• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

HyperSLI (Enabling SLI on non-sli motherboards)

Darrel

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2010
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
U.K
Crosshair IV Formula

Hello all,

I'm planning on grabbing a second GTX 680 for my system, Because my MB doesn't officially support SLI, does HyperSLI 0.96 have any implications to the performance of games? For example, would my SLI functionality behave any differently to that of an officially supported board?

Sorry if my questions seem lazy and easily answered, but I have been reading through this thread a little while now and haven't yet come across any complaints (Good sign :D).

Also my CPU is the new FX-8350 Vishera chip.

Many thanks for any advice in advance:)
 

vitalik.t

New Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2013
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
I've got problems with SLI after re-installing Windows 8

I'm using Hyper-SLI almost 1 year, I've started with windows 7, and now for a couple of months I'm using Windows 8. A couple of days ago I've re-installed windows, installed the latest Hyper-SLI as usual and tried the latest drivers, but also the older ones.
I've got some green colored artifacts in all games that support SLI. I remember that those artifacts were seen when Nvidia added some protection to drivers, but new version of Hyper-SLI resolved that issue. Now it looks like that all drivers turn on that protection.
Here is an example:

 
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
336 (0.14/day)
Likes
51
Location
Portugal
Processor Intel i7 7700k @4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Strix Z270I Gaming
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 2x8GB 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX980TI OC
Storage Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411Z / Dell SE198WFP
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv Mini ITX Red/Black Windows
Power Supply Corsair RM850
Mouse Razer Naga Hex Wraith Red
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma
Software Windows 10 - 64bit
I'm using Hyper-SLI almost 1 year, I've started with windows 7, and now for a couple of months I'm using Windows 8. A couple of days ago I've re-installed windows, installed the latest Hyper-SLI as usual and tried the latest drivers, but also the older ones.
I've got some green colored artifacts in all games that support SLI. I remember that those artifacts were seen when Nvidia added some protection to drivers, but new version of Hyper-SLI resolved that issue. Now it looks like that all drivers turn on that protection.
Here is an example:
https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-...Atw/qoBYysxlFU4/s1055/IMG_20130301_000034.jpg
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-...bOkts78/s1266/dxhr+2013-02-28+23-59-42-80.jpg
Can't really understand what you talking about, probably because I never played that game. Are you talking about that yellowish/greenish blob ?
Hmm try to remove and put back the SLI bridge a few times.
 

vitalik.t

New Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2013
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Can't really understand what you talking about, probably because I never played that game. Are you talking about that yellowish/greenish blob ?
Hmm try to remove and put back the SLI bridge a few times.
Yes. This game is Deus Ex: Human Revolution, but the problem is with all games. I'll try to reseat the SLI bridge.
 

Darrel

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2010
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
U.K
Yes. This game is Deus Ex: Human Revolution, but the problem is with all games. I'll try to reseat the SLI bridge.
You have peaked my interest here, I hope this isn't going to be an issue down the line. Can you show another example of a different game with the same problem?
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
336 (0.14/day)
Likes
51
Location
Portugal
Processor Intel i7 7700k @4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Strix Z270I Gaming
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 2x8GB 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX980TI OC
Storage Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411Z / Dell SE198WFP
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv Mini ITX Red/Black Windows
Power Supply Corsair RM850
Mouse Razer Naga Hex Wraith Red
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma
Software Windows 10 - 64bit
Yes. This game is Deus Ex: Human Revolution, but the problem is with all games. I'll try to reseat the SLI bridge.
Most of the time issues with color are SLI bridge related, SLI is not connected properly or is damaged.
 

mordax

New Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2013
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Hi. maybe my question has been answered already, but plz don't throw the search thing at me, there are 50 pages here.

EDIT: please read this first.
I managed to fix the first issue with the crash, so i can now enable SLI and it works great. problem was that i somehow managed to get hypersli 0.7, now i have latest. no more crashes when enabling, however i don't want to be stuck on 1 display, please see below what other problem is, i really could use help with this, thanks.


i have a slight "problem", actually 2.

I have AsRock M3A770DE, 1 slot is 16x other is 4x
I have 2GB GTX550Ti 2x and using SLI bridge
i successfully installed HyperSLi and it says its working
so i go into nVidia control panel (sry but here i must give thumbs down about instructions, since it is very hard to find the "SLI" option in nVidia control panel, specification where it is would be nice).
anyway, i go there, i see this:

SLi configurtaion:

Maximise 3D performance (sli enabled)
Span displays with surround (sli enabled)
Activate all displays (sli disabled)
Disable SLI

so i select "maximise 3d performance" and when i click "apply", windows crashes (not a bsod, just crashes and sound loops). It goes to black screen with a _ (underscore) blinking on screen, numlock ..etc is not responding.
any ideas?


