• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Mandriva Gnome 64 questions

Fox34

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
2,048 (0.48/day)
Likes
96
Location
Venice
System Name Amber
Processor AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+ Toledo 3.0GHz/2.0GHz 1.5V
Motherboard DFI Lanparty UT NF4 SLI Expert
Cooling Air: 1 80mm-Intake-top | 4-120mm 3-intake-1-exhaust | Proc 120mm blue orbII | N.B-T.T Key 3|
Memory 2GIG, 4x512 Kingston Hyper-X DDR333 PC 2700@167Mhz |2-2-2-5|-7-1T-8(CPU-Z) Dual channel
Video Card(s) 2 PNY Verto 8600GT'S in SLI, 670MHz/540MHz(Core)800MHz/700MHz
Storage 320 Gig Western digital SATA
Display(s) Sony 17" LCD 1280x1024 @ 75Htz
Case Sunbeam clear acrylic
Audio Device(s) Native Instuments Guitar Rig 3
Power Supply 520 Watt Aspire Dual rail +12#1 16 amps +12#2 18 amps(I think)
Software Fedora Core 8, Windows Vista
#1
I'm downloading a Mandriva 64 bit Gnome torrent, wondering if anybody use's it. If you guys have used it or use it wondering if you get any problems, what to look for/optimize, what to download for it, and how its like overall.
 

Fox34

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
2,048 (0.48/day)
Likes
96
Location
Venice
System Name Amber
Processor AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+ Toledo 3.0GHz/2.0GHz 1.5V
Motherboard DFI Lanparty UT NF4 SLI Expert
Cooling Air: 1 80mm-Intake-top | 4-120mm 3-intake-1-exhaust | Proc 120mm blue orbII | N.B-T.T Key 3|
Memory 2GIG, 4x512 Kingston Hyper-X DDR333 PC 2700@167Mhz |2-2-2-5|-7-1T-8(CPU-Z) Dual channel
Video Card(s) 2 PNY Verto 8600GT'S in SLI, 670MHz/540MHz(Core)800MHz/700MHz
Storage 320 Gig Western digital SATA
Display(s) Sony 17" LCD 1280x1024 @ 75Htz
Case Sunbeam clear acrylic
Audio Device(s) Native Instuments Guitar Rig 3
Power Supply 520 Watt Aspire Dual rail +12#1 16 amps +12#2 18 amps(I think)
Software Fedora Core 8, Windows Vista
#2
Wow, so I got it installed, you cant even change the resolution from anything higher than 800x600, Its prob not supporting my video cards but suse does, so I guess I will stick with that instead:cool:
 

Atech

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2006
Messages
284 (0.07/day)
Likes
11
Processor Kentsfield Q6600 @ 2.8GHz "I eat source code before breakfast"
Motherboard Asus Striker Extreme 680i (NB:C55XE, SB:MCP55XE)
Cooling Zalman 9700, 1*200mm fan, 5*120mm fans
Memory 8GB OCZ PC6400 - 4*2 @ 622MHz (stability problems)
Video Card(s) Geforce 8800GTS
Storage 2* Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB - no RAID
Display(s) Mitsubishi Diamond Plus 74SB
Case Antec Nine Hundred + optional fans
Audio Device(s) On board (sort of - SupremeFX ADI 1988B)
Power Supply Corsair HW 620w
Software Gentoo GNU+Linux amd64 (latest development kernel)
#3
Wow, so I got it installed, you cant even change the resolution from anything higher than 800x600, Its prob not supporting my video cards but suse does, so I guess I will stick with that instead:cool:
You'll have to make sure that X.org (the GUI server) knows what resolutions your monitor is capable of. You'll need to edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
Code:
#sudo nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf
w "Screen"
Then, find the section, before EndSection, with "Depth 24" in it (presuming you want 24 bit colour), and add a Modes line, as so:
Code:
     SubSection "Display"
         Viewport     0 0
         Depth     24
         Modes     "1600x1200" "1280x1024"
     EndSubsection
Where the resolutions are those that your monitor can use. Save it with
Ctrl+O, return.
Log out to gdm, restart the X server with
Ctrl+Alt+Backspace
Log in and see whether its worked/you can select that resolution.
 

