• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

I5 750 overclocked+hd 7950+hyper 212 evo

Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Messages
36 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
Location
Greece
Processor Intel Core i5 750 @ OC 4ghz
Motherboard ASUS P7P55D
Cooling CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 8GB Dual 1333Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 280x Toxic 3gb
Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB, Seagate Barracuda 500GB
Case CoolerMaster CM690 II
Power Supply XFX XTR 750W
#1
Hello!

System Specs:
550W PSU
ASUS P7P55D Motherboard
Intel Core I5 750 2.67Ghz (Overclocked To 3.6Ghz)
Sapphire Radeon HD7950 3GB
Kingston 4Gb RAM 1333Mhz

I recently bought CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Evo Cooler, and finally overclocked my cpu from 2.67 to 3.6 Ghz. Performance got better, My 3D Mark 11 score now is P7314 instead of P6653 that it was before overclocking. Idle Temp 35C, and with full load (prime 95, all tests) maximum 75C.(Is it around normal temperatures? I hope so)

At first, Thanx for all people in here to help me choosing this cooler and also help me with some overclock settings.. :) I just have some questions. Fan rpm goes from 460 to 1500,(I use motherboards' asus program for rpm calibration). I think that according to this cooler's specs it should be around 600 to 2000rpm. I know that it may have +-10% difference as coolermaster says, but shouldn't i have more rpm?

With these overclock settings(3.6Ghz) Everything seems ok. I just want to ask if i have some rpm problem, and if i can go up to at least 1800rpm so that i can go to 4Ghz with my cpu(some people have done this and didnt have any problem) without reaching high temperatures, cause when i overclock it to 4Ghz, cpu temps go up to 80C in full load..(prime 95)..

Is maximum 75C in full stress ok for cpu,(with my current settings)?
Is There any problem with hardware that cause maximum only 1500rpm? Is there any way to change it in any way and go up to 4ghz?( I think 80C is too much..)

Thanks In Advance ;)
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,633 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,358
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#2
Temperature is fine. If you want full fan speed on the CPU, you need to go into the bios, usually under PC health, and set the fan speed there, otherwise try the ASUS software for windows to tweak the fan speed.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Messages
36 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
Location
Greece
Processor Intel Core i5 750 @ OC 4ghz
Motherboard ASUS P7P55D
Cooling CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 8GB Dual 1333Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 280x Toxic 3gb
Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB, Seagate Barracuda 500GB
Case CoolerMaster CM690 II
Power Supply XFX XTR 750W
#3
Thank u!

If 75C cpu temperature in full load is ok for my cpu, i am pretty happy with the performance.

Does anyone have the same cooler? Or maybe a similar cpu, too? I just want to know if it can go more than 1500rpm because as coolermaster says maximum is at around 2000rpm(i think that 1800 would be ok). With asus software i have i can adjust fan rpm according to temperature from 20 to 100% but i can change min or max rpm(with calibration min is 460 and max 1500..). I didnt find any tweaking fan speed software until now.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
497 (0.20/day)
Likes
114
#4
What are your OC settings? Could push for to that 4Ghz with a little tinkering since the first generation i5s were mostly pretty good overclockers with little voltage adjustment
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
752 (0.28/day)
Likes
152
Processor Intel Core i7-4790K
Motherboard Intel Board DZ87KLT-75K
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX {F3-2400C11D-16GXM x 2 [32GB]}
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce GTX 970
Storage Samsung EVO 250GB mSATA SSD + Seagate 3TB HDD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2718Q
Case In Win F430
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 660
Mouse Dell KM714 Wireless
Keyboard Dell KM714 Wireless
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#5
You've got a good Processor, i used to have i5-760 the processor was a chump i miss it a lot tho I never got to over clock it, i never found a need to overclock, i do lots of video encoding, photo editing and sound editing mixing and mastering, and also a heavy gamer when not working, the i5-760 never let me down. I think the i5-750 & i5-760 were meant to be i7 Processors, only deference is they dint have hyper threading but they have everything else like L3 Cache 8MB just like the i7 first gens
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Messages
36 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
Location
Greece
Processor Intel Core i5 750 @ OC 4ghz
Motherboard ASUS P7P55D
Cooling CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 8GB Dual 1333Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 280x Toxic 3gb
Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB, Seagate Barracuda 500GB
Case CoolerMaster CM690 II
Power Supply XFX XTR 750W
#6
What are your OC settings? Could push for to that 4Ghz with a little tinkering since the first generation i5s were mostly pretty good overclockers with little voltage adjustment
Now Settings are: 180 block X 20 for cpu, and dram frequency 1440Mhz.As a result i have 3.6Gzhz and fine temperatures.

