• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Motherboard won't detect SCSI Card

Markokk888

New Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2018
Messages
8 (0.01/day)
In my personal experience I was never able to get my Adaptec Scsi cards to work on Nvidia chipsets. I had to use boards with Via chipsets.
Sad news, now i have to start all over again with my project. f this chipset..
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2013
Messages
2,203 (0.87/day)
Location
If'n I tellz ya, den I gotzta, well, you know....
System Name The Big RED One
Processor i9-9900k, oc'd to 5.2 ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Maximus Hero Wifi Z390
Cooling Corsair H115i pro AIO 560mm push/pull, 11x Corsair 140mm ML RGB Fans (front, top, sides, rear)
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengence RBG pro DDR4-3200 (4x 8GB) in XMP2
Video Card(s) Evga 2080ti w/15% O/C
Storage 2x WD Black SN750 1TB m.2 + 4TB Crucial SSD + WD 12TB external HDD
Display(s) 2x Samsung 43" LCD's @4k-1440p
Case Thermaltake TT900 Supertower
Audio Device(s) On-board Intel AC9260 wireless, JBL Studio Pro Bluetooth Speakers
Power Supply EVGA G2 SuperNova 850W Modular
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2
Keyboard Logitech G613 mechanical wireless
Software Windows 10 pro 64 bit, with all the unnecessary background shiite turned OFF !
Benchmark Scores Quicker than flies on a dung pile
In my personal experience I was never able to get my Adaptec Scsi cards to work on Nvidia chipsets.
Been there, done that, NEVA. EVA. AGAIN ..:mad:..:cry:..:shadedshu:
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2017
Messages
189 (0.17/day)
Location
Russia
Processor FX 8320 @4.2 | i7 2600 @3.8 | Xeon W3670 @ 3.6
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth R2.0 | Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe | Gigabyte X58-UD7
Cooling Zalman Performa 10+ | Zalman Performa 11+ | Zalman Performa 10+
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport XT 32GB @ 1866 | Corsair Vengeance 32GB @1866 | Samsung 24GB @ 1600
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon 390x | Zotac GTX 1070 AMP Extreme | Zotac GTX 980 AMP Extreme
Storage Intel SSD / SAS 15k Fujitsu | Intel SSD / Velociraptors / Hitachi 2TB | Intel SSD / Samsung 1TB
Display(s) Samsung 245T | HP ZR30w | IBM 20" 4x3
Case Chieftec | Corsair Graphite 600T | Thermaltake Xaser IV
Audio Device(s) SB Titanium HD | SB Titanium HD | SB X-fi Elite Pro
Power Supply Thermaltake 875W | Corsair 850W | Thermaltake 1500W
Mouse Logitech | Logitech | Logitech
Keyboard Mitsumi Classic | Microsoft |Microsoft
Software W7 x64 | W7 x64 |W7 x64 / XP x32
Well, i suppose you probably have pretty incompatible BIOS or what do you mean by speaking
won't show up no matter what i do
you don't see it even under OS?

At least in my experience with nForce 4 (Asus A8N32sli deluxe) while they was alive i successfully used LSI SAS 3041E and Adaptec 2940-29160.
Test your card in another machine first, you may probably have dead PLX PCI-PCI-e bridge chip
 

Markokk888

New Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2018
Messages
8 (0.01/day)
Well, i suppose you probably have pretty incompatible BIOS or what do you mean by speaking

you don't see it even under OS?

At least in my experience with nForce 4 (Asus A8N32sli deluxe) while they was alive i successfully used LSI SAS 3041E and Adaptec 2940-29160.
Test your card in another machine first, you may probably have dead PLX PCI-PCI-e bridge chip
Nope don't even see it under os. The card is fully working with more modern intel based motherboards with no problems. Anyways, thanks for the help. i guess it is how it is.

Been there, done that, NEVA. EVA. AGAIN ..:mad:..:cry:..:shadedshu:
I'm thinking about the cards firmware, what if its too old and needs a update ? is that gonna make any differences ? Already updated the bios in the motherboard so far no differences.
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2017
Messages
24 (0.02/day)
You need to find a board with Via chipset. That is what I have figured out. I used to have an all Scsi system. Started with an Adaptec 2940UW then moved to a 29160N Then finally the 29320A-R.
Always an Amd system and only worked on non Nvidia chipsets. From what I remember the mb flat out refused to recognize the card no matter the pci slot. Even changing Irq's in the bios never helped.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
10,630 (4.02/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Having trouble trying to figure out what is wrong, trying to install this https://drive.google.com/file/d/16o9YXUk1a5PoJ3KOlCI2n71VAb17DAzP/view?usp=sharing adaptec scsi card to this https://drive.google.com/file/d/1832c3MD4bRQrRsb0MeDiFcGEKKtqyrA6/view?usp=sharing motherboard. can't figure out what is wrong or what i'm missing the card won't show up no matter what i do. Any solutions ?
That SCSI card and that motherboard should be working perfectly together. The problem is either a bios setting that has been overlooked or there is a defect with one of the parts.

In the BIOS, in the section "Advanced BIOS Features" have you made sure that the option "Boot Other Device" is enabled?
 

Markokk888

New Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2018
Messages
8 (0.01/day)
That SCSI card and that motherboard should be working perfectly together. The problem is either a bios setting that has been overlooked or there is a defect with one of the parts.

In the BIOS, in the section "Advanced BIOS Features" have you made sure that the option "Boot Other Device" is enabled?
Yes, this option is enabled. Strange think that other old PCI SCSI card works just fine and the PCI-E SCSI card won't. Both cards are adaptec.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
10,630 (4.02/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Strange think that other old PCI SCSI card works just fine and the PCI-E SCSI card won't. Both cards are adaptec.
Both should be working properly. The Nforce4 chipset is not to blame. It is entirely possible that the BIOS on that board simply doesn't have the support for booting PCIe devices with a boot rom, which would be a deviation from the PCIe spec, but it is possible..
 

Markokk888

New Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2018
Messages
8 (0.01/day)
Maybe because that card requires PCI-X specifications and that board just doesn't support it. ? But what manufacturer claims makes no sense. PCI-E have nothing to do with PCI-X.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 1, 2017
Messages
434 (0.41/day)
System Name Macbook Air Late-2013
Processor Intel Core i5 1.3Ghz
Memory 8GB 1600Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) Intel HD Graphics 5000 1536MB
Storage 256GB SSD
Display(s) 13.3" 1440x900
I'm not sure at what stage you are on your PC configuration.

You should be able to configure your card BEFORE the OS boot. There should be a prompt somewhere post-bios.
Once the card is configure at your desired taste, you need to have a driver disk so that your Windows installation detect the SCSI card if you want to install Windows on it.
Tho it should be detected in Windows? at least as an unknown device?

Have you overclocked your FSB / PCI lane? :p
 
Top