• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Moving an operating system?

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
21,106 (4.21/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply FSP Hydro GE 550w :: something
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
Hey guys. As you may recall, my uncle gave me a Raptor X 150GB, the origional 3.5", SATA 1.5Gb/s drive. Well, it blew up, and he sent it in for RMA, and got a 150GB Velociraptor back. In the mean time, I used my old 250GB drive, but I would like to move everything over to the new Velociraptor, without having to reinstall and reconfigure everything. Is there a way to move the entire contents from my 250GB over to my Velociraptor, OS, registry and all? Thanks in advance.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
1,105 (0.24/day)
Location
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Processor i7-3770K
Motherboard Biostar Hi-Fi Z77
Cooling Swiftech H20 (w/Custom External Rad Enclosure)
Memory 16GB DDR3-2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Alienware GTX 1070
Storage 1TB Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) 32" LG 1440p
Case Cooler Master 690 (w/Mods)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 750-TX
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard G. Skill Mechanical
Software Windows 10 (X64)
Yep, 95Viper is right. I just used the Acronis True Image WD Edition Software a few weeks ago to do exactly what you are trying to do. It was incredibly easy.
 
  • Like
Reactions: hat

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
21,106 (4.21/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply FSP Hydro GE 550w :: something
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
I will try that, thanks
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
21,106 (4.21/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply FSP Hydro GE 550w :: something
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
Yep, Acronis did the trick. Don't have to reinstall or reconfigure anything now.

Really happy with this setup. :toast:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 24, 2010
Messages
3,603 (0.94/day)
Location
Oregon, USA
System Name GLaDOS
Processor AMD FX-9590 X8 4.7GHz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Corsair H80i v2
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB (2x8GB, 2x4GB) DDR3 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG-STRIX-RX580-O8G-GAMINGOC
Storage WD Blue 3D NAND 1TB Internal PC SSD
Display(s) 2 Acer S231HL 23" LED backlit LCD's on a Dual LCD stand
Case Corsair iCUE 220T RGB Airflow
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Corsair Void Pro Wireless
Power Supply Corsair 850HXi 850W
Mouse Corsair Sabre RGB
Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
Nice! Glad you got it taking care of Hat, I'll have to remember that program for later usage. :D
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
1,192 (0.24/day)
Location
scotland
System Name spuds K8-X2
Processor amd athlon X2 4200+ toledo s939 2794mhz 254x11 1.4 vcore
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo4-F v1.0 (MS-7125) nforce4 sata2 mod, laptop cpu heatpipe copper nb cooler
Cooling akasa evo "blue" + 90mm fan, 2x120mm front, 250mm side, 120mm rear, 120mm in psu, pci slot exhaust.
Memory OCZ Platinum XTC DDR PC3200 4GB(4x1024) @254mhz 3-3-3-8 2T
Video Card(s) sapphire HD3870 512mb GDDR4 vf900cu, several ramsinks on components / nvidia 7300gt 256mb secondary
Storage hitachi 160gb (slightly fried) / hitachi 120gb ATA / Seagate 160gb / 2x ps3 seagate 60gb
Display(s) CTX EX1300F 20" flat CRT, 1280x1024@100hz / 19" benq FP91G X / 19" hanns-g (all free)
Case mesh server/gaming black case, 9x 5.25' drive bays, silvestone auto fan controller
Audio Device(s) onboard realtek alc850 7.1/soundblaster LIVE! ct4780 + kxaudio - sony home theatre surround
Power Supply winpower 650w, system draws around 470-500w under load(+all screens)
Software win7 64bit
Benchmark Scores ~16m trips/sec using mty trip generator. triple monitor gaming using SoftTH. 3840x1024
iv found the built in backup option to work pretty well for transferring os to another drive.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
4,622 (1.11/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Rainbow puke/ Orange Poop
Processor AMD Ryzen 3600/ AMD Ryzen 2600x
Motherboard ASRock X570 Gaming 4s/ ASRock B450- pro 4 atx
Cooling Cooler master Master Air/ Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB G.Skill TridentZ 3200MHZ
Video Card(s) Zotac 2080 Super AMP
Storage Corsair 512gb PCI-E 4.0/ 960 EVO 500gb/256gb Inland Premium 2280 M2
Display(s) ACER 144hz 27"
Case Thermaltake Commander C33/ Radimax Gama (LoL)
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Red Dragon RGB 602 Griffin
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
I'm gonna find out hopefully within the next month if you can transfer a 2 drive RAID0 setup to a Single drive to a 4 drive RAID0 setup using Acronis
 
Top