• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Insanely rare issue, unsmooth frames on high & decent FPS.

racksfnbr

New Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2020
Messages
5 (0.10/day)
Hello,

To start with I always had this issue, even when I had a 60hz.

My game doesn't always feel smooth, which isn't really a big deal. Its somehow still playable, but anytime I go below 144 fps my game is literally unplayable, unresponsive, choppy, it feels like 60hz pretty much even though im on like 120 fps.

I had 3 different PC's, multiple monitors etc. Got my new PC with an i9 2080 a few weeks ago, still got it. So I thought it could be my power, so a guy recommended me to do a mousetest, turned out I got a very bad score, is this true and what can I do to get my problem fixed?

I mainly play Fortnite competitively and it makes my experience unenjoyable. Got it in every game.
Check the .png attached in this post for the result.

Kind regards,
 

Attachments

racksfnbr

New Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2020
Messages
5 (0.10/day)
How about you give us some information about your system (fill out system specs, please)... a mouse ping chart doesn't seem helpful in this case.
1597419525387.png


Got this insane system a few weeks ago, can promise it aint the PC. I had 3 pcs in the past 2 years, all same issue.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2020
Messages
117 (1.98/day)
Location
::1
why does your 2080S only have 4gb
that seems to be your issue, might be something else flashed to pretend to be one
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
18,516 (4.72/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
why does your 2080S only have 4gb
that seems to be your issue, might be something else flashed to pretend to be one
That may be whatever software he used to post that reporting it incorrectly.

Confirm with GPUz.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2020
Messages
260 (0.97/day)
Location
Maryland, USA
Processor Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling CPU: bequiet! Dark Rock 4. Case fans: 2x bequiet Silent Wings 3 140s, 2x Silent Wings 3 120s
Memory 2 x 8 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000 C15
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 5700 XT
Storage 500 GB Samsung 860 Evo, 1 TB WD Blue 3D M.2, 1 TB Inland Professional
Display(s) MSI Optix MAG271CQR 1440p 144Hz, MSI Optix MAG241C 1080p 144Hz
Case Fractal Design Meshify C Black
Audio Device(s) Philips SHP9500 + V-Moda BoomPro
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 80+ Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Mamba Wireless
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Pro S - Cherry MX Browns
why does your 2080S only have 4gb
that seems to be your issue, might be something else flashed to pretend to be one
Could be speccy not reporting the correct specs (lol), have seen other instances of that before

That may be whatever software he used to post that reporting it incorrectly.

Confirm with GPUz.
Damn, beat me to it!
 

racksfnbr

New Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2020
Messages
5 (0.10/day)
Could be speccy not reporting the correct specs (lol), have seen other instances of that before


Damn, beat me to it!
Yeah its a bug, it has nothing to do with my PC. I had this with multiple PCs.
pc1; 1060, i7 7700, 16gb
pc2; 1080 ti 11gb, i7 7700k, 16gb
pc3; 2080s, i9 9900k, 32gb ram

It has to do with my power im 99.9% sure, but I got no info/experience on it this house is 65 years old.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
18,516 (4.72/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
It has to do with my power im 99.9% sure, but I got no info/experience on it this house is 65 years old.
I highly doubt it is power. If it was, it wouldn't work at the higher FPS either. That makes no sense.

But if you think it is power, get a UPS and see if it helps.

Do you have vsync enabled of any kind? Feels like we are shooting blind here. What other testing have you done?
 

racksfnbr

New Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2020
Messages
5 (0.10/day)
I highly doubt it is power. If it was, it wouldn't work at the higher FPS either. That makes no sense.

But if you think it is power, get a UPS and see if it helps.

Do you have vsync enabled of any kind? Feels like we are shooting blind here. What other testing have you done?
I've tried pretty much anything in my hands that is possible. Different devices, etc etc. Reinstalled everything 23902390x.
My frames are high but unsmooth, I play with GSync only, no vsync.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2020
Messages
260 (0.97/day)
Location
Maryland, USA
Processor Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling CPU: bequiet! Dark Rock 4. Case fans: 2x bequiet Silent Wings 3 140s, 2x Silent Wings 3 120s
Memory 2 x 8 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000 C15
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 5700 XT
Storage 500 GB Samsung 860 Evo, 1 TB WD Blue 3D M.2, 1 TB Inland Professional
Display(s) MSI Optix MAG271CQR 1440p 144Hz, MSI Optix MAG241C 1080p 144Hz
Case Fractal Design Meshify C Black
Audio Device(s) Philips SHP9500 + V-Moda BoomPro
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 80+ Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Mamba Wireless
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Pro S - Cherry MX Browns
What PSU do you have? Wasn't listed in the speccy report and if you think the issue is power related (although unlikely that may be as EarthDog said), knowing what PSU you have would probably help
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
18,516 (4.72/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
I've tried pretty much anything in my hands that is possible. Different devices, etc etc. Reinstalled everything 23902390x.
My frames are high but unsmooth, I play with GSync only, no vsync.
Did you disable Gsync and see if it stops?

Have you tried logging in GPUz to check frame times? Maybe chart them when it is working, then bork it and see what happens to your system?
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,053 (8.30/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) RX 5700 XT
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Yamaha AG03, Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro, ModMic
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse PCMR Model O
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Tournament Ed.
Software Windows 10 Enterprise

phill

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
8,151 (2.39/day)
Location
Somerset, UK
System Name Not so complete or overkill
Processor Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair 8 Hero (Non Wi-Fi)
Cooling Air :(
Memory Patriot 3200MHz 64GB
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Storage 1 250GB Crucial SSD for OS/Programs, 2 500GB Crucial SSD for Steam and Epic stores
Display(s) 3 x 23" LG IPS panels (can't remember model!!)
Case 10mm thick MDF on plastic risers.. It's kinda a case??
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA P2 1200w
Mouse Corsair thingy
Keyboard Logitec K120......
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores I've actually never benched it!! Too busy with WCG and FAH and not gaming!! :( :(
Have you tried running something like Heaven benchmark, 3D Mark at all?

Checked your version of GPU driver? Same goes for motherboard and all the rest...

Also try running MSI afterburner without touching any of the settings and post up the graph chart you have (it's under neath the main window. Run a test and see what your card hits for temps and core/memory clock and then we can compare with others and see what you are getting and if there's a big difference or any at all, to what you should be getting? Maybe if you have a spare SSD, a quick reinstall of Windows and a few tests from there might be a good route to take...
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2020
Messages
112 (0.72/day)
Ask the electric company to come test your lines going into the house. I seen a post somewhere on here or some place else the persons in line to the house was at 190 volts instead of the 240 volts it was suppose to be. If the in line to the house is too low you won't get the right wattage threw out the houses sockets. If this house is As old as the one I'm in currently I take it the plugs are only two prong with no ground.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2005
Messages
110 (0.02/day)
What about your Windows 10 config for gaming?
Did you disable that Xbox thing?
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2018
Messages
178 (0.22/day)
Location
Australia
Perhaps "DPC Latency Checker" or "LatencyMon" might show something?
 
Top