• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel's Pat Gelsinger Exclaims "Intel is Back" AMD is "Over"

Joined
Sep 4, 2020
Messages
45 (0.10/day)
Fingers crossed for AMDs driver squad, but to be fair it's going to be On AMD , windows 11 can't have slipped under they're radar, I'm not keen on unfair comparison but the truth tends to wash out doesn't it.
What can anyone but AMD do, the opposite (W10 benches)is also unfair.
Which gets back to testing both ADL and Ryzen on both Win10 and Win 11 .
You will get a broader fairer spread of results.
You would expect it to show ADL is faster on Win11 and Ryzen is faster on Win 10 at this point in time and as for comparisons against one one another we shall see in due course.
Even if Ryzen was fixed now for Win11, its probly too late to be included !
I honestly can't see any other way to do it fairly but we already know that wont happen here ! Obviously it would be double the work !
Be interesting to see what other reviewers choose to do !
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2017
Messages
1,022 (0.64/day)
Hey @W1zzard, sorry for asking but are you planning to take a look at the root cause of the cache issues? I'm sure you and your crew are pretty much up to task.
To be honest, so am I but I'm too lazy and I don't care about the implications. I'm just curious about the engineering aspects.
 
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
5,426 (3.25/day)
Location
Norway, currently in Lund, Sweden
System Name Hotbox
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock Phantom Gaming B550 ITX/ax
Cooling Aquanaut + Laing DDC 1T Plus PWM + Corsair XR5 280mm + 2x Arctic P14
Memory 32GB G.Skill FlareX 3200c14
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon 6900XT Liquid Devil Ultimate, UV@950mV/2050MHz/180W
Storage 2TB Adata SX8200 Pro
Display(s) Dell U2711 main, AOC 24P2C secondary
Case SSUPD Meshlicious
Audio Device(s) Optoma Nuforce μDAC 3
Power Supply Corsair SF750 Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cooler Master MasterKeys Pro M w/DSA profile caps
Software Windows 10 Pro
Low quality post by outpt
Joined
Mar 21, 2019
Messages
247 (0.25/day)
Location
Texas
Processor AMD R9 5900x
Motherboard MSI MAG B550 Tomahawk
Cooling I forgot to get a aio I r stupidity
Memory corsair vengeance rgb pro 32gb
Video Card(s) xfx rx5600xt
Storage 4 ssd 2 hdd
Display(s) 40" samsung
Case Corsair icue 220t rgb
Power Supply corsair RM850 modular
Mouse logitech
Keyboard logitech
Software w10
Intel where back. Back in the janitors closet at microstiffe checking each other’s schedulers. I’ll be over at your closet tomorrow.
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2021
Messages
173 (0.98/day)
I'm all for interesting investigation.

You are implying no one would use win 10 on Aderlake, for gaming that makes sense, but actually for office, work based tests the opposite is true since most companies will take years to adopt windows 11, just as they took years moving off every other OS, shit test Xp too, no I jest :p

And regardless Intel , Microsoft and AMD have certainly created the perfect, benching shitfest for some poor soul, I wouldn't want to be that writer, he or she can't win here.
Windows 10 tanks alder lake performance and turns on the e cores only.. leaks from china are saying
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
23,251 (3.63/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
Hey @W1zzard, sorry for asking but are you planning to take a look at the root cause of the cache issues? I'm sure you and your crew are pretty much up to task.
To be honest, so am I but I'm too lazy and I don't care about the implications. I'm just curious about the engineering aspects.
don't think this is worth spending a lot of time investigating, since a fix will be released and the issue will be solved forever
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2017
Messages
1,022 (0.64/day)
don't think this is worth spending a lot of time investigating, since a fix will be released and the issue will be solved forever
But we'll never know the truth. Truth is absolute and eternal. But yeah, I'm too lazy to pursuit it. :)

