• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is there any way to set unpartitioned SSD space as reserve space?

Joined
Feb 18, 2010
Messages
1,826 (0.46/day)
System Name Eldritch
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard ASRock X470 Master
Cooling Satan's butthole after going to Taco Bell
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 4*4TB Western Digital Blues in RAID 5, 2*512 GB Samsung 960 Pros
Display(s) Acer CB281HK
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro PH-ES614P_BK
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750 G2
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310
Software Debian Buster
I'm using a 500GB WD Blue SATA drive solely for a 128GB swap partition, and I would like set the unpartitioned space as reserve space for bad sectors. Naturally I looked at the hdparm man page, but the closest I can find is -N (which sets the Host Protected Area) and I'm pretty sure that's not quite what I want. Are there any other places I should be looking?
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
1,145 (0.24/day)
Location
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Processor i7-3770K
Motherboard Biostar Hi-Fi Z77
Cooling Swiftech H20 (w/Custom External Rad Enclosure)
Memory 16GB DDR3-2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Alienware GTX 1070
Storage 1TB Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) 32" LG 1440p
Case Cooler Master 690 (w/Mods)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 750-TX
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard G. Skill Mechanical
Software Windows 10 (X64)
Doesn't the drive handle this on it's own? Just leave it unpartitioned.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
5,351 (2.39/day)
Location
USA
System Name Paladius Tacet
Processor Ryzen 5600x @ Ryzen Master @ Auto OC
Motherboard MSI X570 Tomahawk
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34 DUO
Memory G.Skill 2x16 3600 14-14-14-34 Dual Rank
Video Card(s) Navi 6800 + Smart Access Memory Enabled
Storage 2TB SSD
Display(s) Acer Nitro XF243Y 23.8" 0.5ms IPS 165hz 1080p
Case Corsair 110Q Silent + NZXT Aer-P exhaust fan
Power Supply EVGA 700w Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero SE
Keyboard Logitech Cherry Mx Red
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R20 Single of 618 3dMark Time Spy, 15,385 graphics score, Firestrike 37k 57.2 ns on RAM
I'm using a 500GB WD Blue SATA drive solely for a 128GB swap partition, and I would like set the unpartitioned space as reserve space for bad sectors. Naturally I looked at the hdparm man page, but the closest I can find is -N (which sets the Host Protected Area) and I'm pretty sure that's not quite what I want. Are there any other places I should be looking?
I know on Samsung Magician software there is overprovisioning where you can allocate empty space as much you want for longevity purposes. I know my Micron SSD has software I can download that does this too. I am going to just assume Western Digital dashboard has something similar. I am not sure if this helps or answers the question, I don't think you can pick and choose which sectors to make this apply to
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,377 (8.20/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling GPU: Corsair H110 W/ 4x140 Corsair ML RGB fans CPU: EK 240mm RGB AIO
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) (45C max load, H110 AIO)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
wait i thought this was about over provisioning at first, SSD's dont really do 'bad sectors'
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
5,351 (2.39/day)
Location
USA
System Name Paladius Tacet
Processor Ryzen 5600x @ Ryzen Master @ Auto OC
Motherboard MSI X570 Tomahawk
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34 DUO
Memory G.Skill 2x16 3600 14-14-14-34 Dual Rank
Video Card(s) Navi 6800 + Smart Access Memory Enabled
Storage 2TB SSD
Display(s) Acer Nitro XF243Y 23.8" 0.5ms IPS 165hz 1080p
Case Corsair 110Q Silent + NZXT Aer-P exhaust fan
Power Supply EVGA 700w Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero SE
Keyboard Logitech Cherry Mx Red
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R20 Single of 618 3dMark Time Spy, 15,385 graphics score, Firestrike 37k 57.2 ns on RAM
this automatically happens, just leave an unpartitioned section at the end and the drive does it automatically
So when you do a clean install of windows say on a 1tb drive ssd, just create 30gb unformatted partition? or does windows do it automatically on clean installs?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,377 (8.20/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling GPU: Corsair H110 W/ 4x140 Corsair ML RGB fans CPU: EK 240mm RGB AIO
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) (45C max load, H110 AIO)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
So when you do a clean install of windows say on a 1tb drive ssd, just create 30gb unformatted partition? or does windows do it automatically on clean installs?
i edited my post, sir ninja. If you shrink a partition when in windows (or installing windows, or letting samsungs program shrink it for you) the free space is automatically used for over provisioning and keeping the drive running properly. I'm really not sure if the OP is talking about that or actual bad sectors, which is not how SSDs work.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2010
Messages
1,826 (0.46/day)
System Name Eldritch
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard ASRock X470 Master
Cooling Satan's butthole after going to Taco Bell
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 4*4TB Western Digital Blues in RAID 5, 2*512 GB Samsung 960 Pros
Display(s) Acer CB281HK
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro PH-ES614P_BK
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750 G2
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310
Software Debian Buster
Doesn't the drive handle this on it's own? Just leave it unpartitioned.
I'm not sure, and I'm trying to make sure that it gets handled the way I want it to.