My other problem, that is more important, is that i have 3 monitors, but i realized that SLI actually merges 2 cards into 1 and GTX550Ti supports only 2 monitors at once and i have 3 monitors (i do lot of computer work, graphics, websites, game modding, debugging ..etc so i NEED 3 displays at same time).
ok not really a problem, since i don't need "real sli", but huge problem is that i used MSI Afterburner to check GPU usage .. and well one of them gets no usage at all.
even tho i have selected PhysX to be used only by other graphics card and not the one that runs my primary display.
even dumber thing, is that in nvidia panel under
"Manage 3D settings"
i see
"Multi-display/mixed-GPU acceleration" and i have set it on > "Multiple display performance mode" and i also tried "single display performance mode", but still same. other GPU gets no usage at all.
obviously it works, because when i drag something onto other monitor/s (ones that are connected to other card), then usage goes up a bit, like if i put winamp visualization or video there, then it uses other GPU.

Is there any way to make other GPU work with primary to increase game FPS?
 
Last edited:

Fx4mt

New Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2013
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
GTX 260 and GTS 450?

Hey guys, I have tried absolutely everything and can not get SLI to work. Is it it just not possible for a GTS 450 and GTX 260 to SLI together?
 

Yimmeryams

New Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2011
Messages
67 (0.03/day)
Likes
11
Location
Ohio, US
System Name Scoots
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @3.2GHz (Auto)
Motherboard NB: AMD 890FX + SB: AMD SB850 (Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5 rev. 2.0)
Cooling Air (ZALMAN CNPS10X Performa CPU Cooler)
Memory 8GB (4x2GB) @1333 (G.SKILL ECO Series 2GB CL7D-4GBECO)
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 460 1GB, x2 SLI (Palit GeForce GTX 460 Sonic Platinum 1GB + MSI Hawk GeForce GTX 460 1GB)
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black 1.5TB 7200 RPM WD1501FASS
Display(s) [1680x1050][1920x1080] (Primary: ASUS VH226H Black 21.5" 16:9 + Secondary: HP w2207 16:10)
Case COOLER MASTER Storm Scout SGC-2000-KKN1-GP
Power Supply COOLER MASTER GX Series RS750-ACAAE3-US 750W 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified
Software Win7 x64 (Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601))
Benchmark Scores Heaven Benchmark v2.5 Basic: 1578; DX11, 1920x1080, Fullscreen, High, Tess Normal

Fx4mt

New Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2013
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Try this out: http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=158907

That's the thing you need to use to get different cards working. Off the top of my head, though, I don't think 200 and 400/500 work together, but you can always try it out.
I appreciate the response, I have given the methods in that link a try, to no avail. Just about ready to give up. I've tried just about every solution you can find online.

I use 4 monitors for work, flawlessly. Decided since I already had a gaming setup, it'd be a shame to not give a game or two a go. Thus far I've proven to be out of my element, and pretty pissed about it.

I've concluded that the GTX 260 and GTS 450 can not be used in SLI mode together. Would love to be proved wrong, absolutely love it, but at this point I'm afraid it's time to move on :banghead:
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2011
Messages
990 (0.43/day)
Likes
473
Processor Core i7 6800k @ 4.1GHz @ 1.325v
Motherboard MSI X99A Raider
Cooling LEPA AquaChanger 240
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengence LED @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080 Ti @ +25core +400mem
Storage 960 EVO 1TB, OCZ Vector 512GB, 2x Samsung 830 128GB, 750GB Samsung, 1.5TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Acer XB270HU, Qnix QX2710
Case Corsair Carbide 500R White
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply EVGA P2 850W
Mouse RAT8
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Ultimate 2016 Edition
Software Win 10 x64
I appreciate the response, I have given the methods in that link a try, to no avail. Just about ready to give up. I've tried just about every solution you can find online.

I use 4 monitors for work, flawlessly. Decided since I already had a gaming setup, it'd be a shame to not give a game or two a go. Thus far I've proven to be out of my element, and pretty pissed about it.

I've concluded that the GTX 260 and GTS 450 can not be used in SLI mode together. Would love to be proved wrong, absolutely love it, but at this point I'm afraid it's time to move on :banghead:
I think they're based on different core architectures. The GTS450 is actually based on the Fermi arch, so it won't work with 2xx series cards.
 

