• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Making windows use all cores more often?

Joined
Oct 28, 2018
Messages
565 (0.96/day)
Location
Zadar, Croatia
System Name SloMo
Processor G4560
Motherboard MSi H110-PRO-D
Cooling LC-CC-95 @ Arctic Cooling fan
Memory 2X Crucial DDR4 2400 4GB
Video Card(s) Integrated HD 610
Storage WD 500 GB + Seagate 500 GB + Toshiba 3 TB
Display(s) Lenovo D221
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Manhattan Flex BT Headphones, Encore P-801 stereo speakers
Power Supply Corsair CX450M
Mouse microsoft office mouse
Keyboard Modecom mc-800m
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores gorstak @ hwbot.org
This dude posted this:


In the description, he does say the video is a joke, but I tried his "solution" anyway, and noticed task manager shows 100% cpu usage during benchmarks, whereas it shows only 50% without the tweak. Benchmark scores are the same, however. So what does the tweak actually do?

And second question. I tried disabling HT in BIOS and ran the test again with tweak on, and my cpu score was way down, but my boot hdd scores went sky high and all the rest of the pc seems to get higher scores. Why? I reenabled HT afterwards, and my boot drive kept it's very high speed.

I tested with this tool
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
8,516 (2.29/day)
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel Xeon X3470
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. P55A-UD3R (Socket 1156)
Cooling Enermax ETS-T40F
Memory Samsung 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800
Storage V-GEN03AS18EU120GB, Seagate 2 x 1TB and Seagate 4TB
Display(s) Samsung 21 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case Icute Super 18
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte
Power Supply Silverstone 600 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Sades Excalibur + Taihao keycaps
Software Win 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
I think in real world softwares cant utilize all of it, except virtualization or benchmark
Most just take 2 or 3
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
9,214 (3.30/day)
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MGK-1 RGB (Kaith Blue)
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Im selling dragon repellant if anyone is interested. $1000/ bottle

but I tried his "solution"
i was just gonna post This :shadedshu::slap::nutkick::shadedshu: , but i decided to stop this before it got worse.


you do realize that changing boot option affects the BOOTING of windows right? not the normal usage of windows. its for trouble shooting , etc. this is the same as this, its a joke to fool gullible people. im not clikcing your link of what tool your using to test "perf" gains after applying a non existent "method" , but it is not a real video in the sense that it is totally a joke, it is whats called a placebo.

 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 28, 2018
Messages
565 (0.96/day)
Location
Zadar, Croatia
System Name SloMo
Processor G4560
Motherboard MSi H110-PRO-D
Cooling LC-CC-95 @ Arctic Cooling fan
Memory 2X Crucial DDR4 2400 4GB
Video Card(s) Integrated HD 610
Storage WD 500 GB + Seagate 500 GB + Toshiba 3 TB
Display(s) Lenovo D221
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Manhattan Flex BT Headphones, Encore P-801 stereo speakers
Power Supply Corsair CX450M
Mouse microsoft office mouse
Keyboard Modecom mc-800m
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores gorstak @ hwbot.org
Well, there is actually 3 more people posting the similar thing...

This dude mentions something called core parking

Is that what it is? Just like clock being lowered when cpu is not in use, windows park cores when cpu is idle?

I went on reading, and found that Intel patented something like this, but uses it, or it will use it in the future to draw heat away from active cores.

I figure, what this does is simply make all cores, or better put, threads, active at all times, resulting in increased power usage, but also decreases your bootup time, since windows uses all threads to boot, instead of just one.
 

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
21,508 (3.98/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 1x 250GB 960 EVO | 1x 500gb Intel 720p | 32TB SAN
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Schiit Fulla 3 on Beyerdynamic DT 990 Pros
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Kone Aimo White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
B-but this is fake. The setting under msconfig isnt set by default, it already utilizes all CPUs. Modern operating systems (I think XP had a dual HAL) contain SMT HAL during the boot process so anything that can run multithreaded will.

These features are for advanced debugging or troubleshooting. He didnt "enable" anything since by default those options are already set to utilize everything availible. All he did was change the registry value to the specified value instead of having it on auto detect.

This can actually be not good if you ever decide to upgrade your CPU, because unless you remember the boot process atleast (because these options do NOT affect the rest of the system) will only utilize the threads specified (though honestly it may not make a huge difference anyway).
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2018
Messages
565 (0.96/day)
Location
Zadar, Croatia
System Name SloMo
Processor G4560
Motherboard MSi H110-PRO-D
Cooling LC-CC-95 @ Arctic Cooling fan
Memory 2X Crucial DDR4 2400 4GB
Video Card(s) Integrated HD 610
Storage WD 500 GB + Seagate 500 GB + Toshiba 3 TB
Display(s) Lenovo D221
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Manhattan Flex BT Headphones, Encore P-801 stereo speakers
Power Supply Corsair CX450M
Mouse microsoft office mouse
Keyboard Modecom mc-800m
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores gorstak @ hwbot.org
I'm just speculating here. The option he mentions in the vid is real, but what it actually does is different that what he says it does.
 

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
21,508 (3.98/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 1x 250GB 960 EVO | 1x 500gb Intel 720p | 32TB SAN
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Schiit Fulla 3 on Beyerdynamic DT 990 Pros
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Kone Aimo White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
I'm just speculating here. The option he mentions in the vid is real, but what it actually does is different that what he says it does.
No problem no need to speculate, this isnt the undiscovered surface of mars. You can just go read the MSDN articles provided by Microsoft to see what these options do.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2018
Messages
565 (0.96/day)
Location
Zadar, Croatia
System Name SloMo
Processor G4560
Motherboard MSi H110-PRO-D
Cooling LC-CC-95 @ Arctic Cooling fan
Memory 2X Crucial DDR4 2400 4GB
Video Card(s) Integrated HD 610
Storage WD 500 GB + Seagate 500 GB + Toshiba 3 TB
Display(s) Lenovo D221
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Manhattan Flex BT Headphones, Encore P-801 stereo speakers
Power Supply Corsair CX450M
Mouse microsoft office mouse
Keyboard Modecom mc-800m
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores gorstak @ hwbot.org
No problem no need to speculate, this isnt the undiscovered surface of mars. You can just go read the MSDN articles provided by Microsoft to see what these options do.
Can you link the article? I'm googling but can't seem to find it.
 

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
21,508 (3.98/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 1x 250GB 960 EVO | 1x 500gb Intel 720p | 32TB SAN
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Schiit Fulla 3 on Beyerdynamic DT 990 Pros
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Kone Aimo White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Joined
Oct 28, 2018
Messages
565 (0.96/day)
Location
Zadar, Croatia
System Name SloMo
Processor G4560
Motherboard MSi H110-PRO-D
Cooling LC-CC-95 @ Arctic Cooling fan
Memory 2X Crucial DDR4 2400 4GB
Video Card(s) Integrated HD 610
Storage WD 500 GB + Seagate 500 GB + Toshiba 3 TB
Display(s) Lenovo D221
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Manhattan Flex BT Headphones, Encore P-801 stereo speakers
Power Supply Corsair CX450M
Mouse microsoft office mouse
Keyboard Modecom mc-800m
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores gorstak @ hwbot.org

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
21,508 (3.98/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 1x 250GB 960 EVO | 1x 500gb Intel 720p | 32TB SAN
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Schiit Fulla 3 on Beyerdynamic DT 990 Pros
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Kone Aimo White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
you could of course try adding CPU to the search string, or doing any kind of heavy lifting yourself.