I know on Samsung Magician software there is overprovisioning where you can allocate empty space as much you want for longevity purposes. I know my Micron SSD has software I can download that does this too. I am going to just assume Western Digital dashboard has something similar. I am not sure if this helps or answers the question, I don't think you can pick and choose which sectors to make this apply to
Can't find anything similar for Linux (well, gparted kind of, but it's mostly just partioning).

why do you need a 128g swap?
The story is a mildly complicated, but let's say "future-proofing."

wait i thought this was about over provisioning at first, SSD's dont really do 'bad sectors'
Okay, that is what I'm thinking of - and on that note:
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2020
Messages
107 (1.18/day)
ok my view on it is
the ssd should handle it on its own
you wont be writing enough for anything to die
its a massive waste of a 500 gig ssd
do it to a 32g<
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,377 (8.20/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling GPU: Corsair H110 W/ 4x140 Corsair ML RGB fans CPU: EK 240mm RGB AIO
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) (45C max load, H110 AIO)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
okay yeah if its over provisioning, just leave an empty partition and the drive will use it on its own. That's how they work for all free space, partitioned or not... you're just guaranteeing it, by leaving an empty partition.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2010
Messages
1,826 (0.46/day)
System Name Eldritch
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard ASRock X470 Master
Cooling Satan's butthole after going to Taco Bell
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 4*4TB Western Digital Blues in RAID 5, 2*512 GB Samsung 960 Pros
Display(s) Acer CB281HK
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro PH-ES614P_BK
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750 G2
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310
Software Debian Buster
ok my view on it is
the ssd should handle it on its own
I'm making sure that it does.
you wont be writing enough for anything to die
That's the plan.
its a massive waste of a 500 gig ssd
Maybe, but the 250GB and 500GB had a single digit price difference and I'd rather err on safety.
do it to a 32g<
I'd rather do it once and use it for a long as SATA exists.

Anyways,
Success.png
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2019
Messages
287 (0.66/day)
Location
Canada
System Name New compy
Processor AMD Ryzen 3600x
Motherboard MSI MEG x570 ACE
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S w. FHP141 + Xigmatek AOS
Memory Patriot Viper 16gb ddr4400
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1070 HB SLI
Storage 9.5tb
Display(s) Alienware AW2518H 24" 240hz, LG 43" 4k HDR TV 43UM6910PUA
Case Thermaltake Core v71
Audio Device(s) iFi Nano Idsd Le, Creative T20 + T50, Sennheiser HD6Mix
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1000w
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero custom w. G900 scroll wheel mod, G602, M705
Keyboard Corsair K68 RGB + K70 RGB, MK700
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/83f50d
No need to reserve space, your swap should be written in different spots each time. I use an m2 ssd solely for a pagefile. My temp folders are on an hdd thus keeping the the main os ssd low on writes.
 
Top