• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is there a way to have 2x chrome tabs side by side in fullscreen mode?

Joined
Jan 19, 2017
Messages
341 (0.13/day)
System Name Core p90
Processor I7 9700k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 4
Cooling Ek supremacy evo cpu block/nexxxos ut60 rad 480mm/D5 vario pump 310mm reservoir combo.
Memory Trident gskill 16gb 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Founders edition rtx 3080 10gb
Storage M.2 Intel 660p 1024gb, 4tb 7200 rpm black Western Digital hdd
Display(s) Acer x34 predator 3440x1440p 120hz g-sync ultrawide 21:9 monitor
Case Thermaltake Core P90 tempered glass edition
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Thermaltake smart m1200w
Mouse Logitech G600
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Windows 10 64bit
I'm trying to have 2x chrome tabs in fullscreen mode on the same monitor. Don't know if that's possible. The reason I ask is because I'm running a rather graphics intensive website on those tabs and I noticed it tends to run A LOT better in fullscreen than it does otherwise... But ideally I need to be able to view two tabs or two windows in fullscreen mode side by side.

If this is possible with any web browsers available for windows 10, let me know. It would solve a lot of headaches :)
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2017
Messages
8,107 (3.18/day)
System Name Best AMD Computer
Processor AMD 7900X3D
Motherboard Asus X670E E Strix
Cooling In Win SR36
Memory GSKILL DDR5 32GB 5200 30
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse 7900XT (Watercooled)
Storage Corsair MP 700, Seagate 530 2Tb, Adata SX8200 2TBx2, Kingston 2 TBx2, Micron 8 TB, WD AN 1500
Display(s) GIGABYTE FV43U
Case Corsair 7000D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Corsair Void Pro, Logitch Z523 5.1
Power Supply Deepcool 1000M
Mouse Logitech g7 gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 11 Pro 64 Steam. GOG, Uplay, Origin
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 46183 Time Spy: 25121
Right click and open another session from the taskbar icon. I have a 43" monitor and do it all the time

Right click and open another session from the taskbar icon. I have a 43" monitor and do it all the time
Then drag the videos vertically instead of horizontal if your monitor is capable it will do it.
 
Joined
May 7, 2023
Messages
354 (0.92/day)
Processor Ryzen 5700x
Motherboard Gigabyte Auros Elite AX V2
Cooling Thermalright Peerless Assassin SE White
Memory TeamGroup T-Force Delta RGB 32GB 3600Mhz
Video Card(s) PowerColor Red Dragon Rx 6800
Storage Fanxiang S660 1TB, Fanxiang S500 Pro 1TB, BraveEagle 240GB SSD, 2TB Seagate HDD
Case Corsair 4000D White
Power Supply Corsair RM750x SHIFT
Drag chrome to the left of the screen to snap it, right click chrome and select new window/tab and drag it to the right
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2023
Messages
900 (2.05/day)
System Name Stugots V
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X3D
Motherboard MSI MAG B550 Tomahawk
Cooling Thermalright PA-120 Black
Memory 2 x 16GB G.Skill 3600Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) ASUS Dual RTX 4070
Storage 500GB WD SN750 | 2TB WD SN750 | 6TB WD Red +
Display(s) Dell S2716DG (1440p / 144Hz)
Case Fractal Meshify 2 Compact
Audio Device(s) JDS Labs Element | Audioengine HD3 + A8 | Beyerdynamic DT-990 Pro (250)
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus 850W
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Leopold FC750R
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Yea you can just open and drag a new tab + snap them side-by-side.
I do this all the time when I'm watching something and still want to browse.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2017
Messages
341 (0.13/day)
System Name Core p90
Processor I7 9700k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 4
Cooling Ek supremacy evo cpu block/nexxxos ut60 rad 480mm/D5 vario pump 310mm reservoir combo.
Memory Trident gskill 16gb 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Founders edition rtx 3080 10gb
Storage M.2 Intel 660p 1024gb, 4tb 7200 rpm black Western Digital hdd
Display(s) Acer x34 predator 3440x1440p 120hz g-sync ultrawide 21:9 monitor
Case Thermaltake Core P90 tempered glass edition
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Thermaltake smart m1200w
Mouse Logitech G600
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Windows 10 64bit
Yea you can just open and drag a new tab + snap them side-by-side.
I do this all the time when I'm watching something and still want to browse.
yeah but I want this to happen in FULLSCREEN MODE not just the usual windows 10 side by side thingy.
I guess I should mention that by fullscreen mode I mean
"PRESSING F11 in chrome to go fullscreen" ... once that is done, I can't find any way to have two tabs side by side and REMAIN in fullscreen mode
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
18,965 (2.85/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 5 5600
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling Be Quiet! Pure Rock 2
Memory 2 x 16GB Kingston Fury 3400mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 6950XT Speedster MERC 319
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Black SN750 2TB |WD Blue 1TB x 2 | Toshiba P300 2TB | Seagate Expansion 8TB
Display(s) Samsung U32J590U 4K + BenQ GL2450HT 1080p
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + some headphones, Nektar SE61 keyboard
Power Supply Corsair RM850x v3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 1.0 TKL Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Rimworld 4K ready!
yeah but I want this to happen in FULLSCREEN MODE not just the usual windows 10 side by side thingy.

If it's full screen it covers the full screen, which means you can't have two of them on the same monitor visible at the same time.

That said some light googling says this maybe?
 

