• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

IT Certification Tips

So this may not fit the overall topic of this sub-forum, but I am looking for advice on IT professional Certifications. Here is my plan, feel free to critique away:

As a part of my job as a Technician, I am asked to set professional goals. My mind went to certs right away, Comp TIA ones in particular. I have an interest in Networking and Security.

The path I want to take is

Comp TIA A+ ---> Comp TIA Network+ ----> Comp TIA Security+

I like CompTIA certs because they are vendor neutral and stack into specializations. I don't want to be married to Cisco (CCENT or CCNA) and the principles are the same.

Luckily my timetable is two whole years for all three. I feel like I know 80% of what I need to know for the A+ as I have been a technician for 5 years or so. My bachelor's degree was network focused as well (I also studied for the CCNA a while ago too) so I know the fundamentals.

I also may be given access to some online training service (something like TestOut or CertBlaster) in the near future. I may start off with a book. If anybody has any recommendations for books/services, I would appreciate it. Hint: I hit a brick wall whenever I get to subnetting, so any special resource on that would be appreciated too!

Thanks Fellas!

Kursah

Super Moderator
Staff member
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig 2018 (2022 Upgrade) - Ryzen+ Edition | Gaming Laptop (Lenovo Legion 5i Pro 2022)
Processor R7 5800X @ Stock | i7 12700H @ Stock
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X370-F Gaming BIOS 6203| Legion 5i Pro NM-E231
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull + NT-H1 | Stock Cooling
Memory TEAMGROUP T-Force Vulcan Z 32GB (2x16) DDR4 4000 @ 3600 18-20-20-42 1.35v | 32GB DDR5 4800 (2x16)
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce RTX 4070 JetStream 12GB | CPU-based Intel Iris XE + RTX 3070 8GB 150W