Naturally you also of course have the option to learn IT skills from a 16 year old boy on youtube.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2018
Messages
565 (0.96/day)
Location
Zadar, Croatia
System Name SloMo
Processor G4560
Motherboard MSi H110-PRO-D
Cooling LC-CC-95 @ Arctic Cooling fan
Memory 2X Crucial DDR4 2400 4GB
Video Card(s) Integrated HD 610
Storage WD 500 GB + Seagate 500 GB + Toshiba 3 TB
Display(s) Lenovo D221
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Manhattan Flex BT Headphones, Encore P-801 stereo speakers
Power Supply Corsair CX450M
Mouse microsoft office mouse
Keyboard Modecom mc-800m
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores gorstak @ hwbot.org
Whaa? This is some helpful forum! :D
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2015
Messages
32 (0.02/day)
System Name main rig
Processor 1600X @4.05ghz
Motherboard ASUS B350 Prime PLUS
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Corsair 16 GB (dual ch.)
Video Card(s) Pitcairn XT
Storage 500 GB SSD, 12 TB RAID0
Display(s) UltraGear 27GL850-B w/ Freesync
Case Antec P193
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar
Power Supply Corsair 650W
Mouse MX518
Keyboard daskeyboard s /w cherry red switches
Software Fedora Rawhide
Can you link the article? I'm googling but can't seem to find it.
https://www.geoffchappell.com/notes/windows/boot/bcd/osloader/numproc.htm

don't use the option, it has no other use than testing purpose nowadays. windows will autodetect # of logical cores and you can artificially reduce these by setting /numproc manually.
there is no performance advantage *WHATSOEVER* by setting this manually to your number of cores. this is an outdated poorly implemented switch of bcdedit.exe which dates back to server management due to licencenced processor core counts mismatching actual present core counts which could lead to problems (but normally didn't since this was auto-detected and set correctly according to license and physically present cores anyway)

tl;dr it is an old workaround/debug switch which nowadays can only be used to reduce the logical cores windows will use.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2018
Messages
565 (0.96/day)
Location
Zadar, Croatia
System Name SloMo
Processor G4560
Motherboard MSi H110-PRO-D
Cooling LC-CC-95 @ Arctic Cooling fan
Memory 2X Crucial DDR4 2400 4GB
Video Card(s) Integrated HD 610
Storage WD 500 GB + Seagate 500 GB + Toshiba 3 TB
Display(s) Lenovo D221
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Manhattan Flex BT Headphones, Encore P-801 stereo speakers
Power Supply Corsair CX450M
Mouse microsoft office mouse
Keyboard Modecom mc-800m
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores gorstak @ hwbot.org
https://www.geoffchappell.com/notes/windows/boot/bcd/osloader/numproc.htm

don't use the option, it has no other use than testing purpose nowadays. windows will autodetect # of logical cores and you can artificially reduce these by setting /numproc manually.
there is no performance advantage *WHATSOEVER* by setting this manually to your number of cores. this is an outdated poorly implemented switch of bcdedit.exe which dates back to server management due to licencenced processor core counts mismatching actual present core counts which could lead to problems (but normally didn't since this was auto-detected and set correctly according to license and physically present cores anyway)

tl;dr it is an old workaround/debug switch which nowadays can only be used to reduce the logical cores windows will use.
Thanks man. So can I still use it to assign only one thread to windows and all other threads to some app or something? Is there ANY use to this, except for debugging (defective cores)?
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
2,707 (1.39/day)
Location
On The Highway To Hell \m/
Do search core parking. It's real and as relevant to your intended topic as you're going to get. Though it's also something that's not likely to yield "significant" performance benefits when you modify how Windows handles it.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2015
Messages
32 (0.02/day)
System Name main rig
Processor 1600X @4.05ghz
Motherboard ASUS B350 Prime PLUS
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Corsair 16 GB (dual ch.)
Video Card(s) Pitcairn XT
Storage 500 GB SSD, 12 TB RAID0
Display(s) UltraGear 27GL850-B w/ Freesync
Case Antec P193
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar
Power Supply Corsair 650W
Mouse MX518
Keyboard daskeyboard s /w cherry red switches
Software Fedora Rawhide
Thanks man. So can I still use it to assign only one thread to windows and all other threads to some app or something?
No. You choose how many logical cores you want to expose to the whole OS runtime. If you choose a value of 2 for example your Windows will boot and only have 2 CPU cores available to use.
The others are basically disabled / non-visible to the whole OS and all apps you run.

