• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Is Autocad core optimized?

Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
773 (0.28/day)
Likes
99
Location
Atlanta/Marietta, GA
System Name Norbert
Processor Intel Core i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte X58A-UD5
Cooling Corsair H50 with 2x Scythe GT AP-14
Memory 3x 2gb G.Skill 1600Mhz C9 DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II GTX 465 GE & EVGA GTS 450 SC
Storage 2x 1Tb Samsung Sprinpoint F3 7200rpm
Display(s) Dell U3011, Dell 2408WFP, Samsung 2693HM
Case Lian Li V1020R
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Seasonic X-750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#1
My friend is going off to college in the fall and needs a new laptop. She will be using Autocad quite a bit, and since I'm an IE and never used it myself, I don't know if it takes full advantage of quad cores.

So in her case, is it better to get an i7 620M or an i7 720QM? If Autocad can't fully utilize 4 cores, then I think the 620M would probably be better for her since it's higher clocked and runs cooler.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.49/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#2
From the FAQ pdf on their website ...
Yes, AutoCAD 2011 software supports multiple CPUs. The performance of AutoCAD graphics and rendering systems benefits from multiple CPU systems.
It does not specifically say multiple core CPUs, but most of the CAD software that we use here has been updated to utilize multiple cores and CPUs.

Either way I would go with the quad for a school laptop. There is a high likelyhood she would be doing multiple things at once, and thus benefit from the additional cores.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2010
Messages
207 (0.07/day)
Likes
46
Location
Houston,TX
System Name About_To_Be_Replaced
Processor AMD Deneb 955 OC to 3.82GHz
Motherboard ASUS M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory CORSAIR XMS3 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE Vapor-X Radeon HD 5770 (Juniper XT) 1GB
Storage Crucial RealSSD C300 64GB SATA III (SSD)
Display(s) Samsung 2770HD
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 912 Mid Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series CMPSU-650TX 650W
Software Win 7 64 Bit Home Edition SP1
Benchmark Scores Build 1: Listed Specs Build 2: Waiting for SteamRoller
#3
I would recommend the quad core units. I tried a large 3D AutoCadd 2005 file at work using a quad core and the cores were running at approx 27%. We are using Xeon 2.5 Ghz w/8 Gig of RAM. We use NVIDIA Quadro FX 1700 cards - mostly for Pro-Engineer though.

Also if your friend is going into the mechanical field Pro-E is the most desired software - not AutoCAD (better know as AutoSketch) in the Engineering design field. If architecture field then Autocadd is just fine.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,920 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,022
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#4
It does not specifically say multiple core CPUs, but most of the CAD software that we use here has been updated to utilize multiple cores and CPUs.
Multiple CPUs = 2+ cores. I'll ask a friend later but I'm not sure if he is using AutoCAD (or what version) or not (might be some other 3D app).


I can say the hardware requirements completely depend on the complexity of the drawings. Simple drawings work fine on a single core CPU but if you get entire structures with wire, plumbing, sewage, etc. a quad-core probably helps.


Another consideration is that quad-core processors draw more electricity (lessening the battery life) and produce more heat than dual core processors. If the computer is going to be unplugged from an outlet a lot, that alone might be reason enough to avoid a quad core.


Without more information, I would say 620M at this time.
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
773 (0.28/day)
Likes
99
Location
Atlanta/Marietta, GA
System Name Norbert
Processor Intel Core i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte X58A-UD5
Cooling Corsair H50 with 2x Scythe GT AP-14
Memory 3x 2gb G.Skill 1600Mhz C9 DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II GTX 465 GE & EVGA GTS 450 SC
Storage 2x 1Tb Samsung Sprinpoint F3 7200rpm
Display(s) Dell U3011, Dell 2408WFP, Samsung 2693HM
Case Lian Li V1020R
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Seasonic X-750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#5
Sorry, probably made a redundant thread here. I made one for a laptop recommendation in the general hardware thread but this issue seemed like a software issue for me :p

More info about the laptop located here:

http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=128524
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,800 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,786
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#6
For AutoCAD 2011, plus many of the vertical products (arch, civil), They really did a lot of work in the multi-treaded department as well as a HUGE effort in 64 bit support.

Another even more important thing to consider is the 64 bit versions offer some of the biggest performance gains since release 10.386 & 11! Not to mention breaking the 4GB memory barrier, so make sure they have a 64 bit OS if it's really important.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,920 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,022
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#7
Me: is AutoCAD really CPU demanding?
Him: DEPENDS ON WHAT UR DOING
Me: could it strain a quad core?
Me: in worst case scenario?
Him: MEMORY IS USUALLY THE ISSUE FOR ME
Me: dual core or single core?
Him: DUAL
I would recommend 64-bit AutoCAD, 64-bit Windows, 8 GiB of RAM, and a dual-core processor.

The Core i7 620M is dual-core but quad-thread. I think it would be sufficient and also save battery power and reduce heat.