• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

I think my brand new MSI GTX 480 is faulty

Joined
Jun 22, 2010
Messages
496 (0.18/day)
Likes
45
Location
Portsmouth,UK
Processor Core i7 950 @ 4.025GHz 1.3125V
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Extreme
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory G.SKill PI Silver Edition 6GB Kit 1600MHz 3- Channel (@1403MHz 7-7-7-20)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 480 835 Core/1670 Shader/1900 Memory
Storage Primary: Velociraptor 300GB,Secondary:Caviar Black 500GB,External:WD Elements 500GB ,SG 300GB
Display(s) LG W2261VP 22" full HD LCD @ 1920 x 1080 via HDMI
Case HAF 932 default fan setup + 120mm Akasa Apache + 2 x 120mm Noctua NF-P12 Vortex
Audio Device(s) On Board 7.1
Power Supply Hiper 880W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark Vantage GPU:21754 / CPU:66169 / Total:P26141 3dMark11 P5857
#1
Hi I know this will sound like a totally stupid question,but its the last thing I'll do before sending my card to RMA.I've already requested it anyways,just want to make sure..
OK,so yesterday I've received my brand new shiny MSI GTX 480..guess what..yeah,there must be always something wrong,right?..my issue is,that the card doesnt give any signal to the monitor from DVI port marked 1,but works fine with DVI port marked 2....so here is my mentioned stupid question - by any chance,does it matter from which DVI port do you hook up your monitor?I mean specifically on GTX 480?..yeah I know,logically even if it would matter,it would be port 1 as master..
 
Last edited:

Nickzy

New Member
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
42 (0.02/day)
Likes
7
Location
Denmark
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T
Motherboard MSI 890GXM-G65
Cooling Corsair H50
Memory Kingston HyperX 4gb 1333Mhz CL7
Video Card(s) Saphire 6870
Storage Kingston V+ 64Gb SSD, Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM 1TB, Samsung F1 7200RPM 750GB
Display(s) Samsung "23 P2370 1920x1080
Case Fractal Define R3
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#2
No, i does not matter which of the DVI ports that you connect you're monitor from.

However.
Have you made sure that you've hooked up that 8+6Pin into the card properly?

-
Nickzy
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#3
If you get that "no signal" message on the screen (I can't remember exactly how it was) you better RMA the card.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
1,172 (0.31/day)
Likes
148
Location
UK
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E7200 3.40GHz (400x8.5)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P Rev 1.1
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S1283
Memory 2x Crucial Ballistix DDR2 2GB 4:5 @ 500MHz 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 560Ti 1GB TOP Edition
Storage Crucial M4 128GB SSD + WD Black 500GB WD5001AALS
Display(s) Samsung P2370HD @ 1920x1080 60Hz
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24-bit w/ Creative Inspire T6060 5.1 200W
Power Supply CoolerMaster Silent Pro Gold 600w
Software Windows 7 Professional Edition SP1 64-bit
#4
it should work from either DVI port. if it doesnt, i'd say that is faulty.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
968 (0.32/day)
Likes
172
Location
Slovenia, Europe
System Name Bang4Buck
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5Ghz @ 1.254v
Motherboard ASROCK X99M-EXTREME4
Cooling EKWB Predator 240 1.1
Memory 16gb 2666mhz 14-14-14-34-1T @ 1.28v
Video Card(s) Gainward Phoenix GTX1070 Golden Sample with GLH bios flased
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250Gb / 6Tb Raid -HGST Enterprise/ Samsung Spinpoint F3 1Tb / Seagate Baraccuda 3Tb
Display(s) Samsung UE49KS8002 4K (US - 9 series)
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) HDMI out to Denon reciever
Power Supply Seasonic X-750W (KM3)
Keyboard Logitech K520
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores RealBench 2.43: 164477 http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14858144? http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14857974?
#5
Yeah, RMA it. Its faulty 100%, or at least that DVI port is. If it works on #2, it means the card works, but the #1 DVI port is faulty. Anyways, RMA it.
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2010
Messages
496 (0.18/day)
Likes
45
Location
Portsmouth,UK
Processor Core i7 950 @ 4.025GHz 1.3125V
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Extreme
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory G.SKill PI Silver Edition 6GB Kit 1600MHz 3- Channel (@1403MHz 7-7-7-20)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 480 835 Core/1670 Shader/1900 Memory
Storage Primary: Velociraptor 300GB,Secondary:Caviar Black 500GB,External:WD Elements 500GB ,SG 300GB
Display(s) LG W2261VP 22" full HD LCD @ 1920 x 1080 via HDMI
Case HAF 932 default fan setup + 120mm Akasa Apache + 2 x 120mm Noctua NF-P12 Vortex
Audio Device(s) On Board 7.1
Power Supply Hiper 880W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark Vantage GPU:21754 / CPU:66169 / Total:P26141 3dMark11 P5857
#6
Thanks for reassuring me folks..Isnt it frustrating?Well I was certainly frustrated a lot this morning and before I went to work,I was so pissed off that I've sent an email to the retailer that instead of changing the card I just want a refund and peace..LOL
I dont know why its with me,but (I wont name the retailer) despite a lot of good feedback from other customers,every time I order something expensive from them,it comes with problems..so I just stick to my GTX 470 for now..But read this story,when I ordered my little baby GTX 470...Well I wanted to order a HD 5850 really in that time,cos here in UK it would cost about £250,while a cheapest GTX 470 around £350,,So I've picked a nice Asus HD 5850 and upon placing the order on the retailers website,the stock indicated 10+..so I paid and paid extra for next day,before 12am delivery...Imagine my excitement..I jumped out of bed about 8 am next morning,cos I couldnt sleep I was so waiting for my new baby..prepared everything,you know drivers utilities and so on :D
And I was waiting and waiting and waiting..9am..11am..noon..about 1pm I was allready pissed off my girlfriend was pissed off that Im not going out and wasted my morning..so with furry I've picked up the phone and was ready to kill trough it..You know how long it takes until you get to talk to someone on the helpline.that just elevated my anger.so when I've finally moved in the queue and was connected with the operator after giving him my order info,guess what he told me....Yeah,bingo,item out of stock!!...son of a ....!!I told myself thats enough!!After I asked him kindly(LOL) that why the hell nobody sent me even one bloody email that this is to happen which would save me from a lot of anger and wasted time and lot of other things..I was asked to pick a different card,but they wont be able to refund the cost of the delivery...what???am I hearing right while I've just wasted another fiver on my mobile phone credit???Dude you got the guts Im telling you...I've ordered something you had in stock,but you actually had not,paid extra £15 for quick delivery.wasted half of my day and nerves and you are telling me that you cant refund the delivery cost for something I even did not get????son of a ....!!!Now listen to me carefully dude,you will sort out for me a full refund otherwise I'll kill you over the phone you hear me???...no I did not really say that :D but in the end I managed to get the full refund...Now will you call me a fussy customer after such a shitty experience???
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
968 (0.32/day)
Likes
172
Location
Slovenia, Europe
System Name Bang4Buck
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5Ghz @ 1.254v
Motherboard ASROCK X99M-EXTREME4
Cooling EKWB Predator 240 1.1
Memory 16gb 2666mhz 14-14-14-34-1T @ 1.28v
Video Card(s) Gainward Phoenix GTX1070 Golden Sample with GLH bios flased
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250Gb / 6Tb Raid -HGST Enterprise/ Samsung Spinpoint F3 1Tb / Seagate Baraccuda 3Tb
Display(s) Samsung UE49KS8002 4K (US - 9 series)
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) HDMI out to Denon reciever
Power Supply Seasonic X-750W (KM3)
Keyboard Logitech K520
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores RealBench 2.43: 164477 http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14858144? http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14857974?
#7
Man that sucks. All i can say is, change the retailer. And tell the shitty one why you changed to the other company.
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2010
Messages
496 (0.18/day)
Likes
45
Location
Portsmouth,UK
Processor Core i7 950 @ 4.025GHz 1.3125V
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Extreme
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory G.SKill PI Silver Edition 6GB Kit 1600MHz 3- Channel (@1403MHz 7-7-7-20)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 480 835 Core/1670 Shader/1900 Memory
Storage Primary: Velociraptor 300GB,Secondary:Caviar Black 500GB,External:WD Elements 500GB ,SG 300GB
Display(s) LG W2261VP 22" full HD LCD @ 1920 x 1080 via HDMI
Case HAF 932 default fan setup + 120mm Akasa Apache + 2 x 120mm Noctua NF-P12 Vortex
Audio Device(s) On Board 7.1
Power Supply Hiper 880W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark Vantage GPU:21754 / CPU:66169 / Total:P26141 3dMark11 P5857
#8
Oh You can bet I will Heky
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2008
Messages
1,226 (0.37/day)
Likes
148
Location
The Netherlands
System Name Silent allround
Processor i5 750 @ 3,0Ghz 1.04v / 3.4Ghz 1.11v/ 3,6Ghz 1.15v
Motherboard Gigabyte P55-USB3
Cooling Thermalright IFX-14 + Scythe Slip Stream 140mm @ 600RPM
Memory 2 x 4GB Samsung M378B5273DH0-CH9 @ 2000 MHz 9-10-10-27 T1
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 5870 Vapor-X @ 940/1270
Storage Intel Postville 80GB SSD & Western Digital Green 2TB
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp U2412M
Case Bitfenix Merc Alpha
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2 with Unified Drivers
Power Supply Nexus NX-5000 R3 530W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores Super pi 1M : 8,549s @ 4,7Ghz (Core i7 920)
#9
Joined
Jun 22, 2010
Messages
496 (0.18/day)
Likes
45
Location
Portsmouth,UK
Processor Core i7 950 @ 4.025GHz 1.3125V
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Extreme
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory G.SKill PI Silver Edition 6GB Kit 1600MHz 3- Channel (@1403MHz 7-7-7-20)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 480 835 Core/1670 Shader/1900 Memory
Storage Primary: Velociraptor 300GB,Secondary:Caviar Black 500GB,External:WD Elements 500GB ,SG 300GB
Display(s) LG W2261VP 22" full HD LCD @ 1920 x 1080 via HDMI
Case HAF 932 default fan setup + 120mm Akasa Apache + 2 x 120mm Noctua NF-P12 Vortex
Audio Device(s) On Board 7.1
Power Supply Hiper 880W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark Vantage GPU:21754 / CPU:66169 / Total:P26141 3dMark11 P5857
#10
But lets get back to some serious things,friends...while testing the faulty GTX 480 I had an interesting experience,in the form of not really good results (specifically Mafia 2) in benchmarks..I know that lot of people report that Mafia is a bit choppy ATM,even on the latest drivers(NVIDIA),I had the same results on both cards - GTX 470 and GTX 480 - Rank D,which is bad....now if you check my system specs,what do you think the problem could be in?Obviously I've tried more combinations of the NVIDIA settings,but the rating was still the same on both cards..We may think that after all,its not just the DVI port 1 that is faulty on my GTX 480?Who know what else they f****d up on the production line the day it was "born"...In Unigine Heaven 2.0 the GTX 480 performed well,but I only run it well overclocked..I've tried the card at default settings in Just Cause 2,but I was totally not happy..So do you think there could be something set up wrong in my system?No way my Core i920 currently @ 4GHz,with 6GB of High performance tri-channel RAM and all on a 300GB Velociraptor could be a bottleneck..or??
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2010
Messages
496 (0.18/day)
Likes
45
Location
Portsmouth,UK
Processor Core i7 950 @ 4.025GHz 1.3125V
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Extreme
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory G.SKill PI Silver Edition 6GB Kit 1600MHz 3- Channel (@1403MHz 7-7-7-20)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 480 835 Core/1670 Shader/1900 Memory
Storage Primary: Velociraptor 300GB,Secondary:Caviar Black 500GB,External:WD Elements 500GB ,SG 300GB
Display(s) LG W2261VP 22" full HD LCD @ 1920 x 1080 via HDMI
Case HAF 932 default fan setup + 120mm Akasa Apache + 2 x 120mm Noctua NF-P12 Vortex
Audio Device(s) On Board 7.1
Power Supply Hiper 880W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark Vantage GPU:21754 / CPU:66169 / Total:P26141 3dMark11 P5857
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#12
Yeah name the retailer; who is it? Scan, Overclockers, Ebuyer, Aria, Ginger6,
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2010
Messages
496 (0.18/day)
Likes
45
Location
Portsmouth,UK
Processor Core i7 950 @ 4.025GHz 1.3125V
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Extreme
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory G.SKill PI Silver Edition 6GB Kit 1600MHz 3- Channel (@1403MHz 7-7-7-20)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 480 835 Core/1670 Shader/1900 Memory
Storage Primary: Velociraptor 300GB,Secondary:Caviar Black 500GB,External:WD Elements 500GB ,SG 300GB
Display(s) LG W2261VP 22" full HD LCD @ 1920 x 1080 via HDMI
Case HAF 932 default fan setup + 120mm Akasa Apache + 2 x 120mm Noctua NF-P12 Vortex
Audio Device(s) On Board 7.1
