• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Intel Core i7-3970X Extreme Arrives in Q4

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#51
Why all the talk about 8 cores and 12 cores? I mean Intel can kick ass with fewer cores than AMD right now and really how many games or even programs out there need any more than 4 cores? This is just Intel making AMD look weak and they are.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,121 (1.39/day)
Likes
892
Processor Ci7 5960X
Motherboard RVE
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS 840 with D5
Memory Some random DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 960 EVO
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Dimastech Bench EasyXL
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Software Win10
#52
Vray renderer for example, it can take up to 64 cores on a single machine. :toast:
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#53
Why all the talk about 8 cores and 12 cores? I mean Intel can kick ass with fewer cores than AMD right now and really how many games or even programs out there need any more than 4 cores? This is just Intel making AMD look weak and they are.
Yes, Intel executives meet up once a week at a roundtable to discuss "how to make AMD look weaker". Yes, that is how Intel spend their revenue.
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2012
Messages
1,027 (0.51/day)
Likes
121
Location
Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
System Name Oldtimer(Always Crunching)
Processor Intel P4 631 @ 3.2 GHz [Stock 3.0 GHz]
Motherboard Intel D945GCPE
Memory 512 MB x2 DDR2 (533MHZ and 366 MHZ)
Storage 160GB Sata1 7200rpm
Display(s) ViewSonic VA703m
Power Supply Normal 450W PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32bit
#54
Well AMD is smart that they do not make vert expensive cpu which will not sell
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,121 (1.39/day)
Likes
892
Processor Ci7 5960X
Motherboard RVE
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS 840 with D5
Memory Some random DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 960 EVO
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Dimastech Bench EasyXL
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Software Win10
#55
Or they are not selling CPUs at insane price points because they don't have any that will compete with current Intel X lineup?

I remember a time when both AMD and Intel had 850$+ CPUs on the market.
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#56
Or they are not selling CPUs at insane price points because they don't have any that will compete with current Intel X lineup?

I remember a time when both AMD and Intel had 850$+ CPUs on the market.
I would have to agree with this. AMD just doesn't have a CPU that can compete CORE FOR CORE that is. :shadedshu
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,627 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#57
I would have to agree with this. AMD just doesn't have a CPU that can compete CORE FOR CORE that is. :shadedshu
Ya. Following the trend of bulldozer... Amd would be making a 24 core desktop processor to compete at that price point
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#58
Ya. Following the trend of bulldozer... Amd would be making a 24 core desktop processor to compete at that price point
No AMD would need a 24 core CPU just to keep up with the 4 and 6 core offerings of Intel. :roll:
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,627 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#59
No AMD would need a 24 core CPU just to keep up with the 4 and 6 core offerings of Intel. :roll:
When I read my post, and then your post, they say the same thing to me. So we agree amd would need 24 core cpu to keep up with intel's high end
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
3,788 (0.96/day)
Likes
671
Location
Pompano beach, Florida
System Name HAL
Processor Core i7 4770k @ 4.6 ghz.
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Hero
Cooling H80i Closed loop liquid cooling.
Memory 4x 4 (16) GB Corsair Vengeance ddr3 2133 @ 2200
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FTW
Storage 256 GB Ocz V4 SSD "Thank you Kreij (Dean)" + 2x 1TB drives.
Display(s) 50" Samsung, UHD, 4k, 60hz.
Case Corsair Carbide MId tower
Audio Device(s) LG system through optical 5.1
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX850M
Software Microsoft Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Haven (3720), Cinebench (932)
#61
lol waste of time and money imo.. Only a handful of eliteists will buy these.
 

