• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I cannot find xmp on a gigabyte a320m-h

Joined
Sep 2, 2020
Messages
280 (1.56/day)
So i have had this computer for a bit over a year and realised that my 2666mhz memory is running at 1333mhz ram
its got a amd 3200g 2 8g sticks of G.Skill 8G Single PC4-19200/DDR4 2400MHZ 1.20V and a gigabyte a320m-h running the f50 bios
and i cant find the xmp
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
11,132 (4.80/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
2 X 1333MHz is 2666MHz.
XMP must be enabled already.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
11,132 (4.80/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
no, usually it needs to be enabled in the Bios.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
11,132 (4.80/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
If you have 2400MHz Ram reporting as 2666MHz i'd safely assume it is on.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2017
Messages
172 (0.11/day)
System Name Main
Processor 8700K
Motherboard Maximus Hero X
Cooling EVGA 280 CLC w/ Noctua silent fans
Memory 2x8GB 3600/16
Video Card(s) EVGA 2080TI Hybrid
It might be at the right speed but non-optimal timings. XMP is an Intel trademark so you won't find it in your BIOS, on Gigabyte AMD boards it's called EOCP.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2020
Messages
280 (1.56/day)
are you sure about that gigabyte lists this motherboard as xmp compatible
and ive seen videos online of where it is meant to be and it is called xmp

also speccy reports it as 332 cpuz reports it at 1333mhz
and task manager reports 2666

and i have just checked the bios reports it as 2681.17
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2017
Messages
172 (0.11/day)
System Name Main
Processor 8700K
Motherboard Maximus Hero X
Cooling EVGA 280 CLC w/ Noctua silent fans
Memory 2x8GB 3600/16
Video Card(s) EVGA 2080TI Hybrid
Anything is possible, according to your MB manual they do list XMP and it's disabled by default. https://download.gigabyte.com/FileList/Manual/mb_manual_ga-a320m-h_e.pdf

DDR4-2666 is a JEDEC standard so it's not surprising to see your RAM running at that speed without XMP. But if your RAM has optimized sub timings then you might get a bit more performance for free by enabling XMP. Look around advanced CPU or RAM settings.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2020
Messages
280 (1.56/day)
DDR4-2666 is a JEDEC standard so it's not surprising to see your RAM running at that speed without XMP. But if your RAM has optimized sub timings then you might get a bit more performance for free by enabling XMP. Look around advanced CPU or RAM settings.
where it is meant to be in my bios it is not it is also like it is disabled
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
2,089 (3.84/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name PC alive since Aug 18th 2019
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO Enabled)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro, BIOS F32
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz @3600MHz CL16-18-18-18-36 1T, B-die A0
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB (2019, OS drive) / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD (2015) 860Evo 1TB SSD (2020)
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA 14-bit (16.7M/1.06B colors), 6ms G2G
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W, Logitech G35 headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master (Gen1)
Keyboard Logitech G15 (Gen2)
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (20H2)
This is a bit confusing thread...
The OP can run ThaiphoonBurner software (click Read) and see what type of Ram has.
And ZenTimings software to see the current settings.


 
Top