Fox34

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
2,048 (0.48/day)
Likes
96
Location
Venice
System Name Amber
Processor AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+ Toledo 3.0GHz/2.0GHz 1.5V
Motherboard DFI Lanparty UT NF4 SLI Expert
Cooling Air: 1 80mm-Intake-top | 4-120mm 3-intake-1-exhaust | Proc 120mm blue orbII | N.B-T.T Key 3|
Memory 2GIG, 4x512 Kingston Hyper-X DDR333 PC 2700@167Mhz |2-2-2-5|-7-1T-8(CPU-Z) Dual channel
Video Card(s) 2 PNY Verto 8600GT'S in SLI, 670MHz/540MHz(Core)800MHz/700MHz
Storage 320 Gig Western digital SATA
Display(s) Sony 17" LCD 1280x1024 @ 75Htz
Case Sunbeam clear acrylic
Audio Device(s) Native Instuments Guitar Rig 3
Power Supply 520 Watt Aspire Dual rail +12#1 16 amps +12#2 18 amps(I think)
Software Fedora Core 8, Windows Vista
#4
Well no more mandriva...I've been trying to get a Linux install for 3 days.:banghead::banghead::banghead: Ive never had this many problems, So my suse disks for 10.2 installed, but will not boot into the graphic interface it stays at the text based. My 10.3 cd Is missing something like always, so now I'm downloading Knoppix 5.1, any other suggestions of Linux distros that actually work?

EDIT: Ok the Knoppix worked and booted! But it was in German......AHHH. Well then I noticed the name of my torrent. Knoppix blahblah DE.iso. *DE* So I got the English one, its live, then I'm pretty darn sure I can install it right from the live boot.
 
Last edited:

Fox34

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
2,048 (0.48/day)
Likes
96
Location
Venice
System Name Amber
Processor AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+ Toledo 3.0GHz/2.0GHz 1.5V
Motherboard DFI Lanparty UT NF4 SLI Expert
Cooling Air: 1 80mm-Intake-top | 4-120mm 3-intake-1-exhaust | Proc 120mm blue orbII | N.B-T.T Key 3|
Memory 2GIG, 4x512 Kingston Hyper-X DDR333 PC 2700@167Mhz |2-2-2-5|-7-1T-8(CPU-Z) Dual channel
Video Card(s) 2 PNY Verto 8600GT'S in SLI, 670MHz/540MHz(Core)800MHz/700MHz
Storage 320 Gig Western digital SATA
Display(s) Sony 17" LCD 1280x1024 @ 75Htz
Case Sunbeam clear acrylic
Audio Device(s) Native Instuments Guitar Rig 3
Power Supply 520 Watt Aspire Dual rail +12#1 16 amps +12#2 18 amps(I think)
Software Fedora Core 8, Windows Vista
#5
Well, Ive been trying to install a flavor of linux for 4 days straight....before Its taken a few hours. So I used the knoppix, it sucks cause it ONLY live, mandriva looked bad and I did not try to fix the res as I lost the disk, I got suse 10.2 to install but when I go to start the x window system, with Startx, it says "fatal error, no screens found". So then I used Fedora core 6, 6 freaking cds later, and when you start ITS x window system, my screen goes into standby and I get no video. Linux sucks I swear to god can some one help me I love linux and want it back. The suse is still installed I just need to fix the fatal error.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
1,192 (0.30/day)
Likes
128
Location
scotland
System Name spuds K8-X2
Processor amd athlon X2 4200+ toledo s939 2794mhz 254x11 1.4 vcore
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo4-F v1.0 (MS-7125) nforce4 sata2 mod, laptop cpu heatpipe copper nb cooler
Cooling akasa evo "blue" + 90mm fan, 2x120mm front, 250mm side, 120mm rear, 120mm in psu, pci slot exhaust.
Memory OCZ Platinum XTC DDR PC3200 4GB(4x1024) @254mhz 3-3-3-8 2T
Video Card(s) sapphire HD3870 512mb GDDR4 vf900cu, several ramsinks on components / nvidia 7300gt 256mb secondary
Storage hitachi 160gb (slightly fried) / hitachi 120gb ATA / Seagate 160gb / 2x ps3 seagate 60gb
Display(s) CTX EX1300F 20" flat CRT, 1280x1024@100hz / 19" benq FP91G X / 19" hanns-g (all free)
Case mesh server/gaming black case, 9x 5.25' drive bays, silvestone auto fan controller
Audio Device(s) onboard realtek alc850 7.1/soundblaster LIVE! ct4780 + kxaudio - sony home theatre surround
Power Supply winpower 650w, system draws around 470-500w under load(+all screens)
Software win7 64bit
Benchmark Scores ~16m trips/sec using mty trip generator. triple monitor gaming using SoftTH. 3840x1024
#6
i used mandriva kde for a bit, only for music really, installed ok on this system, i didnt use the live version to install.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,380 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,293
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#7
Well no more mandriva...I've been trying to get a Linux install for 3 days.:banghead::banghead::banghead: Ive never had this many problems, So my suse disks for 10.2 installed, but will not boot into the graphic interface it stays at the text based. My 10.3 cd Is missing something like always, so now I'm downloading Knoppix 5.1, any other suggestions of Linux distros that actually work?