Power Supply Hiper 880W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark Vantage GPU:21754 / CPU:66169 / Total:P26141 3dMark11 P5857
#13
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#14
I have to say that when I bought my GTX480 I had a similar experience; I ordered an Asus, the website showed +10 stock and when entering my details it was out of stock; however they did call me and emailed me and offered me a Palit (the only one left so they said, this was back in April, after the launch) for the same price (funnily enough the Palit was a bit more expensive) it took five days because of a Bank Holiday weekend but I thought it was great customer service. The retailer: Ginger6.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
968 (0.32/day)
Likes
172
Location
Slovenia, Europe
System Name Bang4Buck
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5Ghz @ 1.254v
Motherboard ASROCK X99M-EXTREME4
Cooling EKWB Predator 240 1.1
Memory 16gb 2666mhz 14-14-14-34-1T @ 1.28v
Video Card(s) Gainward Phoenix GTX1070 Golden Sample with GLH bios flased
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250Gb / 6Tb Raid -HGST Enterprise/ Samsung Spinpoint F3 1Tb / Seagate Baraccuda 3Tb
Display(s) Samsung UE49KS8002 4K (US - 9 series)
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) HDMI out to Denon reciever
Power Supply Seasonic X-750W (KM3)
Keyboard Logitech K520
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores RealBench 2.43: 164477 http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14858144? http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14857974?
#15
You know what i would do. Send the GTX480 back and demand a refund. Sell the GTX470, and wait and see what the new ATI 6 series brings to the table.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#16
I haven't had any problems with Overclockers myself but heard some stories; I got my monitor from them.
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2010
Messages
496 (0.18/day)
Likes
45
Location
Portsmouth,UK
Processor Core i7 950 @ 4.025GHz 1.3125V
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Extreme
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory G.SKill PI Silver Edition 6GB Kit 1600MHz 3- Channel (@1403MHz 7-7-7-20)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 480 835 Core/1670 Shader/1900 Memory
Storage Primary: Velociraptor 300GB,Secondary:Caviar Black 500GB,External:WD Elements 500GB ,SG 300GB
Display(s) LG W2261VP 22" full HD LCD @ 1920 x 1080 via HDMI
Case HAF 932 default fan setup + 120mm Akasa Apache + 2 x 120mm Noctua NF-P12 Vortex
Audio Device(s) On Board 7.1
Power Supply Hiper 880W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark Vantage GPU:21754 / CPU:66169 / Total:P26141 3dMark11 P5857
#17
You know what i would do. Send the GTX480 back and demand a refund. Sell the GTX470, and wait and see what the new ATI 6 series brings to the table.
I've got an Asus P6T Deluxe MOBO and as you know it does not have on the board Graphic accelerator,so I need my GTX470 to be there.But just as ATI is working on something new,so is NVDIA and I will be honest with you,If they can at least half - solve the heat issues they currently have on the 470 and 480,I will pick NVIDIA..Had ATI before,ATM I choose green..
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2010
Messages
496 (0.18/day)
Likes
45
Location
Portsmouth,UK
Processor Core i7 950 @ 4.025GHz 1.3125V
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Extreme
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory G.SKill PI Silver Edition 6GB Kit 1600MHz 3- Channel (@1403MHz 7-7-7-20)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 480 835 Core/1670 Shader/1900 Memory
Storage Primary: Velociraptor 300GB,Secondary:Caviar Black 500GB,External:WD Elements 500GB ,SG 300GB
Display(s) LG W2261VP 22" full HD LCD @ 1920 x 1080 via HDMI
Case HAF 932 default fan setup + 120mm Akasa Apache + 2 x 120mm Noctua NF-P12 Vortex
Audio Device(s) On Board 7.1
Power Supply Hiper 880W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark Vantage GPU:21754 / CPU:66169 / Total:P26141 3dMark11 P5857
#18
I have to say that when I bought my GTX480 I had a similar experience; I ordered an Asus, the website showed +10 stock and when entering my details it was out of stock; however they did call me and emailed me and offered me a Palit (the only one left so they said, this was back in April, after the launch) for the same price (funnily enough the Palit was a bit more expensive) it took five days because of a Bank Holiday weekend but I thought it was great customer service. The retailer: Ginger6.
Hey is your GTX 480 performing well?
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2010
Messages
496 (0.18/day)
Likes
45
Location
Portsmouth,UK
Processor Core i7 950 @ 4.025GHz 1.3125V
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Extreme
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory G.SKill PI Silver Edition 6GB Kit 1600MHz 3- Channel (@1403MHz 7-7-7-20)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 480 835 Core/1670 Shader/1900 Memory
Storage Primary: Velociraptor 300GB,Secondary:Caviar Black 500GB,External:WD Elements 500GB ,SG 300GB
Display(s) LG W2261VP 22" full HD LCD @ 1920 x 1080 via HDMI
Case HAF 932 default fan setup + 120mm Akasa Apache + 2 x 120mm Noctua NF-P12 Vortex
Audio Device(s) On Board 7.1
Power Supply Hiper 880W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark Vantage GPU:21754 / CPU:66169 / Total:P26141 3dMark11 P5857
#19
I haven't had any problems with Overclockers myself but heard some stories; I got my monitor from them.
The UK web retailer with the most fantastic customer service and smooth action is NOVATECH..Most sadly recently they can really keep up with the prices...Cheapest GTX480 at overclockers is about £350,at novatech its nearly £390..with weak selection
 

