• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Multiple RAID 0 Set Up with Primocache

Hypnotized621

New Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2020
Messages
4 (0.03/day)
What if I bought a RAID controller with two NVMe or mSATA slots and put two SSD's and two HDD's in separate RAID0 arrays and THEN using the RAID0 SSD's as a cache using Primocache? All RAID done through the RAID cards bios.

One benefit would be that the first read or write load won't be as slow because the HDD's are in RAID0. Good for gaming.

I can see something like this costing no more then maybe around $350. Cheaper then a 4TB SSD.

2x2TB old NAS HDD's from like 2016 - $100
2x120GB-256GB mSATA or Nvme SSD's - $60
RAID controller - $100 M.2 RAID Controller Card + 2x SATA Ports - SATA Controller Cards (startech.com)
Primocache - $30

I looked all over YouTube and Bing search for something like this and I didn't find anything.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
2,192 (3.70/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name PC alive since Aug 18th 2019
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO Enabled)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro, BIOS F32
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz @3667MHz CL16-18-18-18-36 1T, B-die A0
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB (2019, OS drive) / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD (2015) 860Evo 1TB SSD (2020)
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA 14-bit (16.7M/1.06B colors), 6ms G2G
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W, Logitech G35 headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master (Gen1)
Keyboard Logitech G15 (Gen2)
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (20H2)
Do you have any specific reason or work load that requires a RAID-0 configuration?
Games (loading) usually don’t really benefit from anything faster than a single SATAIII SSD.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2018
Messages
96 (0.10/day)
Location
Germany
Processor Ryzen 7 3700x
Motherboard AsRock X570M Pro4
Cooling Be Quiet Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 4 x 16 GB Crucial Ballistix Sport LT red 3000C15 @ 3800C16 Micron rev E
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 2070 mini
Storage Corsair MP510 1.92TB
Display(s) Samsung U32J592UQU 31.5" UHD + Fujitsu P19-2 19" 1280x1024
Case Jonsbo U3 mATX
Audio Device(s) ATH-M50
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600W SFX [currently RMAed]
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard QPAD MK-50 mechanical
Software Win10Edu_64
I have a RAID0 HDD config and games do benefit from it.
Do you need 4TB for your games? I have 2x2TB SSDs, one is my Windows installation with quite a bit of games (500GB free) and the other is just videos, music, documents.
In Germany, I could get a 500GB SSD for about 50€, 1TB is 90€ and 2TB is 200€. That 200€ is the price for the Primocache, RAID card and your SSDs (usually in electronics the conversion is 1:1, regardless of actual value). So I would get a 2TB SSD for my windows and games and use those HDDs as a steamcache if I had to have most of my games locally available in a hurry.
In any case, RAID 0 is a data security nightmare and SSD RAID 0 is useless.
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
7,324 (2.84/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet
Processor 3700x
Motherboard AsRock Taichi Ultimate x470
Cooling NH-D15 Chromax
Memory G.Skill 2x16GB 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 2 NVME + 4 HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W
Case CoolerMaster NR600
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro
Keyboard Corsair K55
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Brrrrrrr
What are your system specs?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,778 (4.94/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I have a similar setup. Don't RAID-0 the SSDs, just buy one larger SSD. RAID-0 can lead to some big sequential speeds, but it can often hurt random access due to the increased latency the RAID controller adds.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2020
Messages
134 (0.84/day)
System Name Dusty
Processor 8700k - delid - 5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus X Hero
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory Corsair Vengence LPX 32GB
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 3070 Gaming X
Storage yes
Case Fractal Design Define R6
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750w
RAID0 for games is practically useless on SSD. Now my setup is farm from perfect but I do have a NVMe, a dual SSD Raid 0 and a single SSD just hanging around. I did actually test loading times out a few months back on all of them. I only tested one game in this case (World of Warcraft) and they all gave me identical performance. The largest difference was only the difference from each attempt. Sometimes it loaded in 12 seconds, sometimes in 14. Averaged out over 5 tests with cold boots between, I saw no improvements of running the game on neither the NVMe or the raid 0 compared to just the single SSD.
I also for the fun of it tested to load from my old mechanical drive, which took roughly 45-50sec compared to the SSDs.

