• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Motherboards should have plugs underneath!

Joined
Oct 20, 2006
Messages
455 (0.11/day)
Likes
41
Location
Hereford, England
Processor Intel Core i5 750
Motherboard Maximus III Formula P55
Cooling Ultima 90i
Memory 4GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) PNY GTX465 @ GTX470 w/ 1280MB vRAM
Storage OCZ Vertex 2E 60GB + 2x1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) Samsung 245B
Case Black Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply Antec NeoHE 550W
Software 7 Ultimate 64bit, OSX
#1
I was thinking, someone should make a motherboard with its 24pin, 8pin, sata ports and usb/frontpanel connections on the underneath of the pcb instead of on top! That way you could just have a few holes in the motherboard tray and then pretty much all the cables could plug in from behind the tray, so all the cables would stay round the back and not obstruct airflow... anyone think this is a good idea lol! I know it would be tricky getting the back panel to close with the 24pin connector plugged in, if you bent the cables a bit it might work in some cases...
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
2,646 (0.67/day)
Likes
201
Location
UK
System Name Ma Biatch
Processor i7 860
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3A
Cooling Noctua
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G-Skill
Video Card(s) GTX 470
Storage WD5000aaks raid0
Display(s) Sony Bravia 37" 1080p
Case CM 690
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#2
in some cases, theres your problem right there, hell some case dont even have any holes on the motherboard tray for routing the wires through, big fail, sorry to burst your bubble man :laugh: :D
 
V

v-zero

Guest
#3
Dell, Alienware, Apple - they could all employ this idea quite nicely because of their customised nature. It's a nice idea.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2006
Messages
455 (0.11/day)
Likes
41
Location
Hereford, England
Processor Intel Core i5 750
Motherboard Maximus III Formula P55
Cooling Ultima 90i
Memory 4GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) PNY GTX465 @ GTX470 w/ 1280MB vRAM
Storage OCZ Vertex 2E 60GB + 2x1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) Samsung 245B
Case Black Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply Antec NeoHE 550W
Software 7 Ultimate 64bit, OSX
#4
in some cases, theres your problem right there, hell some case dont even have any holes on the motherboard tray for routing the wires through, big fail, sorry to burst your bubble man :laugh: :D
Yeah thats what I was thinking, you would probably have to have a specific case to match so probably not the best of ideas but oh well :laugh:
 

DR.Death

New Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2005
Messages
1,737 (0.38/day)
Likes
63
Location
Canada
System Name death machine
Processor intel 6600 quad core cooled by scythe mutgen 2
Motherboard dfi lanparty UT P35-T2R
Cooling air
Memory crucial ballistic tracer 4 gb
Video Card(s) nvida 260 gtx
Storage segate baracuta 500 GB , western digital blue 1TB
Display(s) asus 23.6 vh242h
Case lian-li pc-a70 full tower
Power Supply 650 watt Antec Earth Watts
Software windows 7 and lots of other titles
#5
well if u put every thing behind then u would just make a thicker case to manage the extra wires behind it
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.52/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#6
i think apple uses this
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,624 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,350
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#7
Mkmods did one better and soldered all the wires to the back in one of his mods. I too wish there was an easy way to implement this.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.55/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#8
Nonsense idea unless you have a very very specific location of a socket AND it wouldnt interfere with mounting on a case that DIDNT have the appropriate hole. That just aint going to work. And servicing it would be a nightmare.

But look at workstation and server class mainboards that have connectors on the EDGE of the mainboard. That's a good move.
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2007
Messages
384 (0.10/day)
Likes
43
Location
Los Angeles, CA
System Name Phase 3pointOH
Processor Intel i5 3570k
Motherboard Gigabyte z77x-ud5h
Cooling Swiftech Apogee HD CPU Waterblock
Memory 8g Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 670
Display(s) 28'' Samsung
Case Silverstone tj07
Power Supply Corsair TX750w
#9
Dell, Alienware, Apple - they could all employ this idea quite nicely because of their customised nature. It's a nice idea.
The kind of people that buy Alienware, Mac, Dell etc etc... could care less about this idea.

Also you would need a case that as high enough motherboard risers to allow anything to be connected from underneath. Atleast 1.5in of clearance for the 24pin.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,624 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,350
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#10
The kind of people that buy Alienware, Mac, Dell etc etc... could care less about this idea.

Also you would need a case that as high enough motherboard risers to allow anything to be connected from underneath. Atleast 1.5in of clearance for the 24pin.
Not if the mobo came with 90* adapters!?!?!?!?!?! Plus it could free up realestate for say a diagnostic center for a DMM or Post code LED's or similar.
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
3,923 (1.08/day)
Likes
553
System Name Main / Home Media Serever
Processor Intel i5 2500k @ 4.75ghz / AMD AM3 5200+ x2
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty P67 Performance / Biostar 790GX
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight / XIGMATEK Apache
Memory 12gb of G.Skill Value Series DDR3 / 4x 1gb DDR2
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon 6870 1gb / Asus Radeon 5450 512mb
Storage 2x Samsung 830 64gb SSD Raid 0 & 750gb WD Blue HDD / OCZ Vertex II 80GB & 10TB of HDD Space
Display(s) 2x Acer 24" LED / Samsung 50" LED
Case Xigmatek Asgard II / APEX PC-389-C
Power Supply Rosewill 750w / Antec EArthwatts 380w
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 SP1 / Ubuntu 14.04
#11
I think this is a good idea and have though about it myself before also.

I don't think I see this happening anytime in the near future though.