• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I am upgrading my CPU but then what

CrisHates

New Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2021
Messages
5 (0.09/day)
Hi, so I recently got the money to get a AMD-FX8320E, I know what to do with the putting the CPU inside the socket and the thermal paste but I have one question. What do I do after I put it in? I've heard that you need to update your motherboard so your CPU will have the same requirement or something like that. So I just load in the pc as normal? Or do I need to do something after the upgrade is done.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
905 (4.84/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Upgrade the UEFI before putting in the new CPU, in case the old UEFI does not recognized the new CPU
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
15,379 (5.12/day)
Location
USA
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Upgrade the UEFI before putting in the new CPU, in case the old UEFI does not recognized the new CPU
That's not going to be a problem. The FX8320 are all supported by AM3+ boards. But updating the bios can't hurt.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
15,379 (5.12/day)
Location
USA
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
15,379 (5.12/day)
Location
USA
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
m5a78l-m-usb3
Nice. As shown at the link below, you have support for that CPU as long as your bios is up to date. The most current bios revision is 2101. But the FX8320E has been supported since 1801, as shown below.
https://www.asus.com/supportonly/m5a78lmusb3/HelpDesk_CPU/

Grab the bios download, and update if you need to.
https://www.asus.com/supportonly/m5a78lmusb3/HelpDesk_BIOS/

Then install your FX8320 and you're good to go.

The bios update should be the only thing you need to do before you install the new CPU, but again only if you need to.
 

CrisHates

New Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2021
Messages
5 (0.09/day)
Nice. As shown at the link below, you have support for that CPU as long as your bios is up to date. The most current bios revision is 2101. But the FX8320E has been supported since 1801, as shown below.
https://www.asus.com/supportonly/m5a78lmusb3/HelpDesk_CPU/

Grab the bios download, and update if you need to.
https://www.asus.com/supportonly/m5a78lmusb3/HelpDesk_BIOS/

Then install your FX8320 and you're good to go.

The bios update should be the only thing you need to do before you install the new CPU, but again only if you need to.
alright thank you for the information
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
15,379 (5.12/day)
Location
USA
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
15,379 (5.12/day)
Location
USA
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
It can, and it hurts bad when it does :fear:
BIOS updates rarely fail once they start.
Hi, so i did what you said putting it inside my USB drive and going to bios all that but when I clicked on the rom it said that there is no update in that file. Did I do something wrong?
Did you unzip it? The file should be named "M5A78L-M-USB3-ASUS-2101.ROM"
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
905 (4.84/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Doesn't the BIOS also include the microcode for the CPU and help with Spectre and Meltdown?
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
15,379 (5.12/day)
Location
USA
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Doesn't the BIOS also include the microcode for the CPU and help with Spectre and Meltdown?
Nope. That update is from 2015, well before Spectre & Meltdown were publicly disclosed. There is nothing to worry about with those vulnerabilities because of the way Vishera cores handle instruction code. As difficult as they are to exploit on Intel CPU's, they are even more difficult on the AM3+ line of CPU's.

@CrisHates
What are the other parts you are using for your system? Would you like help finding/selecting parts? You seem to have your mobo, CPU and Ram sorted already, and while they're older, they are still good value for money.
 
Last edited:
Top