - Western Digital Caviar Blue 1 TB | Ditto
Display(s) Two 24 inch HP E242 Elite Buisness Monitors | Two 27 inch LG M38 Monitors
Case Rosewell Rise | Ditto
Audio Device(s) Yamaha Yst-sw160 Subwoofer (2) infiniti monitors | Bose Accustimax 5 audio
Power Supply Corsair RMi 750 W 80+ Gold Modular ATX Power Supply | Ditto
Mouse Logitech Wireless optical mouse | Ditto
Keyboard Logitech Wireless keyboard | Ditto
VR HMD None
Software Windows 10 build 1909 | Ditto
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/yf8p96 | https://valid.x86.fr/mk995k
my guess xw9300 late to see post,
 
Joined
May 13, 2018
Messages
225 (0.13/day)
System Name Terminator T3500
Processor Intel Xeon W3680 4GHz
Motherboard Dell T3500
Cooling Deepcool Gammax 400
Memory 12GB (6x2GB) DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) PowerColor Red Dragon RX 580 8GB
Storage 120GB SSD + 1TB HDD
Display(s) Acer H233H - 1920x1080 75Hz
Case Corsair Carbide Spec-01
Audio Device(s) Kinter MA-170
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Mouse Corsair Katar
Keyboard Ajazz AK33
Software Windows 10
Been running a HP z620 with Xeon e5-2690, 8x4gb DDR3-1333 ECC, and GTX 980 for video editing for a few years now. Used to have a second E5-2690 on the riser card, but unfortunately I started getting random blackscreen crashes/system lockups with the card so had to take it out.
Have you done any further "diagnostics" on the riser card? Cleaning (with electrical contact cleaner + soft brush or something) the riser to motherboard connection and CPU socket / ram slots might be worth a try. Also just a visual inspection while it's apart for any obvious damage.
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2021
Messages
58 (0.08/day)
Processor Xeon e5-2690 (v1)
Motherboard HP z620 Rev.2
Cooling HP z620 heatsink
Memory 8x4gb Hynix DDR3 1333 ECC
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 SC
Storage Hynix S31 Gold, 2x WD Blue 2tb, Kioxia 128gb NVME
Display(s) MSI Optix G24c, 2 crappy VA panels from the ewaste pile
Case HP z620 Workstation
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply HP 800w
Mouse Logi G602
Keyboard Drop CTRL
Software Win 10 Pro
Have you done any further "diagnostics" on the riser card? Cleaning (with electrical contact cleaner + soft brush or something) the riser to motherboard connection and CPU socket / ram slots might be worth a try. Also just a visual inspection while it's apart for any obvious damage.
Yes, I have, cleaned and no visible damage.
 
Joined
May 13, 2018
Messages
225 (0.13/day)
System Name Terminator T3500
Processor Intel Xeon W3680 4GHz
Motherboard Dell T3500
Cooling Deepcool Gammax 400
Memory 12GB (6x2GB) DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) PowerColor Red Dragon RX 580 8GB
Storage 120GB SSD + 1TB HDD
Display(s) Acer H233H - 1920x1080 75Hz
Case Corsair Carbide Spec-01
Audio Device(s) Kinter MA-170
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Mouse Corsair Katar
Keyboard Ajazz AK33
Software Windows 10
This build was from 5 years ago or something but just stumbled upon the photos today...I just built it to sell it, but I always loved that case. Wish I had kept it. I think this build started with a $30 CAN Proliant DL120 G6 that came with 8GB RAM, and 2x250GB HDD.

Intel Xeon X3440
8GB DDR3 10600R
HP Proliant DL120 G6 motherboard
Asus GTX 680 DirectCU II
EVGA 500B 500W PSU
4 x 250GB SATA RAID
Antec P182SE
Deepcool GAMMAXX 200

14918852_10153993128463085_7464619330822119203_o.jpg

14918991_10153993128433085_9134786979688243016_o.jpg

Also...can't remember if I shared this one either, but I found these as well...an experiment that turned out kinda cool, IMO. It's another HP 1U server (DL360 gen 5?) transformed just a little....the entire thing had been cut down to about half the size, custom bits all over....just a proof of concept. At the time, I had access to a ton of local workstation and server hardware for scrap prices. This is a dual 771 system, if I can recall, with a GTX 780, I think. Around 5 or so years back as well. The stand is some heavy steel, a cutout from a scratch built case I was working on that someone used a sheet metal brake and a welder on...the piece was a cutout for fans and I just bolted it to the bottom of this thing. No flex, nice and heavy. Also...that is color shift paint...hard to tell from the photo. And those two 120mm fans blow directly down onto the CPU heatsink, and they had to be high RPM in order to keep the RAM cool, unfortunately.
19554157_10154672258283085_262782407914416601_n.jpg

19657295_10154687181023085_8013279548238617730_n.jpg
 
Last edited:

Kevin O'Brien

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2022
Messages
1 (0.01/day)
Hi all, new to owning a Z620 and looking at upgrading storage. Plan is to install a couple of PCIe M.2 adapter cards and two NVMe SSDs - 1TB for OS and apps, and 500GB for scratch. System will be used for GIS/mapping, photo and video editing. Specs are 2011 build Z620, E5-1650v0 3.2 cpu, 32GB RAM, 1TB hdd, NVIDIA Quadro K2000.

