• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

msi overclocking problems

Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
1,498 (0.54/day)
Likes
481
Location
canada
System Name INTEL/AMD
Processor I7 4790k stock / 1100T@3.8GHZ(on air)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GAMING 5 / GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 / zalmen 9900
Memory 4x4 GB 1600 / 4x4gb 1600
Video Card(s) GTX670 x2 / ATI 5870 x2
Storage 2xcorsair ssd 120gb raid0 /2x adata ssd 120gb
Display(s) 55Iinch LCD / 22inch acer
Case CM 690 II Advanced (USB 3) / Anteck 900
Power Supply Enermax 800EWT / 750 zalman
Software Win 10
#1
Ok I have built 2 systems for my friends both msi mobo's and the bios wont let me change cpu voltage. This is the problem with both builds. My one friend could care less about over clocking and the other one wants to trying it out. the only way to add more volts in amd over drive. My question is why don't they let u change voltage on the bios? :confused::confused:
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#2
What particular motherboard? (model name, number) Is there no option in the bios?
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,338 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,081
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#3
Hit the + - key
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
1,498 (0.54/day)
Likes
481
Location
canada
System Name INTEL/AMD
Processor I7 4790k stock / 1100T@3.8GHZ(on air)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GAMING 5 / GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 / zalmen 9900
Memory 4x4 GB 1600 / 4x4gb 1600
Video Card(s) GTX670 x2 / ATI 5870 x2
Storage 2xcorsair ssd 120gb raid0 /2x adata ssd 120gb
Display(s) 55Iinch LCD / 22inch acer
Case CM 690 II Advanced (USB 3) / Anteck 900
Power Supply Enermax 800EWT / 750 zalman
Software Win 10
#4
its blacked out
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,338 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,081
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#5
Is it an OEM or Aftermarket
EDIT: you have to turn ACC on in the cell menu
What boards series for what platform
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
1,498 (0.54/day)
Likes
481
Location
canada
System Name INTEL/AMD
Processor I7 4790k stock / 1100T@3.8GHZ(on air)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GAMING 5 / GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 / zalmen 9900
Memory 4x4 GB 1600 / 4x4gb 1600
Video Card(s) GTX670 x2 / ATI 5870 x2
Storage 2xcorsair ssd 120gb raid0 /2x adata ssd 120gb
Display(s) 55Iinch LCD / 22inch acer
Case CM 690 II Advanced (USB 3) / Anteck 900
Power Supply Enermax 800EWT / 750 zalman
Software Win 10
#6

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,338 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,081
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#8
Same board I have but with a different NB....He should avoid AMD AOD and do all of his OC in the BIOS all he needs to do is scroll down to the CPU voltage in the cell menu and hit the + or - keys to raise or lower his voltages
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#9
Same board I have but with a different NB....He should avoid AMD AOD and do all of his OC in the BIOS all he needs to do is scroll down to the CPU voltage in the cell menu and hit the + or - keys to raise or lower his voltages
He said it's blacked out. Possibly the motherboard doesn't support that CPU with the current bios on it? That's what I'm guessing at anyways.
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
1,498 (0.54/day)
Likes
481
Location
canada
System Name INTEL/AMD
Processor I7 4790k stock / 1100T@3.8GHZ(on air)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GAMING 5 / GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 / zalmen 9900
Memory 4x4 GB 1600 / 4x4gb 1600
Video Card(s) GTX670 x2 / ATI 5870 x2
Storage 2xcorsair ssd 120gb raid0 /2x adata ssd 120gb
Display(s) 55Iinch LCD / 22inch acer
Case CM 690 II Advanced (USB 3) / Anteck 900
Power Supply Enermax 800EWT / 750 zalman
Software Win 10
#10
It was blocked out with my 2x 7750 chip and i did a bios update for his new chip and same thing it may be his mobo is just to cheep for voltage lol it was like 50$ or something when he got it
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,338 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,081
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#11
ODD I have the manual for that board as it's the same manual that comes with mine and it should have exactly the same features....


Make sure that Auto overclocking Technology is off and or the easy Overclock switches are set to default...both boards are model M7596

Should ask your friend to download SPECCY to make sure that's the right board..
 
Last edited: