• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Monitor Flickering

Joined
Oct 20, 2015
Messages
450 (0.25/day)
Location
Michigan
System Name Velka
Processor R5 3600
Motherboard MSI MPG X570
Cooling Wraith stealth
Memory Corsair vengeance 3000mhz
Video Card(s) RX Vega 56
Storage Samsung 850 Evo 500gb/ 1tb WD blue/ 500gb Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) LG 29UM68 Free Sync Enabled
Case Corsair 400r
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Corsair Scimitar
Keyboard Corsair K65 LUX
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores No thanks
So my ultrawide monitor started flickering in the middle of use today and i cant explain what happened or how it got fixed. The area that started flickering covered about if the monitor was running in 16:9 in stead of 21:9 if that makes sense? I thought it was a cable issue so i unplugged it from my computer and the gray screen it displays when nothing is plugged in looked even worse than when it was plugged in it started flickering more and more so i turned it off and kept checking on it every hour or so and it wasnt getting better. Eventually I decided to plug it in and have videos play on it and the issue slowly started resolving itself to the point where now it is completely functional. I dont really understand how something like this is possible? Is there any explanation?
The monitor is an LG 29UM68.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
7,439 (1.44/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Impossible to tell right now. Note intermittent problems that cannot be duplicated at will are the hardest to troubleshoot.

For sure, I would make sure the OS, your security, and particularly the graphics drivers are current. Make sure all data and power cables are securely fastened. Ensure the case interior is clean of heat-trapping dust, all fans spin freely, you have a good flow of cool air through the case, and all temps are good.

If the problem recurs, consider swapping in a spare power supply. Also, swap in a spare monitor. If the problem continues with the 2nd monitor, you will know the fault is on the computer side. If the problem goes away and stays away, the problem is likely in the monitor. It could be revealing if you could try that monitor on a second computer.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
5,708 (4.20/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L240 V2
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX - 3333 Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080 with Kraken G12 + Water 3.0 Performer C
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Deepcool Matrexx 70
Power Supply GPS-750C
Grounding issues can cause flickering.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
7,439 (1.44/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
It would not hurt to get a AC Outlet Tester to ensure the wall outlet is properly wired and grounded to Earth ground. I recommend one with a GFCI (ground fault circuit interrupt) indicator as it can be used to test bathroom and kitchen outlets (outlets near water) too. These testers can be found for your type and voltage outlet, foreign or domestic, (like this one for the UK) at most home improvement stores, or even the electrical department at Wal-Mart. Use it to test all the outlets in the home and if a fault is shown, have it fixed by a qualified electrician.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2015
Messages
450 (0.25/day)
Location
Michigan
System Name Velka
Processor R5 3600
Motherboard MSI MPG X570
Cooling Wraith stealth
Memory Corsair vengeance 3000mhz
Video Card(s) RX Vega 56
Storage Samsung 850 Evo 500gb/ 1tb WD blue/ 500gb Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) LG 29UM68 Free Sync Enabled
Case Corsair 400r
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Corsair Scimitar
Keyboard Corsair K65 LUX
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores No thanks
Impossible to tell right now. Note intermittent problems that cannot be duplicated at will are the hardest to troubleshoot.

For sure, I would make sure the OS, your security, and particularly the graphics drivers are current. Make sure all data and power cables are securely fastened. Ensure the case interior is clean of heat-trapping dust, all fans spin freely, you have a good flow of cool air through the case, and all temps are good.

If the problem recurs, consider swapping in a spare power supply. Also, swap in a spare monitor. If the problem continues with the 2nd monitor, you will know the fault is on the computer side. If the problem goes away and stays away, the problem is likely in the monitor. It could be revealing if you could try that monitor on a second computer.
Im pretty sure I can 100% safely say the issue was not related to my pc as the flickering persisted with multiple devices and even when nothing was plugged in.
My 2nd and spare monitor both worked no issue while plugged into the same pc as well.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
7,439 (1.44/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Well, then, assuming this LG's cables are securely fastened, it looks like your monitor was the culprit.