Don't you have some wunderkind coder intern who could crack it in a few hours? Still nobody else got it out on the webs, so clicks and potential revenue is still for the taking.
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
3,024 (1.51/day)
Location
Currently Norway
System Name Bro2
Processor Ryzen 5800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling Corsair h115i pro rgb
Memory 16GB G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14
Video Card(s) Powercolor 6900 XT Red Devil 1.1v@2400Mhz
Storage M.2 Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500MB/ Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD / LG 27GN950
Case Fractal Design G
Audio Device(s) Realtec 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AXi 760W / Seasonic 750W GOLD
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Windows 10 64 bit
I'm quite sure the W11 issues will be fixed with AMD CPUs. I understand ADL is a new arch and prepared for the W11 with the Big.Little arch but as far as I understand AMD is supposedly going that route as well. (Not sure why though). I'm also pretty much confident that MS with the new W11 OS will not favor one arch vs the other because that is bad business for the company.
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2020
Messages
45 (0.10/day)
Fingers crossed for AMDs driver squad, but to be fair it's going to be On AMD , windows 11 can't have slipped under they're radar, I'm not keen on unfair comparison but the truth tends to wash out doesn't it.
What can anyone but AMD do, the opposite (W10 benches)is also unfair.

W10(Ryzen) verses W11(Intel) also isn't fair and I am not sure it would go as you might expect, I think W11 will have optimization to be done.
Why wouldnt Ryzen on win10 be fair "if its not broken" comparing it to ADL on win11 when ADL is specifically designed for it?

Seems a whole lot fairer to me than testing Ryzen on w11 when you know its broken!

If Ryzen is tested on w11 in broken state then that is just dumb and a totally biased review!

Thats just the same as not testing ADL on win10 cos it is broken and yet you rationalize that its ok the other way around!

Completely hypocritical !
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
9,453 (2.21/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525/ Intel 8750H
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703/?
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 32Gb in four sticks./16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060
Storage Silicon power qlc nvmex3 in raid 0/8Tb external/1Tb samsung Evo nvme 2Tb sata ssd
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync.
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Aimo 120
VR HMD Oculus rift
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
Why wouldnt Ryzen on win10 be fair "if its not broken" comparing it to ADL on win11 when ADL is specifically designed for it?

Seems a whole lot fairer to me than testing Ryzen on w11 when you know its broken!

If Ryzen is tested on w11 in broken state then that is just dumb and a totally biased review!

Thats just the same as not testing ADL on win10 cos it is broken and yet you rationalize that its ok the other way around!

Completely hypocritical !
Because 11 adds adl which reduces performance on 11 not on 10 giving Ryzen on 10 an advantage.
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2020
Messages
45 (0.10/day)
No one seems to have taken any notice with ADL Z690 Motherboards, the only way you can run your super fast M.2 drive in PCIe 5.0 is to run the 16 lanes in 8x2 configuration.

Have to say thats a big let down in my book ! Extremely dissappointing for a brand new platform!

Look, it will most likely still work fine and have heaps of bandwidth for 8 lanes of 5.0 for both video card and m.2 drive, but seriously i cant beleive you have to gimp it to 8 x 2 lanes to make it work !

Dissappointing !
 

lola46

New Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2021
Messages
10 (0.03/day)
the I9 12900K has TDP 330W of jokes ,AMD Ryzen 9 5900X has 12 Cores and has TDP only 115W
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
467 (0.49/day)
Aha, sure it does "pal" :rolleyes:
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2017
Messages
3,207 (1.82/day)
Processor R5 5600X
Motherboard ASUS ROG STRIX B550-I GAMING
Cooling Alpenföhn Black Ridge
Memory 2*16GB DDR4-2666 VLP @3800
Video Card(s) Geforce RTX 3070 FE
Storage 1TB Samsung 970 Pro, 2TB Intel 660p
Display(s) ASUS PG279Q, Eizo EV2736W
Case Dan Cases A4-SFX
Power Supply Corsair SF600
Mouse Corsair Ironclaw Wireless RGB
Keyboard Corsair K60
VR HMD HTC Vive
the I9 12900K has TDP 330W of jokes ,AMD Ryzen 9 5900X has 16 Cores and has TDP only 115W
This is the weird bit.
12900K does not consume 330W. Although incredibly inefficient at that, 5.2GHz OC is not something to scoff at. 12900K will probably be run with some stupid power limit at 200-something W from motherboards and run at 4.9GHz boost at that. When stock power limit is applied the base clock is 3.7GHz.
5900X has in most cases the power limit at ~140W which it can reach at full load.
And this is still primarily with some type of stress test or benchmark load that uses AVX2 and/or is otherwise evil.

In practice and normal usage the two will be closer together than headlines makes it seem.
 
