• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Monitor is going black or distorted white randomly

Steven Rayback

New Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2015
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
I have a LCD monitor on my computer. Randomly, the monitor will either go completely black (as if powered off, and the power light turns off) or it will get a distorted frozen white screen (like how your smartphone would look if you dropped it in a toilet and tried to turn it on). Not too surprising, I have not dropped this 21 inch monitor in a toilet. The only way I can get the monitor to work again is by unplugging it and plugging it back in

I'm pretty sure that it is just a dead monitor that needs to be replaced, but a friend suggested that it might just be the power cord, since the monitor will work (like it is now) for hours on end, then suddenly start randomly not working. It's worth checking out, but before dropping money on a new monitor (if it isn't the power cord), can anyone confirm (or strongly suggest) that it is not a CPU issue or video card? Or maybe someone has seen this before?
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
16,233 (3.53/day)
Location
UK\US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-A820 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX-630 Infinity RS4000 Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
Sounds like it could be the video card, you need to fill in your system specs or at least post them so people can help you better. How ever have you tried a different monitor ?, if you don't have a spare check your local second hand store or a friend even if you could try.

Any chance it's a Samsung monitor ?, known to have bad caps and pretty common too that much so you can normally find a capacitor kit online.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
6,415 (1.30/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
How ever have you tried a different monitor ?
My first suggestion. If you don't have a spare monitor (or TV with computer input) ask your friend to swap with him for a bit. If the problem occurs with his monitor, you know the problem is in your computer (most likely the card or integrated graphics). If the problem moves to his computer, then you know it is the monitor.

The monitor turning white does NOT suggest power. But the power light going off (assuming it is not even blinking) does. For sure, make sure all the power and data connections are tight - especially if the monitor uses an external power block.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2012
Messages
33 (0.01/day)
Location
Hamburg,Germany
System Name My PC/My son's PC
Processor I7 2600k /I5 2500K
Motherboard AsRock z77 extreme 4/GB Z68-UD4-B3
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock Advanced/SCYTHE Ninja 3
Memory 16GB Vengeance 1600 CL9/16GB 1600 geil
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080 turbo /Asus 670 directcu
Storage LiteOn 256GB SSD,Seagate 2TB+WD 1TB/WD 1TB
Display(s) LG 29UC97C-B/Samsung 24'' fHD
Case CM Storm Sniper Black/Sharkoon Vaya
Audio Device(s) Onboard/Onboard
Power Supply XFX Core 750W sleeved/Seasonic 420w
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Sounds like capacitors on the LCD power supply board.If it's not in warranty,and you have some skills with the solderin iron,it's an easy fix.
 
Last edited:

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.45/day)
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
Any chance it's a Samsung monitor ?, known to have bad caps and pretty common too that much so you can normally find a capacitor kit online.
Sounds like capacitors on the LCD power supply board.If it's not in warranty,and you have some skills with the solderin iron,it's an easy fix.
Capacitors in the power section were my first thought as well. I currently have a Samsung TV that needs new caps and in the past had a monitor (think it was an Acer, but not 100% on this one) that showed problems almost exactly like the ones you describe, and, surprise surprise, had a blown cap on the power board. Replacing said capacitor revived the monitor, and it's been in use for the last two years without a hitch.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
6,415 (1.30/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
I agree this could very well be the monitor, but it could still be the graphics card too (or even the computer's PSU). Since swapping monitors is easy and can eliminate the monitor or card in one action, that is still where you should start. If you find the monitor does the same thing on another computer, then looking for a blown cap makes sense.
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.45/day)
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
I agree this could very well be the monitor, but it could still be the graphics card too (or even the computer's PSU). Since swapping monitors is easy and can eliminate the monitor or card in one action, that is still where you should start. If you find the monitor does the same thing on another computer, then looking for a blown cap makes sense.
Agreed.
 
Top