• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Message Signal Interrupts - Yes or No?

QwerkyPengwen

New Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2021
Messages
3 (0.38/day)
Hi there folks, I have seen this option, and with the most basic information being provided via the "help" hyper links, I am asking here to maybe get some more clarification.
Should I enable this option or not.
From what I can tell it is entirely dependent on the all of the main hardware for your system and what that hardware is.

So I'll tell you what hardware I have, and you can tell me if I should enable it or not, and which options to use, while also explaining WHY I should use said options (as in what it pertains to in regards to my hardware config)

GTX 1080 Ti
MSI Z170-A Gaming M5 motherboard
i7-6700K
16GB DDR4 2666MHz (4x4GB)
Using DisplayPort on the Dell S2716DG monitor (1440p / 144Hz / G-Sync)

As far as I can tell, that is the only hardware that would need to be known to determine how to go about messing with this option, if at all.
But if there is anything else you need to know about my system just ask :)
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2019
Messages
484 (0.72/day)
Location
Canada
System Name New compy
Processor AMD Ryzen 3600x
Motherboard MSI MEG x570 ACE
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S w. FHP141 + Xigmatek AOS XAF-F1451
Memory 32gb G.Skill F4-4000C18D-32GVK
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 FTW3 Ultra Gaming
Storage 9.5tb
Display(s) Alienware AW2518H 24" 240hz, LG 43" 4k HDR TV 43UM6910PUA
Case Thermaltake Core v71
Audio Device(s) iFi Nano Idsd Le, Creative T20 + T50, Sennheiser HD6Mix
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1000w
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero custom w. G900 scroll wheel mod, G602, M705, G305
Keyboard Corsair K68 RGB + K70 RGB + K57 RGB Wireless
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/83f50d
Yes imo you should use msi mode, the benefit is that your gpu is taken out of the irq queue and given its instructions directly.

Click here to download msi util v3.

Run as admin (you may have to make the window bigger to see everything), find your gpu in the list and check the box under msi to enable msi mode and click apply in top right corner.

Restart and during the restart go into bios, save and exit without making any changes.

After restart re-run the msi utility, your gpu IRQ should now be a negative number to indicate msi mode is active.

You will need to re-do the above if you update your gpu driver.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
31,083 (6.05/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Feb 1, 2019
Messages
138 (0.15/day)
System Name Main PC
Processor 9900k@4.8ghz
Motherboard Asrock Fatality K6 Z370
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S
Memory 32 Gig 3200CL12 @ 3333@CL13
Video Card(s) 3080 RTX FE
Storage 970 EVO 1TB
Display(s) LG 27GL850
Case Fractal Define R4
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X
Power Supply Antec HCG 750
I would enable unless it causes problems.

I think the default seems to be hardware dependent, there are people who report they dont have MSI enabled by default, and people who have it enabled by default, on my haswell it was off by default, but I could enable it with no problems, on my z370 board, its enabled by default and again no problems.
 

QwerkyPengwen

New Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2021
Messages
3 (0.38/day)
Yes imo you should use msi mode, the benefit is that your gpu is taken out of the irq queue and given its instructions directly.

Click here to download msi util v3.

Run as admin (you may have to make the window bigger to see everything), find your gpu in the list and check the box under msi to enable msi mode and click apply in top right corner.

Restart and during the restart go into bios, save and exit without making any changes.

After restart re-run the msi utility, your gpu IRQ should now be a negative number to indicate msi mode is active.

You will need to re-do the above if you update your gpu driver.

This is definitely information, but not good enough information I'm sorry.
I thought my question was pretty clear, but "enabling" it doesn't help me much since I don't know what settings to use.

I guess clarification needs to be made in regards to the first poster in responses:
If using this utility you linked, I assume then I don't need to do anything in regards to the setting in the NVCleanInstall program? (because you didn't say anything in regards to said option in the program)
Otherwise, if I still need to check that option in NVCI, at this point I want to know what drop down menu options to use, or should I leave it at "default"

And if I do have to tick the box and choose an option other than "default" why a specific option over another?

Otherwise, if this utility is just an alternative to using the tick box option, then say so, but that also brings up the initial question still regarding those drop down menu options.

What is it set to by default?


Pci Standard 2.2+ Supports MSI.
Not sure what it is set to by default. The link you provided seems to have some good info, however, it's a lot to read just to find out how to get you the answer you are looking for. Can you just give me the quick and dirty instruction to give you the answer you seek?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
31,083 (6.05/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
This is definitely information, but not good enough information I'm sorry.
I thought my question was pretty clear, but "enabling" it doesn't help me much since I don't know what settings to use.

