1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is this normal?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by bongpack05, Mar 17, 2012.

  1. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,995 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    470
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Pretty much this, I notice it sometimes with both of my 5870s.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. OneMoar

    OneMoar There is Always Moar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,676 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,447
    Location:
    Rochester area
    my 5750 also does it seems to be a trait of GDDR5
     
  3. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,995 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    470
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    The reason that it doesn't happen under Windows, is the AMD drivers actually hides it when the card changes clocks/ resolutions etc.
    You see it under the bios screen is because the drivers aren't loaded yet.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,094 (4.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,870
    Location:
    Ohio
    Happens with my 5870 too, no big deal.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9,855 (5.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,929
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    My 6870s don't and they run GDDR5. I think it depends on the combo of GPU and monitor.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)