• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is my used 9800 pro really a 9800 card?

Bluemojo

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2005
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Just bought the card from someone saying its a BBA 9800 pro card.ATItool say its a 9800 pro(only tell you from reading the video bios) But when i use atitool to find max core. When the test run, the core speed would go up to 380 and then back down...I stop it when it keep on going down around 360 core speed...I am thinking this is actually a 9800 card, flash bios to 9800 pro. Please let me know what you guys think. :confused:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 3, 2005
Messages
431 (0.09/day)
Likes
62
#2
Download a program called Everest. Or, download Sisoft Sandra. Both will give you details on your graphics card.
 

Bluemojo

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2005
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
those 2 software would only tell you what they read from the video bios(correct me if I am wrong here)...
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,415 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,536
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#4
Yep those programs will only tell you what the BIOS tells it too
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,415 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,536
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#6
yeah but a bad Bios Flash would show an improper Bus Width as again it has modified the BIOS
 

Bluemojo

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2005
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
I check the bios. Its stated I have a 256bit card. Does the AtiTool normally lower the core speed when you try to check for max core test? The card is r360 core I find out after removing the hsf.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,415 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,536
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#8
Well if its and R360 core it is definitely a 9800Pro but the previous owner may have killed it trying to flash it to an XT and possibly damaged the Memory or Core
 

YawAKooL

New Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2004
Messages
24 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
Or its a bug in ATI-Tool. I had 4 ATI-Cards (9600 Pro, 9500, 9700 Pro, 9800 XT). Only with 9600 Pro it went above core speed, the rest went down. And only with the new drivers.
 

Nobru_rv

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2004
Messages
160 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
#10
9800pro has a minimum 2.8 NS memory because its default is 340. So look if your memory is 3.0 or 3.3 NS then u have a 9800NP.
 

Bluemojo

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2005
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#11
thanks for all the help. my video does have 2.8 hynix and r360 core..maybe its my old motherboard acting flaky on me.