• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Motherboard killing PSUs?

Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,383 (1.05/day)
Likes
533
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.22v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1070 OC
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) LG 43ud79-b
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540 ( Coolermaster RGB Fans )
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#1
Is this possible? because I've changed out the PSU twice for the same reason the system wont power up and its come down to the PSU failing?
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
4,704 (2.05/day)
Likes
1,776
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus Old School
Processor i7-3930K
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H70 ( Push/Pull Swiftech GT 120mm Fans)
Memory Samsung 20GB(6x2GB+2x4GB) DDR3 1600MHz
Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB x6
Display(s) LG Triple Monitor Setup (5760x1080) ( Vivo Desk Swing Arm Mount)
Case Fractal Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Antec Quattro 850W Modular
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
#2
Did you check the outlet ?
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,383 (1.05/day)
Likes
533
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.22v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1070 OC
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) LG 43ud79-b
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540 ( Coolermaster RGB Fans )
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#3
The power outlet/point? I have two computers plugged into that same point and the other one has had no issues.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
23,029 (6.29/day)
Likes
12,049
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#4
Motherboards can cross circuits which cause the power supply's over-current-protection to trigger.

If you leave the power supply unplugged for a several minutes, you should be able to jump it back on and it will be fine. If that's the case then yeah, motherboard has a hardware fault.

I highly recommend a power supply tester if you don't have one. They can tell you whether or not a power supply is obviously bad.


What is the processor, RAM installed, and motherboard?
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,383 (1.05/day)
Likes
533
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.22v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1070 OC
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) LG 43ud79-b
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540 ( Coolermaster RGB Fans )
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#5
The boards a asrock fm2a88m-hd+ its running a fm2 6600k with just some generic Kingston ram.

Could it be the GPU at all?
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
23,029 (6.29/day)
Likes
12,049
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#6
GPU as in there's a graphics card involved? Should really provide full system specs for the machine.

Does it have BIOS installed to support the GPU you're trying to use?
http://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/FM2A88M-HD+/#CPU

It has an integrated GPU so you should be using that for testing purposes.
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,383 (1.05/day)
Likes
533
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.22v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1070 OC
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) LG 43ud79-b
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540 ( Coolermaster RGB Fans )
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#7
Seems to be working again now after leaving it unplugged, i dont have the full specs as its my sisters kids computer and i'm not currently around there, I was told it just turned off and wouldn't turn back on, so it could be ether heat related or like you said the boards tripping the PSU out, the GPU is only a GTX 570.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
23,029 (6.29/day)
Likes
12,049
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#8
It maybe got stuck in a sleep state then.
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,383 (1.05/day)
Likes
533
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.22v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1070 OC
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) LG 43ud79-b
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540 ( Coolermaster RGB Fans )
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#9
It maybe got stuck in a sleep state then.
The last time it happened was a week ago and it was the PSU it died but it was a 430w unit running a 550w video card using a molex connector, i tested the PSU by connecting the wires and it was dead to the world, i replaced it with some generic brand 800w unit which had bad coil whine but worked, I just hot its not the board like you said, sleep state not likely as he said it turned off when he was playing a game.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
4,704 (2.05/day)
Likes
1,776
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus Old School
Processor i7-3930K
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H70 ( Push/Pull Swiftech GT 120mm Fans)
Memory Samsung 20GB(6x2GB+2x4GB) DDR3 1600MHz
Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB x6
Display(s) LG Triple Monitor Setup (5760x1080) ( Vivo Desk Swing Arm Mount)
Case Fractal Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Antec Quattro 850W Modular
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
#10
Could also be a bad ground
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
4,514 (1.01/day)
Likes
3,015
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
#11
Possible? Yes. But highly unlikely. Power supplies are pretty fault tolerant - especially on the output side. Any 1/2 way decent PSU will shutdown if it detects a short/over-current condition on the output side.

I recommend you check your wall outlet. Every home and every computer user should have access to a AC Outlet Tester to ensure your outlet is properly wired and grounded. I recommend one with a GFCI (ground fault circuit interrupt) indicator as it can be used to test bathroom and kitchen outlets (outlets near water) too. These testers can be found for your type and voltage outlet, foreign or domestic, (like this one for the UK) at most home improvement stores, or even the electrical department at Wal-Mart. Use it to test all the outlets in the home and if a fault is shown, have it fixed by a qualified electrician.
 
Top