I think your basic understanding of this is missing. Because what you mean with "assign only x thread to ..." would be the affinity of a program which you can set through commandline , through registry (contextmenu custom open as), or through taskmgr.exe after the process has started.

You should really get acquainted on how process and resource management works in general before making wild guesses about very exotic config switches.

Do research here:
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/

and here:
https://technet.microsoft.com/en-ie/ms376608.aspx

and here:
https://www.google.com



edit: since it has been mentioned and is at least remotely relevant to the topic, "core parking" has nothing to do with the /numproc switch, nor does it have to do with process affinity settings
core parking is when OS puts individual cores into c6 state (sleep state) because power profile allows so (i.e. "Balanced")
and yes, disabling core parking / changing power profile to high perf. can improve responsiveness of your system since changing c states automatically means inserted latencies (small but nonetheless present...)
 
Last edited:

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
16,205 (3.11/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 5 2600x
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire I think
Memory 2 x 8GB G-skill Aegis 3000 or somesuch
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case Some old Antec
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + slightly modded Sony DR-ZX302
Power Supply Fractal Design Effekt 400W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Dell Sk3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great
Thanks man. So can I still use it to assign only one thread to windows and all other threads to some app or something? Is there ANY use to this, except for debugging (defective cores)?
Windows is a compilation of dozens of processes; I don't think there's a way to globally assign just one core to the ones that we think of as "Windows", and besides that would probably be a bad idea. There's a ton of things going on in the background of a modern machine (especially if you're connected to the Internet) and Windows has to manage all of them. You can set certain processes to only run one one logical core in the task manager.

I assume you can set the Windows proccesses to core 1 and everything else to not use core 1 and see what happens...
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
1,683 (0.61/day)
System Name BoX-Server | 775PC
Processor I3 3.5GHZ (3150) | Modded Xeon E5450 (OC @3.60)
Motherboard ASRock B85M-ITX | ASUS P5Q-EM
Cooling stock | 92MM Heatsink RGB
Memory 8GB DDR3 | 8GB DDR2
Video Card(s) AMD 5450 | XFX GTX750Ti 2GB
Storage 120GB SSD 1TB WD | 120GB SSD 1TB Seagate 500GB HDD <<
Display(s) DELL 17" LCD 1280x1024 | ASUS 24" LCD IPS
Case CoolerMaster 110 | RoseWill ZIRCON
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 610WATT | Rosewill 550WATT
Mouse Input-Director| RoseWill FUSION C40
Keyboard Input-Director | RoseWill FUSION
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
That dude like 2-3yrs ago posted fake videos like how to boost this/that which was stupid but NOW he knows better but still his videos... Take Em' with a pinch of salt :slap:
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2015
Messages
32 (0.02/day)
System Name main rig
Processor 1600X @4.05ghz
Motherboard ASUS B350 Prime PLUS
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Corsair 16 GB (dual ch.)
Video Card(s) Pitcairn XT
Storage 500 GB SSD, 12 TB RAID0
Display(s) UltraGear 27GL850-B w/ Freesync
Case Antec P193
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar
Power Supply Corsair 650W
Mouse MX518
Keyboard daskeyboard s /w cherry red switches
Software Fedora Rawhide
That dude like 2-3yrs ago posted fake videos like how to boost this/that which was stupid but NOW he knows better but still his videos... Take Em' with a pinch of salt :slap:
Didn't wanna say something about it but ... to be honest ... I even think he posted the video initally to be serious and then edited the video description to it "being a joke" after finding out it does nothing / is placebo... at least judging by his level of depth in other PC related videos of him.
 
Top