Mykee36

New Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2012
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
9
Just downloaded and installed the 314.14 beta drivers.
Ran a couple of games and benchmarks, no problems at bootup or with gameplay.
I have HyperSLI 9.6 installed.
Run HyperSli in hardware mode

They just came out today
•Performance Boost – Increases performance by up to 23% for GeForce 400/500/600 series GPUs in several PC games vs. GeForce 314.07 WHQL-certified drivers. Results will vary depending on your GPU and system configuration. Here is one example of measured gains:
GeForce GTX 680:
◦Up to 23% in Sniper Elite V2
◦Up to 9% in Sleeping Dogs
GeForce GTX 680 SLI:
◦Up to 22% in Sniper Elite V2
◦Up to 14% in Sleeping Dogs
◦Up to 9% in StarCraft II
◦Up to 5% in Call of Duty: Black Ops II
◦Up to 5% in Deus Ex: Human Revolution
◦Up to 5% in Just Cause 2
◦Up to 4% in The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
◦Up to 4% in Batman: Arkham City
•SLI Technology
◦Updates SLI profile for Resident Evil 6
◦Adds SLI profile for Sniper Elite: Nazi Zombie Army (delivered via NVIDIA Update)

i7 2600k
Windows 7
Motherboard: ASROCK P67 Pro3 SE
GTX 560ti SLI
 

h4x24

New Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2013
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Specs:
Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ stock
EVGA GTX 275 896mb + GTX 275 SC 1792mb
Asus P5Q Pro Turbo mb latest BIOS
Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
Just tried 314.14 drivers. Always get a BSOD when trying to enable SLI in the control panel:

nvlddmkm.sys 0x0000007e (0xffffffffc0000005, 0xfffff88004da705d, 0xfffff880032d8c48, 0xfffff880032d84a0)
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2013
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
h4x24
for me 306.97 is the last drivers i can install without problem on my p5q-E in Win 7 64bit,
i can instal 313.96, setup sli, run somme game (example far cry 3 with good perfs gain in sli, the two gpu works correctly), all is good but if i reboot i have bsod.
I say that to anatolimik, but he can't found solution. i read on internet it's perhaps only new physisc dll who cause problem, i have no time to test installing 314.14 withous physics perhaps you can after reintalling completely older working drivers.

If this work, say it to me.
 

Typifire

New Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2013
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Boot screen modification?

@anatolymik

This is going to sound pretty petty considering I now have SLI enabled on a Mac Pro 1.1 in Windows under bootcamp, but is there anyway to modify the bootscreen used by HyperSLI? I had used the Windoiws 7 boot updater on my non-HyperSLI boot and can't figure out where the boot screen for HyperSLI is located.
 

MALEFX

New Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2013
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
help me pls

hi all guys
pls help me.
i have a problem whit hypersli 0.96
i disbale uac and run it on administrator mode
hypersli don't work:
unable to get boot information

I use windows 7 x64
i read all topic. My SSD is assigned letter C
I have 2x msi gtx 460 hawk talon
driver 310.90

anatolymik PLS HELP ME! :respect::respect::respect::respect:
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
336 (0.14/day)
Likes
51
Location
Portugal
Processor Intel i7 7700k @4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Strix Z270I Gaming
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 2x8GB 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX980TI OC
Storage Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411Z / Dell SE198WFP
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv Mini ITX Red/Black Windows
Power Supply Corsair RM850
Mouse Razer Naga Hex Wraith Red
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma
Software Windows 10 - 64bit
hi all guys
pls help me.
i have a problem whit hypersli 0.96
i disbale uac and run it on administrator mode
hypersli don't work:
unable to get boot information

I use windows 7 x64
i read all topic. My SSD is assigned letter C
I have 2x msi gtx 460 hawk talon
driver 310.90

anatolymik PLS HELP ME! :respect::respect::respect::respect:
You could try doing the following to see if it fixes your problem:
In Windows Recovery Environment run bootrec.exe/fixmbr, bootrec.exe/fixboot and bootrec.exe/rebuildbcd
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2013
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
@anatolymik

