• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is it best to limit FPS for lower temps?

Joined
Mar 20, 2014
Messages
60 (0.03/day)
System Name Corsair Vengeance
Processor Intel i5 4670k @4.0
Motherboard Gigabyte z87x-UD3H
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Corsair Vegeance 2x4Gb 1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI R9 290 Gaming OC
Storage Corsair LS SSD 128Gb; WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Asus VX239H
Case Corsair Vengeance C70 Artic White
Power Supply Corsair RM850
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Hello,

Is is bet to cap FPS to lower GPU temps? I have an MSI r9 290 and a 60hz monitor. An example would be if I was playing Company of Hero's 2:

No Cap: FPS 140, temp 92c
with Cap: FPS 60, temp 75c

It looks good on RTS games but how about in FPS? I tried playing BF4 and COD Ghosts and didn't notice any difference? What say you?

Also, what's the difference between capping FPS(through MSI AB) and v-sync?

Please advise,
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2010
Messages
728 (0.20/day)
Location
Israel
System Name PC ?
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 AORUS XTREME
Cooling NZXT Kraken X62
Memory 32gb of G.Skill Trident Z Neo 32GB 3600 / CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3 Hybrid
Storage C:/ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 2TB - D:/7TB of Storage (WD-Bx2) - X:/Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
Display(s) Acer X27
Case Corsair 1000D
Audio Device(s) Topping DX7S + Cambridge Audio CXA60 + Klipsch RP-160M + Klipsch Reference R-112
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME Ultra Titanium 1000TR
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Logitech G Pro Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro (64bit)
You got 60hz monitor, it's unless for you to have over 60fps ;)
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2013
Messages
80 (0.03/day)
Location
Surabaya, Indonesia
System Name Dragun
Processor i5 4670k
Motherboard MSI z87-GD65
Cooling NZXT Kraken X60
Memory Corsair LP white 2x4GB 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 780
Storage WD Blue 2.5" 5.4K 1 TB + TEAM L3 DARK 240GB
Display(s) AOC i2352vh
Case NZXT Phantom 630
Power Supply NZXT hale82 850M
Keyboard Leopold FC700R
I personally game with V-Sync on because I simply can't notice the difference in smoothness at above 60 fps and it does reduce the load on the GPU if your card is powerful enough.

I never used fps capping in afterburner but I think you simply put a number on it and it will try to stick your fps at that number but V-Sync works like if you have less than 60 fps but still above 30 fps then your fps will be capped at 30 fps and it will cap your fps at 60 fps if you have over 60 fps.

Things can be quite different if you use 120 Hz or 144 Hz monitor though..
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2010
Messages
728 (0.20/day)
Location
Israel
System Name PC ?
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 AORUS XTREME
Cooling NZXT Kraken X62
Memory 32gb of G.Skill Trident Z Neo 32GB 3600 / CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3 Hybrid
Storage C:/ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 2TB - D:/7TB of Storage (WD-Bx2) - X:/Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
Display(s) Acer X27
Case Corsair 1000D
Audio Device(s) Topping DX7S + Cambridge Audio CXA60 + Klipsch RP-160M + Klipsch Reference R-112
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME Ultra Titanium 1000TR
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Logitech G Pro Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro (64bit)
V-Sync fix the the lines that you can see on the monitor when you look right or left.

and V-Sync should limit 120hz monitor to 120 fps.

 
Joined
Mar 29, 2014
Messages
34 (0.02/day)
System Name In transit.
Processor R7 2700X
Motherboard Asus Prime B350 Plus
Cooling Custom WC ( the bit that's in transit )
Memory 16Gb DDR4 3000
Video Card(s) Aorus GTX1080Ti
Storage 1Tb Samsung 970 Evo
Display(s) 27" Acer XF270HU 2K
Case much abused Phanteks Enthoo Luxe.
Audio Device(s) Tediously boring motherboard audio feeding Sound Blaster X headset
Power Supply Antec Edge 650 Watt
Mouse one
Keyboard also one
Software Win 10 Home 64 bit
Yes, it's a good idea, as has been said, anything over 60 FPS is largely wasted on a 60 Hz monitor so you're just heating the card up and burning power for no gain.
Easiest way is to turn Vsync on in the drivers but you can use Afterburner or RadeonPro to set a target framerate for each game.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,884 (1.88/day)
Processor Ryzen 3900x
Motherboard Asrock X570m PRO4
Cooling Scythe Mugen 5 Rev B with push pull fans
Memory Corsair 4x8gb 3533mhz Cas 16
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage Adata SX8200 1tb
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Fractal Design Something
Power Supply XFX 850w
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
I don't like to limit to 60fps with a 60hz monitor if I am limiting frames. This is because in the games I play, I may not drop below 60fps without the cap, but with the cap I will drop 1-5 fps on certain scenes. I set it to 70fps cap so that I can always be above 60fps. That is if I am capping.
 