My question is will the Z620 with this cpu support NVMe by PCIe M.2 adapter and at what speed?

One dealer suggested only PCIe 2.0 only and I would be just as well off installing a 2.5" SATA SSD and saving money. Obviously I would prefer the speed of the NVMe SSD.

Any help would be appreciated.

cheers, Pete

Hi all, new to owning a Z620 and looking at upgrading storage. Plan is to install a couple of PCIe M.2 adapter cards and two NVMe SSDs - 1TB for OS and apps, and 500GB for scratch. System will be used for GIS/mapping, photo and video editing. Specs are 2011 build Z620, E5-1650v0 3.2 cpu, 32GB RAM, 1TB hdd, NVIDIA Quadro K2000.

My question is will the Z620 with this cpu support NVMe by PCIe M.2 adapter and at what speed?

One dealer suggested only PCIe 2.0 only and I would be just as well off installing a 2.5" SATA SSD and saving money. Obviously I would prefer the speed of the NVMe SSD.

Any help would be appreciated.

cheers, Pete

HP usergroup posts - how to add NVME boot using REFIND boot manager
You can find instructions on how to boot from an NVME SSD mounted on a PCIE card at the link posted above. I did it for two Z620s a few days ago. The instructions are very clear and detailed. The result is an amazing boost in speed. PCIE 3.0 is much faster than SATA, 2000mbs vs 600, a 3x plus gain. PCIE can also read and write simultaneously, while SATA can only do one at a time.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
1,278 (2.16/day)
Does any one know where i can get a pcie card for thunderbolt for z230 work station in the UK?.I understand the z230 is capable of it.I have a loverly 27 thunderbolt display going to waste:(Otherwise i will have to wait tell i get a M1 ot later Mac Mini.That want be for another couple of years when my 27 Imac can no linger have the latest OS. :(
 
Last edited:

ModemJunki

New Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2021
Messages
7 (0.01/day)
Had a Z820, upgraded the CPUs - and then I got for free an Z840 with dual E5-2697 v4s, 128 GB of DDR4 1866 RAM in quad-channel mode, and 4x Samsung MZVKW512 NVMe drives. I gave the Z820 to a friend.

Just bragging is all. :peace:
 

nootkabear

New Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2021
Messages
11 (0.02/day)
Location
Stone Mountain, GA USA
Had a Z820, upgraded the CPUs - and then I got for free an Z840 with dual E5-2697 v4s, 128 GB of DDR4 1866 RAM in quad-channel mode, and 4x Samsung MZVKW512 NVMe drives. I gave the Z820 to a friend.

Just bragging is all. :peace:

We all could use a friend like you.
 

Nikuuuuu

New Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2022
Messages
4 (0.02/day)
Does anyone know how to permanently remove the Z440 No front-usb warning on a 3rd party case?
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2021
Messages
1,505 (3.42/day)
Location
Knoxville, TN, USA
System Name Work Computer | Laptop | Unfinished Computer
Processor Core i7-6700 | Core i7-7700HQ | Ryzen 5 5600X
Motherboard Dell Q170 | Lenovo ThinkPad | Gigabyte Aorus Elite Wi-Fi
Cooling A fan? | Some Fans | Truly Custom Loop
Memory 4x4GB Crucial 2133 C17 | 2x8GB Assorted | 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance RGB 3600 C26
Video Card(s) Dell Radeon R7 450 | Intel HD 630 + Quadro M620 Mobile | RTX 2080 Ti FE
Storage Crucial BX500 2TB | WD Black SN750 512GB + Intel H20 512GB + 1TB HDD | TBD
Display(s) 3x LG QHD 32" GSM5B96 | Internal 1080p | TBD
Case Dell | Lenovo ThinkPad | Heavily Modified Phanteks P400
Audio Device(s) Half-broken Earbuds | Headphones | TBD
Power Supply Dell TFX Non-standard | Lenovo 225W | EVGA BQ 650W
Mouse Logitech M275 | Monster No-Name $7 Gaming Mouse| TBD
Keyboard Logitech K345 | Lenovo's Incredible Keyboard | TBD
Software Quotesoft, Adobe Acrobat, DaVinci Resolve | GAMES | MOAR GAMES
Does any one know where i can get a pcie card for thunderbolt for z230 work station in the UK?.I understand the z230 is capable of it.I have a loverly 27 thunderbolt display going to waste:(Otherwise i will have to wait tell i get a M1 ot later Mac Mini.That want be for another couple of years when my 27 Imac can no linger have the latest OS. :(
If it has a PCIe slot free, it should be easy to pick up a relatively generic card off of Amazon.
 
Top