Solaris17

Super Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
26,023 (3.79/day)
Location
Alabama
System Name Rocinante
Processor I9 14900KS
Motherboard MSI MPG Z790I Edge WiFi Gaming
Cooling be quiet! Pure Loop 240mm
Memory 64GB Gskill Trident Z5 DDR5 6000 @6400
Video Card(s) MSI SUPRIM Liquid X 4090
Storage 1x 500GB 980 Pro | 1x 1TB 980 Pro | 1x 8TB Corsair MP400
Display(s) Odyssey OLED G9 (G95SC)
Case LANCOOL 205M MESH Snow
Audio Device(s) Moondrop S8's on schitt Modi+ & Valhalla 2
Power Supply ASUS ROG Loki SFX-L 1000W
Mouse Lamzu Atlantis mini (White)
Keyboard Monsgeek M3 Lavender, Akko Crystal Blues
VR HMD Quest 3
Software Windows 11
Benchmark Scores I dont have time for that.


I just grab tabs (left click and hold) and break them off. This works well for video sites as well that pause because they detect inactivity (detection for inactivity doesn't work for most if you break the tab off and just go back to the previous window)

After you split the tab(s) off you can just snap them wherever, or drag them to another monitor and just enter full screen. Of course you can full screen and bring something else to the front so its still open in the background.

Alternatively like others have said you can right click chrome and just open a new session.

EDIT: if you want F12 full screen you can enable the windows multi desktop feature as well and just bring chrome to that virtual desktop, full screen it and then switch back. It should work.

EDIT 2: Now if you don't like the idea of context switching and need them side by side on purpose for some reason AND you need chrome to be aware that it is "full screen" for performance reasons, you can attempt to trick it by calling it via CMD and constraining it to a resolution. Of course you can also probably do this by making a shortcut and modifying the properties.

Code:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe" --window-size=1024,768
 
Last edited:

MrBoingo

New Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2024
Messages
1 (0.01/day)
I know that this is almost 4 months later, but if you still need a solution I just came across one myself. I just got a 34 inch wide screen monitor and wanted to have 4 different cyber threat maps up at the same time on it. Ideally in "full screen" mode for each one. The solution requires you to use the Vivaldi browser (based on Chromium). I'm including the link where I found the solution that worked for me: https://superuser.com/questions/139...in-full-screen-mode-each-in-1-4-of-the-screen

The options have changed a little since that post. I'll give you a quick run down if you don't want to look at the link

1. Download and install Vivaldi browser
2. Open settings (click on the drop down next to the V on the left hand side and pick settings)
3. Go to Tabs and scroll down to the Tab Stacking section
4. Pick Compact and check boxes for Open Tabs in Current Tab Stack and Allow stacking by Drag and Drop
5. Scroll down a little further and uncheck box for enable workspaces
6. Close settings
7. Open the sites that you want in different tabs (in my case I had 4 tabs)
8. Slowly drag a tab over another one and keep doing that until all your tabs are stacked
9. Right click on the master tab and pick tile stack (this will evenly space the 4 tabs)
10. You should now be seeing the 4 tabs evenly spaced out in what appears to be 1 tab. You can press F11 at this point to go "full screen"
11. Crack open a beer and enjoy!!!

This is what mine looks like:

ThreatMap.JPG
 
Last edited:

nixaramus

New Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2024
Messages
1 (0.02/day)
TIL the Open As Popup extension will work perfectly for this. it takes away all the browser bars & leaves you with the webpage in a basic window.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2020
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Processor i7-920
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Memory OCZ 3X 1333LV2G
Video Card(s) Radeon 570 8GB
Storage Sandisk SSD
Power Supply 530W
I know that this is almost 4 months later, but if you still need a solution I just came across one myself. I just got a 34 inch wide screen monitor and wanted to have 4 different cyber threat maps up at the same time on it. Ideally in "full screen" mode for each one. The solution requires you to use the Vivaldi browser (based on Chromium). I'm including the link where I found the solution that worked for me: https://superuser.com/questions/139...in-full-screen-mode-each-in-1-4-of-the-screen

The options have changed a little since that post. I'll give you a quick run down if you don't want to look at the link

1. Download and install Vivaldi browser
2. Open settings (click on the drop down next to the V on the left hand side and pick settings)
3. Go to Tabs and scroll down to the Tab Stacking section
4. Pick Compact and check boxes for Open Tabs in Current Tab Stack and Allow stacking by Drag and Drop
5. Scroll down a little further and uncheck box for enable workspaces
6. Close settings
7. Open the sites that you want in different tabs (in my case I had 4 tabs)
8. Slowly drag a tab over another one and keep doing that until all your tabs are stacked
9. Right click on the master tab and pick tile stack (this will evenly space the 4 tabs)
10. You should now be seeing the 4 tabs evenly spaced out in what appears to be 1 tab. You can press F11 at this point to go "full screen"
11. Crack open a beer and enjoy!!!

This is what mine looks like:

View attachment 329062


I was really hyped up cause I thought I finally found a way but my setup still looks like this... Is there any way, any tool that enables me to switch into tab-fullmode in each and every panel? Clicking the fullscreen button in the panels just zooms it all over my TV again...

TIL the Open As Popup extension will work perfectly for this. it takes away all the browser bars & leaves you with the webpage in a basic window.
This almost works for me, almost. I've tried probably 15 different tools now, chrome apps, etc. but this looks the best so far.
 

Attachments

  • techup.jpg
    techup.jpg
    829.7 KB · Views: 75
Top