Joined
May 3, 2014
Messages
964 (0.46/day)
System Name Sham Pc
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.33
Motherboard INTEL DZ77SL 50K
Cooling 2 bay res. "2L of fluid in loop" 1x480 2x360
Memory 16gb 4x4 kingstone 1600 hyper x fury black
Video Card(s) hfa2 gtx 780 @ 1306/1768 (xspc bloc)
Storage 1tb wd red 120gb kingston on the way os, 1.5Tb wd black, 3tb random WD rebrand
Display(s) cibox something or other 23" 1080p " 23 inch downstairs. 52 inch plasma downstairs 15" tft kitchen
Case 900D
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply xion gaming seriese 1000W (non modular) 80+ bronze
Software windows 10 pro x64
i only use v-synk if its tripple buffered or i get significant tearing in game.
I always prefer the MORE COOLING! option if something seems to be a bit hot.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2014
Messages
1,800 (0.82/day)
System Name AMD Black Widow
Processor AMD FX-6100 3.3GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-780T-D3L (rev. 4.0)
Cooling Cooler master hyper 212 EVO
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 2x4GB 1600MHz KHX1600C9D3B1K2/8GX
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon R9 280x 3GB Asus
Storage WESTERN DIGITAL 1TB 64MB 7k SATA600 Blue WD10EZEX, Samsung 850 EVO 256 GB SSD
Display(s) LG W2453SQ-PF
Case MS Cyclops IV
Power Supply LC Power LC600H-12 600 W
Software Windows 10 64bit
I use v-sync if the frames are ridiculous. like L4D2 I mostly had between 150-200 fps, but why, I wont see a difference so If I can I limit the older games.
but you can use Afterburner or RadeonPro to set a target framerate for each game.
Wow didn't know that about afterburner. Thanks
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
5,715 (1.10/day)
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i5 8600K @ 4.6 GHz Core & 4.3 GHz Uncore @ 1.168V
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE, MonoPlus, Fans: 2xThermalright TY143 / 2xCorsair SP-120L / 2xYate Loon D14BH-12
Memory G-Skill TridentZ 2X8GB DDR4 3200 CL14 F4-3200C14D-16GTZ @ 3200 14-14-14-34 2T @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) Zotac 1060 6GB Mini ZT-P10600A-10L with Arctic MonoPlus and Yate Loon D14BH-12 Fan
Storage OS Samsung 970 Pro 512GB NVMe, Games Phison E12 NVMe 1TB, HDD WD Black 4TB WD4005FZBX, 2xWD10EZEX
Display(s) 2x Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 25" IPS
Case Lian Li PC A05NB (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD, Acoustic Research 2Ch Speakers
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A Mouse, Razer Naga Chroma '14, Corsair MM600, Inateck 900x300 XL pad, Tiger Gaming Skates.
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL, Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key, PS3 Controller
Software Win 10 LTSC 1809
I don't like to limit to 60fps with a 60hz monitor if I am limiting frames. This is because in the games I play, I may not drop below 60fps without the cap, but with the cap I will drop 1-5 fps on certain scenes. I set it to 70fps cap so that I can always be above 60fps. That is if I am capping.
Thanks for this post.
This thread motivated me to install Nvidia Inspector and set my global limit to 70, BF4 runs a lot more fluid now and the temps are much lower, I don't get much over 60-65 on ultra now.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
5,498 (1.89/day)
Location
Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor 2600K @ 4.5GHz / Dual Xeon 5675's @ 3.33GHz 12c/24t
Motherboard MAXIMUS V FORMULA / GA-7TESM
Cooling Deepcool Assassin - 3 Fans / RAIJINTEK AIDOS x2
Memory 2x8GB 2133MHz Samsung Dual Channel / 6x4GB 1333MHz Samsung Hexa Channel
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 980ti
Storage Various SSD/HD
Display(s) AOC 24" IPS / Various Dells
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver / Matrexx 55
Audio Device(s) Various
Power Supply Corsair TX 650w / Evga NEX 750B
Mouse Alienware AW558 @ 5000 DPI
Keyboard Asus KB34211
Software XP64/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores http://valid.x86.fr/79kuh6
I cap at 65 fps in BF4.

Less heat, save power, etc.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2013
Messages
95 (0.04/day)
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E7300
Motherboard Gigabyte G41M-Combo
Memory Nanya 2x2GB DDR2 800Mhz
Video Card(s) Inno3d Geforce GT 630
Storage WD Blue 320GB
Display(s) Sony 24" Full HD LED + 19" LCD
Case Aerocool Templarius Ferrum
Power Supply Corsair VS450
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x86
Some very useful info here.. Thanks
 
Top