I had problem with nvidia drivers 310.xx but yesterday i try to install 314.14 beta drivers , graphics drivers only and they works, directly i can setup sli on, and after reboot they continue to work perfectly.
THKS
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
336 (0.14/day)
Likes
51
Location
Portugal
Processor Intel i7 7700k @4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Strix Z270I Gaming
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 2x8GB 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX980TI OC
Storage Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411Z / Dell SE198WFP
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv Mini ITX Red/Black Windows
Power Supply Corsair RM850
Mouse Razer Naga Hex Wraith Red
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma
Software Windows 10 - 64bit
Latest drivers, 314.21, working with HyperSLI.
Windows 8 64bit
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2013
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
@anatolymik

After Two days i have the same bsod during surfing on web and drivers wil never work again i re install 306.97, the latest working.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2011
Messages
71 (0.03/day)
Likes
44
Location
Italy
System Name SGC K2 -K1
Processor Intel 4790K -Intel Q9650
Motherboard Asus Z97-WS- Asus P5E64WS EVO X48
Cooling SGC Prototype-EK 240 HF+ 2x GTX295 single pcb Aquacomputer
Memory Mushkin Redline- Corsair dominator 8GB 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Asus GTX980 DC2OC -2x Asus ENGTX295 QuadSli with DifferentSLiAuto v1.1
Storage Corsair Force GS240GB(Games+Programs)+Seagate 2TB(Storage)-OCZ Vertex 3 60GB(OS)
Display(s) 2X Samsung Syncamster P2250+Acer V243H - Acer X193w
Case Corsair 900D-Buffetti...a 13 years old case
Audio Device(s) Integrated sound card is enough for both
Power Supply Corsair TX750M-Coolermaster 650W
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Win 7 Ultimate X64
Benchmark Scores K1 score Unigine Heaven dx10 2731 pts 3DMark Vantage (CPU@4GHZ-RAM@7-8-8-24) 23417 pts
Latest drivers, 314.21, working with HyperSLI.
Windows 8 64bit
Same for me, Nvidia beta 314.21 works ok.
HyperSli 0.96
Win7 Ultimate X64
Q9650
P5E64WS EVO
Quadsli GTX295

(I dont know if its a issue but when i install 8GB(4 sticks 2GB each) of rams the pc is instable, i have random blue screen, memory error and slow down....each ram stick was tested with no errors. With 3 banks the thing is good no crashes and no bluescreen...i think that when i have 4 sticks mounted i kill the memory controller can be the solution?)
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
336 (0.14/day)
Likes
51
Location
Portugal
Processor Intel i7 7700k @4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Strix Z270I Gaming
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 2x8GB 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX980TI OC
Storage Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411Z / Dell SE198WFP
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv Mini ITX Red/Black Windows
Power Supply Corsair RM850
Mouse Razer Naga Hex Wraith Red
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma
Software Windows 10 - 64bit
Same for me, Nvidia beta 314.21 works ok.
HyperSli 0.96
Win7 Ultimate X64
Q9650
P5E64WS EVO
Quadsli GTX295

(I dont know if its a issue but when i install 8GB(4 sticks 2GB each) of rams the pc is instable, i have random blue screen, memory error and slow down....each ram stick was tested with no errors. With 3 banks the thing is good no crashes and no bluescreen...i think that when i have 4 sticks mounted i kill the memory controller can be the solution?)
I doubt its HyperSLI related.
If you overclocking that could be the problem, with 4 sticks of ram the northbridge is getting more stressed.
That being said, you might need to increase some voltages so the memory controller can handle the overclock + the 4 sticks of ram.
 

Fieldbuzz

New Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Gtx 680 sli

Hello all,

I'm planning on grabbing a second GTX 680 for my system, Because my MB doesn't officially support SLI, does HyperSLI 0.96 have any implications to the performance of games? For example, would my SLI functionality behave any differently to that of an officially supported board?

Sorry if my questions seem lazy and easily answered, but I have been reading through this thread a little while now and haven't yet come across any complaints (Good sign :D).

Also my CPU is the new FX-8350 Vishera chip.

Many thanks for any advice in advance:)
Hi Friend,

My cinebench 11.5 X64 OPENGL scores have gone way down with EVGA GTX 680 SLI (Signature 2 - 2 fan version). About 23 frames :(

I used to get nearly 45 frames with my QX 9770, Rampage Formula X48 and Radeon HD 6870 in Crossfire.

I just swapped the cards and this is the situation. Heard on some forums that cinebench is outdated and does not utilize GTX 680 properly :)

Other than that, everything is fine. Never had a BSOD experience..

Games works just fine. No issues at all in the X48 board :)

Gonna upgrade to 3770K with Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe.

Cheers !
 
Last edited: