• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Microsoft Pulls a Fast One with E3 Xbox One Demos

Joined
Jun 12, 2013
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
5
So if we can emulate Xbox one with a PC, why not get a PC and install a hacked Xbox one OS and get the best of both worlds?
This would be really funny if it happened.

I would install it and game on it just to spite Microsoft. I am p1ssed with them right now for forcing me to use Windows 8 on my new laptop.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
4,436 (1.89/day)
Likes
1,103
Processor Intel Core i7 3770k @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LK
Memory 16GB(2x8) DDR3@2133MHz 1.5v Patriot
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G
Storage 59.63GB Samsung SSD 830 + 465.76 GB Samsung SSD 840 EVO + 2TB Hitachi + 300GB Velociraptor HDD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 3440x1440@100Hz G-Sync
Case NZXT PHANTOM410-BK
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Mouse Anker
Software Win 10 Pro - 64bit
Benchmark Scores 30FPS in NFS:Rivals
Win 8 runs 2x times better on laptops than Win 7. Specially on older ones. Just saying...
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
748 (0.19/day)
Likes
79
System Name Tiberius / Aulus
Processor i7 3770K @ 4.4 / i7 4500U 2.4
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4 / Haswell ULT
Cooling Corsair H80i / Internal Fans
Memory 32Gb Crucial Ballistix / 8Gb Integrated
Video Card(s) eVGA 1080FTW / Intel 4400 HD
Storage 850EVO 500GB + Assorted 8TB / Samsung 512 mSATA SSD
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 2560x1440 / 13" WLED 1920x1080
Case Thermaltake S71 / XPS13
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD / Realtek HD
Power Supply Corsair HX750W / 9 cell Battery
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech G610
Software Win 8.1 Pro / Win 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores Suggestions.
This would be really funny if it happened.

I would install it and game on it just to spite Microsoft. I am p1ssed with them right now for forcing me to use Windows 8 on my new laptop.
You know somebody will try if they can get their hands on the OS image or source code for it. I am positive that somebody will try to emulate it if they can. The question will all come down to how to manage the difference in how the X1 and PC are different in architecture in both the OS and system.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2013
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
5
Win 8 runs 2x times better on laptops than Win 7. Specially on older ones. Just saying...
Maybe it does, maybe it doesn't, that doesn't change the fact that the only way to make Windows 8 tolerable, is to use a 3rd party program that enables the user to circumnavigate all the Metro UI and its nonsense apps and proprietary stores that Microsoft is trying to ram down our throats.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
4,436 (1.89/day)
Likes
1,103
Processor Intel Core i7 3770k @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LK
Memory 16GB(2x8) DDR3@2133MHz 1.5v Patriot
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G
Storage 59.63GB Samsung SSD 830 + 465.76 GB Samsung SSD 840 EVO + 2TB Hitachi + 300GB Velociraptor HDD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 3440x1440@100Hz G-Sync
Case NZXT PHANTOM410-BK
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Mouse Anker
Software Win 10 Pro - 64bit
Benchmark Scores 30FPS in NFS:Rivals
Maybe it does, maybe it doesn't, that doesn't change the fact that the only way to make Windows 8 tolerable, is to use a 3rd party program that enables the user to circumnavigate all the Metro UI and its nonsense apps and proprietary stores that Microsoft is trying to ram down our throats.
Agree. I just use the free Classic Shell program which have all the tools required to make Win 8 just the way should be. Works flawlessly. ;)
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
9,629 (2.75/day)
Likes
13,422
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Processor Core i7-3770k 3.5Ghz, O/C to 4.2Ghz fulltime @ 1.19v
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 250GB MX200 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
the only way to make Windows 8 tolerable, is to use a 3rd party program that enables the user to circumnavigate all the Metro UI and its nonsense apps and proprietary stores that Microsoft is trying to ram down our throats.
Couldn't agree more! I use Start8 and ModernMix on my W8 testbed, and it's made it a fairly nice operating system.
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2008
Messages
4,338 (1.19/day)
Likes
3,681
System Name Ironic
Processor Intel 2500k 4.4Ghz
Motherboard ASROCK|Z68 PROFESSIONAL Gen 3
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 32GB GSkill Ripjaw X 1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 290 Vapor-X 4Gb
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB SATA 3 (6G/s)
Display(s) 22" Dell Wide/ 22" Acer wide/24" Asus
Case Antec Lanboy Air Black & Blue
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy 7.1
Power Supply Corsair Enthusiast TX750
Mouse Logitech G9x, custom frame
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK
Software Win 7 Ult 64 bit (with a side of XP64)
Win 8 runs 2x times better on laptops than Win 7. Specially on older ones. Just saying...
:roll::roll::roll::roll:

I've noticed that win 7 runs better than win 8 on laptops. Just saying...

Just out of curiosity, what makes win8 a better os for standard PC's than win7? (not tablets, not win-phones, not touchscreen laptops, standard, home-use, gaming or otherwise).
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Dec 22, 2011
Messages
2,147 (0.95/day)
Likes
1,211
System Name Zimmer Frame Rates
Processor Intel i7 920 @ Stock speeds baby
Motherboard EVGA X58 3X SLI
Cooling True 120
Memory Corsair Vengeance 12GB
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 980 Ti Super JetStream
Storage Of course
Display(s) Crossover 27Q 27" 2560x1440
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Don't be silly
Power Supply XFX 650W Core
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma
Keyboard Logitech UltraX
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Epic

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,412 (3.96/day)
Likes
4,819
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
Frame rate meter on that PS4 vid looks like it's fake, how ever the game they were playing seemed to play nicely which should be the main concern.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
4,436 (1.89/day)
Likes
1,103
Processor Intel Core i7 3770k @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LK
Memory 16GB(2x8) DDR3@2133MHz 1.5v Patriot
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G
Storage 59.63GB Samsung SSD 830 + 465.76 GB Samsung SSD 840 EVO + 2TB Hitachi + 300GB Velociraptor HDD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 3440x1440@100Hz G-Sync
Case NZXT PHANTOM410-BK
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Mouse Anker
Software Win 10 Pro - 64bit
Benchmark Scores 30FPS in NFS:Rivals
So is true that the PS4 have a frame cap at 30fps??????
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,550 (5.49/day)
Likes
10,738
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Frame rate meter on that PS4 vid looks like it's fake, how ever the game they were playing seemed to play nicely which should be the main concern.
It was added later using analysis tools that analysed the footage to figure out the framerate.

And the Need for Speed footage didn't look that smooth, but that seems like a frame syncing issue.

So is true that the PS4 have a frame cap at 30fps??????
Probably, but as long as the games look smooth I don't care. It will actually look smoother to have the games locked at 30FPS then it will to have them jumping back and forth between 60 and 30FPS.
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2013
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Wrong, Wrong, Wrong, Wrong. The Alpha dev kits were using similar components. The game will look the same. It's a common practice in the INDUSTRY!

You guys are killing me with your ignorance. This happens at EVERY LAUNCH E3, it is standard stuff.

They are not trying to trick anyone. E3 is at a weird time of the year when the code is not finished or even near finished. All the developers are still working on the game while E3 is going on, they just needed to provide a stable branch of code and probably used a development kit or a pseudo development kit to run the code.

Every person here should

1) learn how to code games
2) Should go behind the scenes at E3 and find out what is really going on behind the curtains.

E3 is really an awkward time for developers because they are still using old hardware and still providing either demos to take time out of coding for the game for weeks to just provide a simple demo that may not be in the final game and is on old pieces of hardware.
Ok let me put this simply for you since you think there not triing to trick anyone, First off, processor wasnt an AMD period, yes there is a huge difference in processors from AMD and from Intel. Secondly using a GTX 770 video card, are you kidding me, look at the specs of the XBone and tell me where that video card is at on the specs and tell me why you think that video card is NOT over powered compaired to what is in the XBone. I had to make a screen name just to respond, I own THREE xbox 360s and I am not a fan boy. Heck my dell laptop with SLI can play games better then my 360 could. Simply put MS screwed up, they new what the other party was doing and let them do it, honestly IF i decide to buy a gaming console it will NOT be a XBone, for many other reason this excluded. I could see if MS had a PC that had a CLOSE AMD processor with a built in GPU or a separate card that was equal to there GPU but come on man, you have no leg to stand on, they where using INTEL and Nvidia products that are way better then what is in the consoles.