EDIT: Ok the Knoppix worked and booted! But it was in German......AHHH. Well then I noticed the name of my torrent. Knoppix blahblah DE.iso. *DE* So I got the English one, its live, then I'm pretty darn sure I can install it right from the live boot.

if its booting but your getting nothing but text i had this prob w/ suse once type

startx

or startgui
 

Fox34

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
2,048 (0.48/day)
Likes
96
Location
Venice
System Name Amber
Processor AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+ Toledo 3.0GHz/2.0GHz 1.5V
Motherboard DFI Lanparty UT NF4 SLI Expert
Cooling Air: 1 80mm-Intake-top | 4-120mm 3-intake-1-exhaust | Proc 120mm blue orbII | N.B-T.T Key 3|
Memory 2GIG, 4x512 Kingston Hyper-X DDR333 PC 2700@167Mhz |2-2-2-5|-7-1T-8(CPU-Z) Dual channel
Video Card(s) 2 PNY Verto 8600GT'S in SLI, 670MHz/540MHz(Core)800MHz/700MHz
Storage 320 Gig Western digital SATA
Display(s) Sony 17" LCD 1280x1024 @ 75Htz
Case Sunbeam clear acrylic
Audio Device(s) Native Instuments Guitar Rig 3
Power Supply 520 Watt Aspire Dual rail +12#1 16 amps +12#2 18 amps(I think)
Software Fedora Core 8, Windows Vista
#8
when I do that command it says "Fatal error, no screen found"
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,380 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,293
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#9
you need to compile or un the drivers
 

Atech

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2006
Messages
284 (0.07/day)
Likes
11
Processor Kentsfield Q6600 @ 2.8GHz "I eat source code before breakfast"
Motherboard Asus Striker Extreme 680i (NB:C55XE, SB:MCP55XE)
Cooling Zalman 9700, 1*200mm fan, 5*120mm fans
Memory 8GB OCZ PC6400 - 4*2 @ 622MHz (stability problems)
Video Card(s) Geforce 8800GTS
Storage 2* Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB - no RAID
Display(s) Mitsubishi Diamond Plus 74SB
Case Antec Nine Hundred + optional fans
Audio Device(s) On board (sort of - SupremeFX ADI 1988B)
Power Supply Corsair HW 620w
Software Gentoo GNU+Linux amd64 (latest development kernel)
#10
when I do that command it says "Fatal error, no screen found"
When you booted the live CD, did you have a GUI then? Is it only when you reboot that you get that error?

If so, then do
X -configure.

If that works, then do
sudo cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.back
sudo cp ~/xorg.new /etc/X11/xorg.conf

If you don't get a GUI with your live CD, you could either need to
1) Search how to set up your xorg.conf or
2) Install 3rd party drivers (rarely necessary just to get X.org to come up)
3) Switch to another distro that works ;)
 

Fox34

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
2,048 (0.48/day)
Likes
96
Location
Venice
System Name Amber
Processor AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+ Toledo 3.0GHz/2.0GHz 1.5V
Motherboard DFI Lanparty UT NF4 SLI Expert
Cooling Air: 1 80mm-Intake-top | 4-120mm 3-intake-1-exhaust | Proc 120mm blue orbII | N.B-T.T Key 3|
Memory 2GIG, 4x512 Kingston Hyper-X DDR333 PC 2700@167Mhz |2-2-2-5|-7-1T-8(CPU-Z) Dual channel
Video Card(s) 2 PNY Verto 8600GT'S in SLI, 670MHz/540MHz(Core)800MHz/700MHz
Storage 320 Gig Western digital SATA
Display(s) Sony 17" LCD 1280x1024 @ 75Htz
Case Sunbeam clear acrylic
Audio Device(s) Native Instuments Guitar Rig 3
Power Supply 520 Watt Aspire Dual rail +12#1 16 amps +12#2 18 amps(I think)
Software Fedora Core 8, Windows Vista
#11
Ok I have about 6 different distros throughout 15 disks, Im getting so irritated Ive got the PC for downloading and burning then my pc on the floor. Suse 10.3 had an error, and no it wasnt live it was an install, but the gui worked on the install screen but yea after I go to boot the x window system.