I can easily go to 4Ghz changing blck to 200, and system works fine, but with max 1500rpm in full cpu stress, temps go up to 80 C. I expected more max rpm, i dont know if it is ok or if i have some hardware or other problem. If it is normal, i can live with 3.6Ghz.. If something is wrong, i would want to have more rpm so as to go to 4Ghz.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,633 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,358
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#7
Thank u!

If 75C cpu temperature in full load is ok for my cpu, i am pretty happy with the performance.

Does anyone have the same cooler? Or maybe a similar cpu, too? I just want to know if it can go more than 1500rpm because as coolermaster says maximum is at around 2000rpm(i think that 1800 would be ok). With asus software i have i can adjust fan rpm according to temperature from 20 to 100% but i can change min or max rpm(with calibration min is 460 and max 1500..). I didnt find any tweaking fan speed software until now.
Lower the 100% temperature to lower than 75*C that way when you load to the max the cooler is spinning full RPM.
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
752 (0.28/day)
Likes
152
Processor Intel Core i7-4790K
Motherboard Intel Board DZ87KLT-75K
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX {F3-2400C11D-16GXM x 2 [32GB]}
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce GTX 970
Storage Samsung EVO 250GB mSATA SSD + Seagate 3TB HDD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2718Q
Case In Win F430
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 660
Mouse Dell KM714 Wireless
Keyboard Dell KM714 Wireless
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#8
Now Settings are: 180 block X 20 for cpu, and dram frequency 1440Mhz.As a result i have 3.6Gzhz and fine temperatures.

I can easily go to 4Ghz changing blck to 200, and system works fine, but with max 1500rpm in full cpu stress, temps go up to 80 C. I expected more max rpm, i dont know if it is ok or if i have some hardware or other problem. If it is normal, i can live with 3.6Ghz.. If something is wrong, i would want to have more rpm so as to go to 4Ghz.
Maybe you would sleep well at night if you got a liquid cooling system for the CPU, just maybe. i think your current cooler is just fine.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
497 (0.20/day)
Likes
114
#9
Now Settings are: 180 block X 20 for cpu, and dram frequency 1440Mhz.As a result i have 3.6Gzhz and fine temperatures.

I can easily go to 4Ghz changing blck to 200, and system works fine, but with max 1500rpm in full cpu stress, temps go up to 80 C. I expected more max rpm, i dont know if it is ok or if i have some hardware or other problem. If it is normal, i can live with 3.6Ghz.. If something is wrong, i would want to have more rpm so as to go to 4Ghz.
Have you done anything with the cpu voltage or just left it on auto?
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Messages
36 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
Location
Greece
Processor Intel Core i5 750 @ OC 4ghz
Motherboard ASUS P7P55D
Cooling CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 8GB Dual 1333Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 280x Toxic 3gb
Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB, Seagate Barracuda 500GB
Case CoolerMaster CM690 II
Power Supply XFX XTR 750W
#10
You've got a good Processor, i used to have i5-760 the processor was a chump i miss it a lot tho I never got to over clock it, i never found a need to overclock, i do lots of video encoding, photo editing and sound editing mixing and mastering, and also a heavy gamer when not working, the i5-760 never let me down. I think the i5-750 & i5-760 were meant to be i7 Processors, only deference is they dint have hyper threading but they have everything else like L3 Cache 8MB just like the i7 first gens
Totally agree..those cpus are little monsters! I have it almost 2 and a half years and this overclock i made wasnt really necessary..(the thing that it was for sure necessary was the cooler..i almost fried my cpu with stock cooler when temperature went up to 98C!! with prime95). but i think u can understand me , i did it just to see my pc ran faster , and see some more fps in games..(i am heavy gamer like u when i dont work! ;) )
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Messages
36 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
Location
Greece
Processor Intel Core i5 750 @ OC 4ghz
Motherboard ASUS P7P55D
Cooling CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 8GB Dual 1333Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 280x Toxic 3gb
Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB, Seagate Barracuda 500GB
Case CoolerMaster CM690 II
Power Supply XFX XTR 750W
#11
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Messages
36 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
Location
Greece
Processor Intel Core i5 750 @ OC 4ghz
Motherboard ASUS P7P55D
Cooling CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 8GB Dual 1333Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 280x Toxic 3gb
Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB, Seagate Barracuda 500GB
Case CoolerMaster CM690 II
Power Supply XFX XTR 750W
#13
usually the auto function raises the voltage way too high resulting in a quite alot of heat. Open cpu and see how high the cpu voltage jump when you got prime working with small ffts
1.2320v
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
497 (0.20/day)
Likes
114
#14
Well I guess thats about right, you could try lowering the voltage to 1.22-1.20 or even lower and see if its prime stable. It will shave off a few degrees but if youre not conforatable adjusting voltages i'd just leave it at that. Its pretty much perfect what youre able to do with that cooler.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2011
Messages
61 (0.03/day)
Likes
10
Location
Santiago de Cali - Colombia
System Name Little Dragon
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 945 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asus M4A79XTD EVO
Cooling Stock Cooling
Memory Supertalent 4GB (2*2GB) 8-8-8-24 @1600MHz
Video Card(s) X.F.X. AMD Radeon HD 5750 (@845/1375 MHz)
Storage Seagate Barracuda 500GB 7200.12 SATA II
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 633NW 15"
Case Thermaltake WingRS 301
Audio Device(s) Integrated in Mobo
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 430 Watts
Software Windows 7 Ultimate - 64 Bits
#15
That voltage it's ok, try puting IMC Voltage on 1.1, the PHC on 1.0875 (usually 1.05 works but if you can't achieve stability with 1.05 try that), and use the voltage your RAM it's made for; you have an overclocked RAM, this also increases the heat, lower your RAM Multiplier (getting lower ram speed, don't worry it's unnoticeable unless you encode a lot of video) and then try at stock voltage (usually 1.5v).
Try that, these setting were by these guys and worked like a champ: Maximum PC - Overclock a Core i5-760 to 4GHz The model it's and i5-760 but should work for you.
 