I guess clarification needs to be made in regards to the first poster in responses:
If using this utility you linked, I assume then I don't need to do anything in regards to the setting in the NVCleanInstall program? (because you didn't say anything in regards to said option in the program)
Otherwise, if I still need to check that option in NVCI, at this point I want to know what drop down menu options to use, or should I leave it at "default"

And if I do have to tick the box and choose an option other than "default" why a specific option over another?

Otherwise, if this utility is just an alternative to using the tick box option, then say so, but that also brings up the initial question still regarding those drop down menu options.


Not sure what it is set to by default. The link you provided seems to have some good info, however, it's a lot to read just to find out how to get you the answer you are looking for. Can you just give me the quick and dirty instruction to give you the answer you seek?

Enable it, follow directions on that page and read your motherboard manual, PCIE uses it regardless.
 

QwerkyPengwen

New Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2021
Messages
3 (0.38/day)
I see I will have to look elsewhere to get my questions answered.
Have a nice day folks. :)
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
22,491 (3.58/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
Let us know if you find out something
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
31,083 (6.05/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Sep 27, 2019
Messages
484 (0.72/day)
Location
Canada
System Name New compy
Processor AMD Ryzen 3600x
Motherboard MSI MEG x570 ACE
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S w. FHP141 + Xigmatek AOS XAF-F1451
Memory 32gb G.Skill F4-4000C18D-32GVK
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 FTW3 Ultra Gaming
Storage 9.5tb
Display(s) Alienware AW2518H 24" 240hz, LG 43" 4k HDR TV 43UM6910PUA
Case Thermaltake Core v71
Audio Device(s) iFi Nano Idsd Le, Creative T20 + T50, Sennheiser HD6Mix
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1000w
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero custom w. G900 scroll wheel mod, G602, M705, G305
Keyboard Corsair K68 RGB + K70 RGB + K57 RGB Wireless
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/83f50d
By default msi is not enabled, it needs to be enabled manually afaik. I'm reasonably sure your hardware supports it otherwise I wouldn't have recommended it.

The utility app I linked to is just a quick and easy way to enable it without reinstalling anything.

Some games benefit more than others, but most games benefit from it afaik. If you're not gaming with your pc you don't need to worry about msi mode on your gpu.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
15,638 (3.07/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X570
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (Product of work, yes it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/25631365 www.3dmark.com/spy/20539287 www.3dmark.com/pr/1054199
It's main benefit is it'll reduce DPC latency if you are sharing IRQ's with anything.

Otherwise it's pretty much the same on as off.

The NVIDIA driver is pretty dumb about turning it on and won't do it except in some strange circumstances, thus the setting in nvcleanstall. IRQ sharing is actually quite common, so it's probably safer to just toggle it on.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
5,267 (1.35/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor AMD RYZEN 5950X
Motherboard ASUS Strix X570-E
Cooling Custom Loop. Two 360ies + 280 rad. 8x Nidec Servo Gentle Typhoons. EK-Quantum Momentum monoblock.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz 15-15-15-36 CR1[16-18-18-32-50;TRFC560@3200MHz]]
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung PM981 NVMe 1TB + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270 + Acer XV242Y
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow V3 - Yellow Switch
Software Windows 10 insider
It's main benefit is it'll reduce DPC latency if you are sharing IRQ's with anything.

Otherwise it's pretty much the same on as off.

The NVIDIA driver is pretty dumb about turning it on and won't do it except in some strange circumstances, thus the setting in nvcleanstall. IRQ sharing is actually quite common, so it's probably safer to just toggle it on.

IMHO the culprit is the old nForce 6(?) chipset that didn't support it and it really stems from that time as a habit. It is a question for nvidia that already goes into mysticism.

Maybe nobody have ever filled a bug/feature ticket to enable it?
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
15,638 (3.07/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X570
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (Product of work, yes it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/25631365 www.3dmark.com/spy/20539287 www.3dmark.com/pr/1054199
nForce... boy, that word takes me down memory lane...
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
6,836 (4.12/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L240 V2
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX - 3333 Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080 with Kraken G12 + Water 3.0 Performer C
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Deepcool Matrexx 70
Power Supply GPS-750C
Maybe nobody have ever filled a bug/feature ticket to enable it?
Or, more likely, it messes up other things that they aren't willing to investigate and fix either.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
15,638 (3.07/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X570
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (Product of work, yes it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/25631365 www.3dmark.com/spy/20539287 www.3dmark.com/pr/1054199
Or, more likely, it messes up other things that they aren't willing to investigate and fix either.
Been using it forever and must've missed that part.

It's also enabled by default on notebooks...
 
Top