T4C Fantasy

CPU & GPU DB Maintainer
Joined
May 7, 2012
Messages
1,233 (0.60/day)
Likes
608
Location
Rhode Island
System Name Phantom 820 v3.1
Processor Intel Core i7-6700k @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Formula OC (Bios: 7.40)
Cooling Corsair H115i
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum 16GB DDR4 3000MHz
Video Card(s) ZOTAC GTX 1070 AMP! / EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
Storage 512GB Crucial MX300 / 256GB OCZ Vertex 4 / 1TB Hitachi HDD
Display(s) 25" ASUS VX248 / 24'' LG DM2350D / 24" LG 24UD58-B 4K
Case NZXT Phantom 820 Ultra+ Tower
Audio Device(s) Logitech G933 Headset
Power Supply SeaSonic Platinum 1050W Snow
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software Windows 10 Pro Build 1703 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Folding PPD: 45,000~ / WCG PPD: 50,000~ (OLD) with HD 7970
#63
Use P4 for a year and then upgrade it to the 2600 you will see improvements:D
i moved from a Pentium 4 HT 3.2GHz 478 pin, to a 3770K, i used the P4 from 2004-2011, i notice a differance, but not as much as an ssd does over an hdd
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,627 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#64
i moved from a Pentium 4 HT 3.2GHz 478 pin, to a 3770K, i used the P4 from 2004-2011, i notice a differance, but not as much as an ssd does over an hdd
I moved from a pentium p3 I had since I was a kid to a amd anthlon dual core 2.3ghz thing. I noticed a huge difference and that was with vista installed too, compared to xp. Everything else was also newer, like a sata hdd compared to ide. When I then moved to my 2500k I noticed a difference. When I overclocked it to 4.5ghz... eh little difference in desktop stuff but big in games and encoding. My i3-2150 in my laptop seems so slow and I know its the processor not the hdd. That is just desktop stuff.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2011
Messages
1,240 (0.50/day)
Likes
503
#65
i moved from a Pentium 4 HT 3.2GHz 478 pin, to a 3770K, i used the P4 from 2004-2011, i notice a differance, but not as much as an ssd does over an hdd
P4@3.2GHz vs 3770K is night and day, just keep looking=) If you want to play recent game titles, you might need a fast video card as well, but the Ivy-Bridge is a real monster compared to the Northwood. They are not even in the same league, and that's stays true even when you do nothing else but browsing the net:)
 

T4C Fantasy

CPU & GPU DB Maintainer
Joined
May 7, 2012
Messages
1,233 (0.60/day)
Likes
608
Location
Rhode Island
System Name Phantom 820 v3.1
Processor Intel Core i7-6700k @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Formula OC (Bios: 7.40)
Cooling Corsair H115i
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum 16GB DDR4 3000MHz
Video Card(s) ZOTAC GTX 1070 AMP! / EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
Storage 512GB Crucial MX300 / 256GB OCZ Vertex 4 / 1TB Hitachi HDD
Display(s) 25" ASUS VX248 / 24'' LG DM2350D / 24" LG 24UD58-B 4K
Case NZXT Phantom 820 Ultra+ Tower
Audio Device(s) Logitech G933 Headset
Power Supply SeaSonic Platinum 1050W Snow
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software Windows 10 Pro Build 1703 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Folding PPD: 45,000~ / WCG PPD: 50,000~ (OLD) with HD 7970
#66
I moved from a pentium p3 I had since I was a kid to a amd anthlon dual core 2.3ghz thing. I noticed a huge difference and that was with vista installed too, compared to xp. Everything else was also newer, like a sata hdd compared to ide. When I then moved to my 2500k I noticed a difference. When I overclocked it to 4.5ghz... eh little difference in desktop stuff but big in games and encoding. My i3-2150 in my laptop seems so slow and I know its the processor not the hdd. That is just desktop stuff.
lol put an ssd in your laptop.... youll notice a bigger diferance than your cpu does because of the face value an ssd makes is immediately apparent, for example boot time, the very first thing you do when you install new hardware :p so oviously you will automatically notice an ssd over an hdd over any cpu to cpu combo
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,627 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#67
lol put an ssd in your laptop.... youll notice a bigger diferance than your cpu does because of the face value an ssd makes is immediately apparent, for example boot time, the very first thing you do when you install new hardware :p so oviously you will automatically notice an ssd over an hdd over any cpu to cpu combo
I plan on it too. Waiting for a bigger drop in prices. I already boot up in 20 seconds, but 8 sounds better.
 

Kheng

New Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2012
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#68
You can always move to a farm of 2P E5-2600 series Xeons for a rendering farm (Rack mounted), which is what we are going to do (rather than buying heaps of expensive 3930K / 3960X systems)