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
2,516 (0.91/day)
Likes
680
Location
Canada
System Name m1dg3t | DeathBox | HairPi 3
Processor 3570k @ 4.0 1.15v BIOS | q9550 @ 3.77 1.325v BIOS
Motherboard Asrock z77e iTX | p5q Dlx 2301 BIOS
Cooling Custom Water | D-14 & HR-03gt | Passive HSF
Memory Samsung MV-3V4G3D 4g x 2 @ 1866 1.35v | OcZ RpR 2g x 4 @ 1067 2.2v
Video Card(s) MSi 7950 tf3 @1000 / 1350 | Asus 5870 V2 @ 900 / 1275
Storage Adata sx900 256Gb / WD 2500 HHTZ | WD 1001 FALS x 2
Display(s) BenQ gw2750hm | 46" Sharp Quatron
Case BitFenix Prodigy - m0dd3d | Antec Fusion Remote MAX
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink > Yamaha HTR 6290 | Xonar HDAV1.3 > Yamaha DSP z7
Power Supply Ocz mXp700w | Ocz zx850w | Cannakit 5v 2.5a
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G9x - Cable Repaired
Keyboard TT Meka G1 - Black w Cherry Blacks| Logitech G11
Software Win7 Home | Xp sp3 & Vista ultimate | Raspbian
Benchmark Scores Epeen!! Who needs epeen??
#16
Do those Asus board's still have the Turbo fan profile option in BIOS?
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Messages
36 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
Location
Greece
Processor Intel Core i5 750 @ OC 4ghz
Motherboard ASUS P7P55D
Cooling CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 8GB Dual 1333Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 280x Toxic 3gb
Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB, Seagate Barracuda 500GB
Case CoolerMaster CM690 II
Power Supply XFX XTR 750W
#17
That voltage it's ok, try puting IMC Voltage on 1.1, the PHC on 1.0875 (usually 1.05 works but if you can't achieve stability with 1.05 try that), and use the voltage your RAM it's made for; you have an overclocked RAM, this also increases the heat, lower your RAM Multiplier (getting lower ram speed, don't worry it's unnoticeable unless you encode a lot of video) and then try at stock voltage (usually 1.5v).
Try that, these setting were by these guys and worked like a champ: Maximum PC - Overclock a Core i5-760 to 4GHz The model it's and i5-760 but should work for you.
Thank you for the info!

That helped me. I did the tweak voltages mentioned above and achived to o/c it to 4ghz(with 1.25 cpu voltage) and maximum degrees with prime95 79C and average about 76C.
I then tried to lower the cpu voltage(still for 4ghz) to see if i would have lower temps and it worked.i put it to 1.23v and i now have 3-4 degrees less in full stress.And it seems stable(for now at least).
With lower voltage i have the same performance with lower temperatures but I just want to ask if lower voltage affects anything else there and i will have some problem later.
Can I sleep well at night with these settings?? :twitch:
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Messages
36 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
Location
Greece
Processor Intel Core i5 750 @ OC 4ghz
Motherboard ASUS P7P55D
Cooling CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 8GB Dual 1333Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 280x Toxic 3gb
Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB, Seagate Barracuda 500GB
Case CoolerMaster CM690 II
Power Supply XFX XTR 750W
#18
Do those Asus board's still have the Turbo fan profile option in BIOS?
It has fan profiles in bios and windows,too.Turbo fan profile,silent etc.Maximum rpm with this calibration 1500rpm.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
2,076 (0.69/day)
Likes
379
System Name Omen
Processor i7-4710HQ
Cooling Dual fan/heatpipe
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) 4GB GTX 860M
Storage 256GB PCIE SSD/256GB PNY UHS-1 SD Card
Display(s) 15.6' 1080P
Case Aluminium
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Brick
Software Win 10
#19
Hello!

