• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

LSPCI - Listing PCI Devices

Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,265 (0.85/day)
Location
Sanford, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
It covers PCI-X, PCIe right? I assume that it does by information on it's man page.

What I'm getting at is that my web host and I worked up a new dedicated server with a specific hardware RAID controller. I finally get access to it, start setting up sites and whatnot... but I notice that linux raid is running in the processes. What?! So I do an lspci - the controller isn't listed. What is listed is the integrated ICH8 controller. Grrrrr...

My /proc/scsi/scsi lists two drives, both are Type: Direct-Access. I've always known drives in hardware RAID arrays to be transparent to the system, right?

OH yeah I'm raging. So much so that I'd like a second opinion before I figuaratively break our rep's neck. Could very well be the last straw in a long line of f' ups by this host.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
22,080 (3.56/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
lspci should show the controller. just ask nicely about the discrepancy. make sure all your important data is safe somewhere else. is there a linux software for the controller? install that - it won't work - ask host why it wont work

what kind of server are you looking for? in which location?
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,265 (0.85/day)
Location
Sanford, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
I calmed down and wrote a nice but stern letter. He's "looking into it".

It's that out of our three hosts - Lunarpages, HostGator, and Atlantic.net - the latter causes nearly all of my headaches. The boss has always wanted to keep them because the data center is just down the street from us, and it also gives us an east coast host (Lunar is in California, HostGator is in Texas). But what good is that if we continue to waste time with their problems? But if it gets worked out, good. I have some bigger issues to worry about in the office.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
22,080 (3.56/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
i strongestly suggest you look into softlayer. tpu moved there from theplanet and i've never looked back. i'm as happy as i can be with their services, i dont need much support though.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,265 (0.85/day)
Location
Sanford, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
I have to say, Softlayer is the greatest host I've ever used - and I'm not even on the server yet! It's being provisioned as we speak, but the control panel lists all needed information including it's install status, minutes elapsed, and average time for the process to be completed! HOT!
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,197 (0.90/day)
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
Lol, oddly enough softlayer.com does not work for me..

I'm more suspect of Time warners shoddy as hell DNS though.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (4.56/day)
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
Lol, oddly enough softlayer.com does not work for me..

I'm more suspect of Time warners shoddy as hell DNS though.

You could always try opendns if TW's dns is actually that bad.
 
Top