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
5,426 (3.25/day)
Location
Norway, currently in Lund, Sweden
System Name Hotbox
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock Phantom Gaming B550 ITX/ax
Cooling Aquanaut + Laing DDC 1T Plus PWM + Corsair XR5 280mm + 2x Arctic P14
Memory 32GB G.Skill FlareX 3200c14
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon 6900XT Liquid Devil Ultimate, UV@950mV/2050MHz/180W
Storage 2TB Adata SX8200 Pro
Display(s) Dell U2711 main, AOC 24P2C secondary
Case SSUPD Meshlicious
Audio Device(s) Optoma Nuforce μDAC 3
Power Supply Corsair SF750 Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cooler Master MasterKeys Pro M w/DSA profile caps
Software Windows 10 Pro
the I9 12900K has TDP 330W of jokes ,AMD Ryzen 9 5900X has 16 Cores and has TDP only 115W
I have no idea what you think TDP means, but whatever it is, it is not correct. TDP is a manufacturer-implemented specification for the cooling capacity for heatsinks. Power draw is not the same as TDP. Also, the 5900X has a 105W TDP and a 144W standard power limit. Recent Intel chips have had 125W TDPs with 225W (or thereabouts) PL1 short-term boost power limits. So whatever you're referring to, you're off by quite a bit. Overclocking also generally disables power limits.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2010
Messages
2,488 (0.59/day)
I have no idea what you think TDP means, but whatever it is, it is not correct. TDP is a manufacturer-implemented specification for the cooling capacity for heatsinks. Power draw is not the same as TDP. Also, the 5900X has a 105W TDP and a 144W standard power limit. Recent Intel chips have had 125W TDPs with 225W (or thereabouts) PL1 short-term boost power limits. So whatever you're referring to, you're off by quite a bit. Overclocking also generally disables power limits.
It does not. There is no way you can disable it. Besides, tdp is very important since the heat conduction takes place at the IHS, yet the power density is too high for normal operation which coupled with ihs concavity makes it a lot more significant. Limiting edc is very important in ryzen series cpus since it avoids temperature gradient gap between the chip and the ihs when heat flow is steady, and not fluctuating.
 
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
5,426 (3.25/day)
Location
Norway, currently in Lund, Sweden
System Name Hotbox
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock Phantom Gaming B550 ITX/ax
Cooling Aquanaut + Laing DDC 1T Plus PWM + Corsair XR5 280mm + 2x Arctic P14
Memory 32GB G.Skill FlareX 3200c14
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon 6900XT Liquid Devil Ultimate, UV@950mV/2050MHz/180W
Storage 2TB Adata SX8200 Pro
Display(s) Dell U2711 main, AOC 24P2C secondary
Case SSUPD Meshlicious
Audio Device(s) Optoma Nuforce μDAC 3
Power Supply Corsair SF750 Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cooler Master MasterKeys Pro M w/DSA profile caps
Software Windows 10 Pro
It does not. There is no way you can disable it. Besides, tdp is very important since the heat conduction takes place at the IHS, yet the power density is too high for normal operation which coupled with ihs concavity makes it a lot more significant. Limiting edc is very important in ryzen series cpus since it avoids temperature gradient gap between the chip and the ihs when heat flow is steady, and not fluctuating.
What on earth are you talking about? I said overclocking disables power limits. The rest of the post is specifically about why TDP and power limits of various kinds are not the same. Did you read the post at all, or what I was responding to?
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2010
Messages
2,488 (0.59/day)
What on earth are you talking about? I said overclocking disables power limits. The rest of the post is specifically about why TDP and power limits of various kinds are not the same. Did you read the post at all, or what I was responding to?
Don't flame. Overclocking does not delimit FID, end of story.
 
