• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI Mining board sub-par IGP performance

ecax

New Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2019
Messages
4 (0.04/day)
Hi there

Long time lurker here, finally making a post. I recently built a new rig to replace my old Q9300 which was starting to show its age when it came to single threaded performance.
I picked a mining motherboard (MSI B360-F PRO) because it was the cheapest available, pairing it with a G5400 and two sticks of Crucial DDR-2400.
So far performance has been great on the CPU front (tried Passmark and Cinebench), but I have noticed that IGP performance is abnormally low, even taking into account the fact that G5400 only features UHD 610.
It seems like the IGP is staying at base clock (350mhz) no matter what game I try to run, when it should be boosting to 1050mhz or so.
I checked with HWinfo, Intel Power Gadget and so on, and that IGP clock never rises above the 350mhz mark.

What's going on here ? I checked the BIOS settings for some kind of power-saving mode but found nothing. I tried a couple different drivers including the manufacturer's officially suggested one, as well as the latest one straight from Intel, but it makes no difference
I disabled the motherboard's "mining mode" btw, trying the same with it turned on made no difference at all so it does not seem to be related to the "mining-related" nature of this mobo

I simply have no clue what's going on, temperatures are great so this can not be throttling...

Complete specs if that's any help:
PSU : Corsair VS650
MSI B360F PRO
Intel Pentium Gold G5400
2x Crucial DDR4-2400
PNY CS900 240GB
 

Attachments

Joined
Mar 31, 2014
Messages
1,211 (0.57/day)
Location
Grunn
System Name Indis the Fair
Processor R5 3600 (PBO maxed, 73c temp limit, FCLK/UCLK 1833)
Motherboard Asus Prime X470 Pro
Cooling Heatkiller VI Pro, VPP755 V.3, XT45 240mm, 2xGentle Typhoon
Memory Patriot Viper Steel 4000c19 (b-die@3666 14-16/9-16-26-40 1.48v)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC
Storage 860EVO 500GB, 660p 1TB, WD Red 3TB, and other stuff
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T, Dell P2417H
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M
Audio Device(s) Behringer Xenyx Q1002USB, ATH-M50x, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2, Røde VXLR+, Modmic 5
Power Supply Seasonic 860w Platinum
Mouse Logitech G502, Razer Gigantus
Keyboard Corsair K70 (MX Blues, dying blue lights)
Software Win10 x64/Win7 x64/Ubuntu
You could try adjusting it through intel XTU...

Is there an iGPU clock exposed in the BIOS?
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
3,425 (1.69/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
have you checked for a BIOS update?
 

ecax

New Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2019
Messages
4 (0.04/day)
No, in the BIOS there is only reference to the CPU clock, all O/C related settings seem to be about the CPU, and almost nothing relates to the IGP apart from some weird mining-related settings. (limiting VRAM size and so on).

I have not checked for a BIOS update relating to this particular issue : they seem to mostly be about supporting newer CFL Refresh processors, and I would prefer to avoid flashing the BIOS if possible, however if it's the only way to fix this I might give that a try
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
3,425 (1.69/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
you can always revert.
 

ecax

New Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2019
Messages
4 (0.04/day)
the changelog for the BIOS version 1.2 mentions "Fix TPM issue" could that have something to do with the issue I am having?
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2014
Messages
1,211 (0.57/day)
Location
Grunn
System Name Indis the Fair
Processor R5 3600 (PBO maxed, 73c temp limit, FCLK/UCLK 1833)
Motherboard Asus Prime X470 Pro
Cooling Heatkiller VI Pro, VPP755 V.3, XT45 240mm, 2xGentle Typhoon
Memory Patriot Viper Steel 4000c19 (b-die@3666 14-16/9-16-26-40 1.48v)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC
Storage 860EVO 500GB, 660p 1TB, WD Red 3TB, and other stuff
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T, Dell P2417H
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M
Audio Device(s) Behringer Xenyx Q1002USB, ATH-M50x, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2, Røde VXLR+, Modmic 5
Power Supply Seasonic 860w Platinum
Mouse Logitech G502, Razer Gigantus
Keyboard Corsair K70 (MX Blues, dying blue lights)
Software Win10 x64/Win7 x64/Ubuntu
TPM=Trusted Platform Module, should have 0 impact on your issue.

The iGPU settings might be in one of the other parts of the bios, usually in a submenu next to chipset/platform settings.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
3,344 (2.38/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v1903
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
6,974 (1.93/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks.
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy
the changelog for the BIOS version 1.2 mentions "Fix TPM issue" could that have something to do with the issue I am having?
On mining motherboards you can often limit the use and performance of it (Igpu)much better than other board's to limit power and bandwidth use ,I would suggest digging around a lot in the bios and see if you can find the right sub menu.

My one has a mining and general default use case modes i remember that.

I would like to be more helpful and specific but i have a very very similar board , the manual is terrible And i am not using it in any way atm and cannot specifically remember the bios layout since I have never actually used the igpu in a surprising amount of time like ever on that board.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
3,344 (2.38/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v1903
There's some settings related to the iGPU under Settings: Advance.
134306


134307
 

ecax

New Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2019
Messages
4 (0.04/day)
I tried going through the BIOS again and the only IGP related settings are the ones on mentioned on the post above.
I also tried XTU and there does not seem to be a way to modify the IGP clock, setting Power options to High performance made no difference either.
It seems like the IGP is BIOS locked at the base speed since this is a mining board...
 
Top