Did these problems start right from the start when new? I note according to LG, the native resolution seems to be 2560:1080 with a 21:9 aspect ration. Yet when I look at your RX Vega 56 as seen here, that that is not one of the recommended resolutions.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2015
Messages
450 (0.25/day)
Location
Michigan
System Name Velka
Processor R5 3600
Motherboard MSI MPG X570
Cooling Wraith stealth
Memory Corsair vengeance 3000mhz
Video Card(s) RX Vega 56
Storage Samsung 850 Evo 500gb/ 1tb WD blue/ 500gb Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) LG 29UM68 Free Sync Enabled
Case Corsair 400r
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Corsair Scimitar
Keyboard Corsair K65 LUX
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores No thanks
Well, then, assuming this LG's cables are securely fastened, it looks like your monitor was the culprit.

Did these problems start right from the start when new? I note according to LG, the native resolution seems to be 2560:1080 with a 21:9 aspect ration. Yet when I look at your RX Vega 56 as seen here, that that is not one of the recommended resolutions.
considering that even the 2080 ti doesnt have a 21:9 resolution under its recommended id assume its because tpu doesnt list them generally? Maybe its just me but im not sure how a gpu that can go up higher resolutions 2560:1080 would not have it as a "recommended" resolution.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
7,439 (1.44/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
I would assume TPU lists the information provided by published specs. And supported resolutions are just based on the maximum. Aspect ratios come into play. Regardless all LCD displays have just 1 native resolution that provides the optimal image.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2012
Messages
1,455 (0.51/day)
Location
south korea
System Name COVID Bonus Build
Processor Ryzen R9 3900XT 4.4 Ghz @ 1.275V
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair Viii Hero Wifi
Cooling Lian Li 360 Galahad
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 32gb OC @ 3733 mhz CL14-14-14-30 1T @ 1.44V
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2080 Super FTW3 Ultra
Storage Seagate 520 1TB
Display(s) Samsung Odyssey G7
Case Lian Li PC-O11D XL White
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex SE Platinum 1000W
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S
Keyboard Steelseries 6GV2
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Have tried but can't beat the leaders :)
my monitor flickering was fixed by replacing DP cable. I used my old DP cable since I need atleast 2 m for cable management. The supplied one was only 1.5m. Out of nowhere, after 2 or 3 days of usage, monitor started flickering. I was so pissed that time since it was a new monitor. I almost called for exchange of monitor. Then I just tried to use the supplied cable, flickering stop. Put back old cable, flickering. Odd thing was my old cable does not cause any issues on my old monitor.

Anyway, I decided to buy a new cable, and already a week still no flickering. So apparently, or my conclusion is that since my new monitor is high refresh rate vs old monitor which is only 60hz, high refresh rate monitors are sensitive to cables.

So my suggestion is to try another cable
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
4,394 (1.75/day)
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name WS#1337
Processor Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Gigabyte x470 AORUS Ultra Gamin
Cooling Xigmatek Scylla 240 AIO
Memory 2x8GB Team T-Force Vulkan DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Super Armor OC
Storage Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case Chieftec AL-01B-OP
Audio Device(s) ALC1220
Power Supply SeaSonic SSR-550FX (80+ GOLD)
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded (Gateron brown)
Software Windows 10, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS
If you say only part of the screen was flickering, then it might be a lose ribbon cable inside the monitor.
29UM68 has a single controller chip, but two separate FPC cables going to corresponding half of the monitor. If one of them is loose or if the flex connector is slightly damaged or corroded, you may encounter flickering. It may also be a microfracture in the actual LCD, which is gonna be near impossible to fix (costs almost the same as the monitor itself). It happens sometimes on ultrawide, and large/curved monitors in general, if it has flimsy plastic chassis and the owner moves it around the desk frequently (not enough support to compensate for lateral stress). But that's rare, and you really have to abuse that monitor for it to happen.
 
Top