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
5,426 (3.25/day)
Location
Norway, currently in Lund, Sweden
System Name Hotbox
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock Phantom Gaming B550 ITX/ax
Cooling Aquanaut + Laing DDC 1T Plus PWM + Corsair XR5 280mm + 2x Arctic P14
Memory 32GB G.Skill FlareX 3200c14
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon 6900XT Liquid Devil Ultimate, UV@950mV/2050MHz/180W
Storage 2TB Adata SX8200 Pro
Display(s) Dell U2711 main, AOC 24P2C secondary
Case SSUPD Meshlicious
Audio Device(s) Optoma Nuforce μDAC 3
Power Supply Corsair SF750 Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cooler Master MasterKeys Pro M w/DSA profile caps
Software Windows 10 Pro
Don't flame. Overclocking does not delimit FID, end of story.
I'm not flaming, I'm asking you what on earth you are saying, as your response makes zero sense in relation to my post. What is "FID"? What does "delimiting" it mean? And are you actually saying that overclocking - of which adjusting (or disabling, where possible) power limits is a fundamental component in modern architectures - doesn't override stock power limits? Or are you saying that TDP is equal to power draw? Because that was what I said in the post you responded to: TDP and power draw is not the same, and stock power limits are irrelevant when overclocked - specifically in relation to the leaks surrounding the (possible) 12900K and its rumored power draws when overclocked. Whatever extrapolation you have done beyond that is not my problem.
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2020
Messages
45 (0.10/day)
don't think this is worth spending a lot of time investigating, since a fix will be released and the issue will be solved forever
Looks like you are/were correct with the fix supposedly released now!
Have you got time to test or retest Ryzen on win 11 with the fixes in place?
Has any one done some basic tests to make sure the fixes are actually work properly?

Aha, sure it does "pal" :rolleyes:
This posted graph of power is not just the cpu it is the WHOLE SYSTEM .
Even says it at top of chart under techpowerup heading.
My Ryzen 5600x does not run at 126w not even maxed out at pbo mb limits. It topped out at 121w. I dont bother with pbo I leave it at default which is 76W .
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2017
Messages
675 (0.46/day)
Location
Ft. Washington, MD
System Name Main
Processor R7 5800x
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus Ultra
Cooling D5, two Arctic F14 + three F12 for intake, two P14 (Rad) + two F14 (case) as exhaust
Memory 2x8 GB Patriot Viper Blackout @3600/16/1T (1.35v)
Video Card(s) GB 2080S WaterForce WB
Storage 970 Evo Pro/980/Inland Premium M.2s
Display(s) Sony 50X90J
Case Tt Level 20 HT
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar AE, modded Sennheiser HD 558, Klipsch 2.1 THX
Power Supply Corsair RMx 750w
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard GSKILL Ripjaws
VR HMD NA
Software win 10 x64
Benchmark Scores TimeSpy score 12164 , Fire Strike Ultra SuperPosition FHD-X 7525, 4k opt 9985 CB20 5949/624 (stk)
Lol, back to spending billions more than the other guy, while producing a product about 10% faster..

@Valantar
first you say its "..disables power limits," then it changes to "..adjusting limits, disabling when possible..". ok
changing P limits for oc and unlimited, are not the same thing,
and unless all (3 major) power settings can be run lets say at 2000A (disregarding cooling and such for a moment), its NOT "unlimited".
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
5,426 (3.25/day)
Location
Norway, currently in Lund, Sweden
System Name Hotbox
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock Phantom Gaming B550 ITX/ax
Cooling Aquanaut + Laing DDC 1T Plus PWM + Corsair XR5 280mm + 2x Arctic P14
Memory 32GB G.Skill FlareX 3200c14
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon 6900XT Liquid Devil Ultimate, UV@950mV/2050MHz/180W
Storage 2TB Adata SX8200 Pro
Display(s) Dell U2711 main, AOC 24P2C secondary
Case SSUPD Meshlicious
Audio Device(s) Optoma Nuforce μDAC 3
Power Supply Corsair SF750 Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cooler Master MasterKeys Pro M w/DSA profile caps
Software Windows 10 Pro
@Valantar
first you say its "..disables power limits," then it changes to "..adjusting limits, disabling when possible..". ok
changing P limits for oc and unlimited, are not the same thing,
and unless all (3 major) power settings can be run lets say at 2000A (disregarding cooling and such for a moment), its NOT "unlimited".
It is effectively unlimited, as you can change them so that other factors (such as cooling) will always be the bottleneck. Also, when speaking of CPU power limits, the stock power limits are the only ones really worth talking about - as they are the only externally determined power limits - which are disabled as soon as any adjustment is made, no matter how small that adjustment is. Beyond that you're looking at a voluntary power limit, which ... well, it would be another thing entirely. When you can set the limit manually, it is no longer a limit, thus it is disabled. Pretty simple, really. Doesn't matter if you're unticking a box that says "power limits" or adjusting it to a higher number than can be cooled without exotic cooling; the effect is the same.
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2020
Messages
45 (0.10/day)
Top