I would much rather spend the extra 100 dollars on a larger SSD of any type instead.
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
7,324 (2.84/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet
Processor 3700x
Motherboard AsRock Taichi Ultimate x470
Cooling NH-D15 Chromax
Memory G.Skill 2x16GB 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 2 NVME + 4 HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W
Case CoolerMaster NR600
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro
Keyboard Corsair K55
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Brrrrrrr
RAID0 for games is practically useless on SSD. Now my setup is farm from perfect but I do have a NVMe, a dual SSD Raid 0 and a single SSD just hanging around. I did actually test loading times out a few months back on all of them. I only tested one game in this case (World of Warcraft) and they all gave me identical performance. The largest difference was only the difference from each attempt. Sometimes it loaded in 12 seconds, sometimes in 14. Averaged out over 5 tests with cold boots between, I saw no improvements of running the game on neither the NVMe or the raid 0 compared to just the single SSD.
I also for the fun of it tested to load from my old mechanical drive, which took roughly 45-50sec compared to the SSDs.

I would much rather spend the extra 100 dollars on a larger SSD of any type instead.
Well for 100 bucks you can get a 1TB pretty easily. Or have an older one laying around and use it as cache for an hdd.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
11,776 (2.87/day)
Location
Oregon
System Name Juliette // HTPC
Processor Intel i7 9700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard ASUS Prime Z390X-A // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Noctua NH-U12 Black // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3600 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 XC ULTRA GAMING// EVGA GTX 1050 ti
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe 1Tb, Intel 665p Series M.2 2280 1TB // Samsung 1Tb SSD
Display(s) ASUS VP348QGL 34" Quad HD 3440 x 1440 // 55" LG 4K SK8000 Series
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 // HDMI to Samsung HW-R650 sound bar
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Cooler Master MM710 53G
Keyboard Logitech 920-009300 G512 SE
Software Windows 10 Pro // Windows 10 Pro
Mechanical drives in a RAID 0 sure, and you don't need a hardware controller for just two drives. SSD is pointless
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2019
Messages
411 (0.65/day)
Processor R5 5600X
Motherboard Asus TUF Gaming X570-Plus
Memory 32 GB 3600 MT/s CL16
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64
Storage 2x 500 GB SSD, 2x 3 TB HDD
Case Phanteks P300A
Software Manjaro Linux, W10 if I have to
Why not go for software raid?
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
8,774 (2.16/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525/ Intel 8750H
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703/?
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks./16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060
Storage Silicon power qlc nvmex3 in raid 0/8Tb external/1Tb samsung Evo nvme 2Tb sata ssd
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Aimo 120
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
What if I bought a RAID controller with two NVMe or mSATA slots and put two SSD's and two HDD's in separate RAID0 arrays and THEN using the RAID0 SSD's as a cache using Primocache? All RAID done through the RAID cards bios.

One benefit would be that the first read or write load won't be as slow because the HDD's are in RAID0. Good for gaming.

I can see something like this costing no more then maybe around $350. Cheaper then a 4TB SSD.

2x2TB old NAS HDD's from like 2016 - $100
2x120GB-256GB mSATA or Nvme SSD's - $60
RAID controller - $100 M.2 RAID Controller Card + 2x SATA Ports - SATA Controller Cards (startech.com)
Primocache - $30

I looked all over YouTube and Bing search for something like this and I didn't find anything.
I have tried this and your system better be stable , crashes equates to data loss ,, it's not overly worth the effort too.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
2,192 (3.70/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name PC alive since Aug 18th 2019
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO Enabled)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro, BIOS F32
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz @3667MHz CL16-18-18-18-36 1T, B-die A0
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB (2019, OS drive) / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD (2015) 860Evo 1TB SSD (2020)
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA 14-bit (16.7M/1.06B colors), 6ms G2G
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W, Logitech G35 headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master (Gen1)
Keyboard Logitech G15 (Gen2)
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (20H2)
I have a RAID0 HDD config and games do benefit from it.
Going from 1 HDD into 2 with RAID-0, yes it does bring performance. I use to have it myself 10 years ago and I even gone further with a RAID-5(on board controller) setup and 4xHDD. But that changed after my first SSD. If you look game loading benchmarks there is no real benefit over a single SATAIII SSD. Not even a NVMe PCI-E4.0 can bring more (on loading games) over a SATAIII SSD with its over x10 times faster Read/Writes.


 
Top