lism

New Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2007
Messages
138 (0.04/day)
Likes
10
#20
How can a DVI port be faulty?

Anyone considered that there are 2 types of DVI signals which some TFT screens cannot handle?
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2010
Messages
496 (0.18/day)
Likes
45
Location
Portsmouth,UK
Processor Core i7 950 @ 4.025GHz 1.3125V
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Extreme
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory G.SKill PI Silver Edition 6GB Kit 1600MHz 3- Channel (@1403MHz 7-7-7-20)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 480 835 Core/1670 Shader/1900 Memory
Storage Primary: Velociraptor 300GB,Secondary:Caviar Black 500GB,External:WD Elements 500GB ,SG 300GB
Display(s) LG W2261VP 22" full HD LCD @ 1920 x 1080 via HDMI
Case HAF 932 default fan setup + 120mm Akasa Apache + 2 x 120mm Noctua NF-P12 Vortex
Audio Device(s) On Board 7.1
Power Supply Hiper 880W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark Vantage GPU:21754 / CPU:66169 / Total:P26141 3dMark11 P5857
#21
How can a DVI port be faulty?

Anyone considered that there are 2 types of DVI signals which some TFT screens cannot handle?
one simple example is bad contacts of the port to the PCB
I've personally never heard of such a thing,Im not that good.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#22
Joined
Jun 22, 2010
Messages
496 (0.18/day)
Likes
45
Location
Portsmouth,UK
Processor Core i7 950 @ 4.025GHz 1.3125V
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Extreme
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory G.SKill PI Silver Edition 6GB Kit 1600MHz 3- Channel (@1403MHz 7-7-7-20)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 480 835 Core/1670 Shader/1900 Memory
Storage Primary: Velociraptor 300GB,Secondary:Caviar Black 500GB,External:WD Elements 500GB ,SG 300GB
Display(s) LG W2261VP 22" full HD LCD @ 1920 x 1080 via HDMI
Case HAF 932 default fan setup + 120mm Akasa Apache + 2 x 120mm Noctua NF-P12 Vortex
Audio Device(s) On Board 7.1
Power Supply Hiper 880W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark Vantage GPU:21754 / CPU:66169 / Total:P26141 3dMark11 P5857
#23
Really well. It does 840mhz on stock voltage and it's not as noisy as they said when it was launched. I'm third here! :D http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=110050
Can you run the Mafia 2 benchmark for us to compare?
...and well done
so How he heck is possible that I was getting rank D in Mafia 2 (GTX480)....and my GTX470 is overclocked to the values of the GTX 480 and Im getting D with it too...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
968 (0.32/day)
Likes
172
Location
Slovenia, Europe
System Name Bang4Buck
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5Ghz @ 1.254v
Motherboard ASROCK X99M-EXTREME4
Cooling EKWB Predator 240 1.1
Memory 16gb 2666mhz 14-14-14-34-1T @ 1.28v
Video Card(s) Gainward Phoenix GTX1070 Golden Sample with GLH bios flased
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250Gb / 6Tb Raid -HGST Enterprise/ Samsung Spinpoint F3 1Tb / Seagate Baraccuda 3Tb
Display(s) Samsung UE49KS8002 4K (US - 9 series)
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) HDMI out to Denon reciever
Power Supply Seasonic X-750W (KM3)
Keyboard Logitech K520
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores RealBench 2.43: 164477 http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14858144? http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14857974?
#24
How can a DVI port be faulty?

Anyone considered that there are 2 types of DVI signals which some TFT screens cannot handle?
Oh really, can you name that 2 types of signal? You cant, becouse there are not 2 types of signal. Some are dual-link and some are not. But these are not 2 different types.
 

lism

New Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2007
Messages
138 (0.04/day)
Likes
10
#25
DVI-A, DVI-B, DVI-C,

Believe it or not but i had to connect my Acer 20Inch TFT using a analog cable / DVI > D-Sub converter to get some image in Dos, and enable DVI up in Windows. So yes there's a difference in types of signals even tho the connector is the same.

I dont think these cards go out untested on the DVI port.