System Specs:
550W PSU
ASUS P7P55D Motherboard
Intel Core I5 750 2.67Ghz (Overclocked To 3.6Ghz)
Sapphire Radeon HD7950 3GB
Kingston 4Gb RAM 1333Mhz
Temps seem fine IMO, try speed up the fan as everyone is saying.

I wanted to say but, you might want to upgrade that PSU , especially if you plan on hitting 4GHZ. What brand is it atleast?
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
497 (0.20/day)
Likes
114
#20
Temps seem fine IMO, try speed up the fan as everyone is saying.

I wanted to say but, you might want to upgrade that PSU , especially if you plan on hitting 4GHZ. What brand is it atleast?
He already hit 4G and says that its stable. You might want to give intel burn test a try aswell with stress level max and 32 threads

edit:
With lower voltage i have the same performance with lower temperatures but I just want to ask if lower voltage affects anything else there and i will have some problem later.
Can I sleep well at night with these settings?? :twitch:
With higher voltage, you get more heat thus the chip decrades faster. Lowering voltage will increase the lifespan but it will still decrade and you'll start having instability. Then you give the a voltages a little nudge and youre set for another few years.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Messages
36 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
Location
Greece
Processor Intel Core i5 750 @ OC 4ghz
Motherboard ASUS P7P55D
Cooling CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 8GB Dual 1333Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 280x Toxic 3gb
Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB, Seagate Barracuda 500GB
Case CoolerMaster CM690 II
Power Supply XFX XTR 750W
#21
After half an hour of using my system, it crashed with blue screen. i now changed ram volt from 1.36(maybe problem caused by this?) to 1.5(default i think) and cpu volt from 1.23 to 1.24 i'm using my system and i wait to see if it stable or not. (the best scenario would be to keep 1.23 cpu volt for lower temps and ram to 1.5v)


** edit: Crashed again after half an hour both 1.24 and 1.25 cpu volt, so i finally changed settings to cpu 3.8Ghz, 1.25v, auto or 1.5v in ram. It seems to be stable until now.i hope it stays there, performance is great and max cpu temp 75c on full stress.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
2,516 (0.91/day)
Likes
680
Location
Canada
System Name m1dg3t | DeathBox | HairPi 3
Processor 3570k @ 4.0 1.15v BIOS | q9550 @ 3.77 1.325v BIOS
Motherboard Asrock z77e iTX | p5q Dlx 2301 BIOS
Cooling Custom Water | D-14 & HR-03gt | Passive HSF
Memory Samsung MV-3V4G3D 4g x 2 @ 1866 1.35v | OcZ RpR 2g x 4 @ 1067 2.2v
Video Card(s) MSi 7950 tf3 @1000 / 1350 | Asus 5870 V2 @ 900 / 1275
Storage Adata sx900 256Gb / WD 2500 HHTZ | WD 1001 FALS x 2
Display(s) BenQ gw2750hm | 46" Sharp Quatron
Case BitFenix Prodigy - m0dd3d | Antec Fusion Remote MAX
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink > Yamaha HTR 6290 | Xonar HDAV1.3 > Yamaha DSP z7
Power Supply Ocz mXp700w | Ocz zx850w | Cannakit 5v 2.5a
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G9x - Cable Repaired
Keyboard TT Meka G1 - Black w Cherry Blacks| Logitech G11
Software Win7 Home | Xp sp3 & Vista ultimate | Raspbian
Benchmark Scores Epeen!! Who needs epeen??
#22
It has fan profiles in bios and windows,too.Turbo fan profile,silent etc.Maximum rpm with this calibration 1500rpm.
Have you tried disabling it so it gives full 12v? What are you using for speed refference? Asus probe is glitchy from my experiences :eek:
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Messages
36 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
Location
Greece
Processor Intel Core i5 750 @ OC 4ghz
Motherboard ASUS P7P55D
Cooling CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 8GB Dual 1333Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 280x Toxic 3gb
Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB, Seagate Barracuda 500GB
Case CoolerMaster CM690 II
Power Supply XFX XTR 750W
#23
Have you tried disabling it so it gives full 12v? What are you using for speed refference? Asus probe is glitchy from my experiences :eek:
i disabled it..stil full rpm is 1534. anyway i use asus ai suite for cpu temp and fan rpm calibration. I have pc probe , it seems to read rpm fine. do you know any other software to calibrate or change fan's rpm? I may not need it cause with 3.8ghz and current settings temps i think are ok.(35 idle, 75max full stress)
 
Last edited: