• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Latest GPU-Z versions crashing on Windows XP

Dave-H

New Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2019
Messages
4 (0.15/day)
Just a heads up that there seems to be a problem now with GPU-Z on the XP side of my dual boot system.
It's always worked fine for years, and has been regularly updated, but when I recently updated to the latest version (2.27.0) I ran into a severe problem.
I had been using version 2.20.0 previously, and hadn't updated for quite a while.

I have two graphics cards fitted, an old ATI X600, and a more recent nVidia Quadro 2000.
I can use both on XP as there are drivers for both of them.
Now when I run GPU-Z, it defaults to the Quadro 2000, which is fine, but if I try to select the ATI X600, which is the card I'm using, the program immediately locks up and prevents the whole display updating properly.
It does display the data for the ATI card after a long delay, but is completely unresponsive, as is the rest of the desktop, until I forcibly kill it.

By process of elimination, this issue seems to have first appeared with version 2.23.0. Version 2.22.0 is fine, and doesn't have the problem.
Could it be something to do with the high DPI support which was added in 2.23.0?

All versions including the current one, are fine on the Windows 10 side of the machine, needless to say!
I thought this should be mentioned in case others with older systems run into the same problem.
Is this something that can be fixed, or should I just stick with 2.22.0?
Thanks, Dave.
:)
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,885 (3.49/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
I will try to repro today, thanks for the detailed info
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,885 (3.49/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
Won't have time to look into this before Friday evening / weekend. Remind me if I forget
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Messages
1,261 (0.50/day)
Location
Spencerport NY
Just a quick note:
All versions since 2.20 have had some sort of issue, either with legacy OS use or accurately reading legacy hardware info.
Folks that play at HWbot have stopped using anything over ver. 2.20 unless they're running W10.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,885 (3.49/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
Just a reminder!
Sent you a private link to a test build

Just a quick note:
All versions since 2.20 have had some sort of issue, either with legacy OS use or accurately reading legacy hardware info.
Folks that play at HWbot have stopped using anything over ver. 2.20 unless they're running W10.
Please send them over here to report the issues, I can't fix problems I'm not aware of
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Messages
1,261 (0.50/day)
Location
Spencerport NY
Please send them over here to report the issues, I can't fix problems I'm not aware of
I understand and appreciate that. :)
I will try. You know how it is though, people would rather cry about it than actually help fix it.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,885 (3.49/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
I will try. You know how it is though, people would rather cry about it than actually help fix it.
Yeah, but then they shouldn't cry in the first place, takes them 10 seconds to report, and might be hours for me to fix, for free... so not the worst deal

Edit: Problem has been found & fixed, next public release will include these changes
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Messages
1,261 (0.50/day)
Location
Spencerport NY
Yeah, but then they shouldn't cry in the first place, takes them 10 seconds to report, and might be hours for me to fix, for free... so not the worst deal

Edit: Problem has been found & fixed, next public release will include these changes
I do not disagree with you at all............and thank you. :)
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
660 (0.21/day)
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/Intel Box cooler/Intel Box cooler
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2x1TB ADATA SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xCrucial 1TB SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Samsung 1TB SSD+8TB+4TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Win10 64-bit (Main PC v.1809 RTM Enterprise/2nd PC v.1903 Insider Preview Pro/3rd PC - same as 2nd)
I have a GIGABYTE Intel Dothan CPU (1 core, baby! :) ) laptop here still running WinXP. :) (512 MB of RAM)
Do you guys want me to test on that, please?

EDIT: No discrete GPUs on the laptop, though. All it has is some CPU or motherboard built-in, very old Intel graphics.
So, if issue happens with 2 cards, and/or ATI card present, maybe testing on this laptop won't help much.
 
Last edited:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,885 (3.49/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
I have a GIGABYTE Intel Dothan CPU (1 core, baby! :) ) laptop here still running WinXP. :) (512 MB of RAM)
Do you guys want me to test on that, please?
Of course
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
660 (0.21/day)
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/Intel Box cooler/Intel Box cooler
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2x1TB ADATA SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xCrucial 1TB SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Samsung 1TB SSD+8TB+4TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Win10 64-bit (Main PC v.1809 RTM Enterprise/2nd PC v.1903 Insider Preview Pro/3rd PC - same as 2nd)
Of course
Okay, I can test this a bit later today. :) I will let you know how it works out.
No ATI or Nvidia card on this laptop, however.
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
660 (0.21/day)
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/Intel Box cooler/Intel Box cooler
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2x1TB ADATA SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xCrucial 1TB SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Samsung 1TB SSD+8TB+4TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Win10 64-bit (Main PC v.1809 RTM Enterprise/2nd PC v.1903 Insider Preview Pro/3rd PC - same as 2nd)
Sorry for delay, we are in the middle of belated support system migration in our company, so very busy days right now. :)
Works fine for me on WinXP - WinXP is latest SP3, but as I said, no AMD/ATI or Nvidia GPUs on this GIGABYTE laptop, just an integrated Intel GPU (I think this is mobo-integrated, as laptop is very old):



I quit and ran GPU-Z a few times to be sure it works - worked fine also. :)
By the way, seems GPU-Z lacks info on this GPU somehow?! Can you guy(s) fix this? Lookup does not go anywhere correct too, just goes to main page of Techpowerup.
CPU is an Intel Pentium-M, 1 core.
 
Top