• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

My computer power cycles when using front panel switches

Joined
Aug 13, 2014
Messages
98 (0.08/day)
Likes
10
Location
New York
System Name Shadow
Processor AMD FX-8370
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo/Aerocool DeadSilence fans
Memory Kingston 2x8GB 1333MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire R9 270X 4GB DDR5
Storage SanDisk 128GB SSD, WD Blue 1T
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart M850 80+ Bronze
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#1
I could use some help. I think I've narrowed down my computer's power cycling issue to either the motherboard front panel header or the front panel power/reset connectors. The power cycling doesn't happen on software reboot or reset switch. It only happens when using the power button. I'm going to try to eliminate it down to either the mobo or case connectors. Could I the connectors be bad, if so how is that? Could the pin headers be messed up or something? What I want to know is if I am on the right track, or is it something else(short, low wattage to parts, bad heat sink mount, etc.)?

Thanks in advance for the help.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,315 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#2
From what i can make of what your saying it sounds like you got the power switch and reset connected incorrectly.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2014
Messages
98 (0.08/day)
Likes
10
Location
New York
System Name Shadow
Processor AMD FX-8370
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo/Aerocool DeadSilence fans
Memory Kingston 2x8GB 1333MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire R9 270X 4GB DDR5
Storage SanDisk 128GB SSD, WD Blue 1T
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart M850 80+ Bronze
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#3
From what i can make of what your saying it sounds like you got the power switch and reset connected incorrectly.
I just looked a few minutes ago, and as far as I can tell they are in the right spot. Short of the power cycling, they do work. For example, the power button (tries to) turn it on, and the reset button resets the computer.

Also, for further reference, this didn't happen with my last mobo in the same case.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,315 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#4
Maybe check the power options to select what the power switch does when you press it.

 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#5
might be a broken switch.
 
Joined
May 27, 2008
Messages
3,577 (1.03/day)
Likes
533
Location
Huddersfield, uk
Processor E8200
Motherboard Asus P5KC
Cooling cooler master hyper tx3, 2x 120mm, 1x 80mm
Memory 4 GB DDR3 OCZ Black Edition
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD 2600xt silent pipe II
Storage 500GB WD Sata / 60 GB Samsung IDE
Display(s) 20" samusng LCD, gaming at 1680 x 1050
Case some old amd thing
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 650W
Software Windows 8.1, with 'start is back' obviously
Benchmark Scores It boots whilst im still young so im pleased with that.
#6
Swap the power and reset switches round and see if it cycles when you hit the reset switch (Which will now turn it on). Another thing I'd do is remove the front panel connectors completely and use a screw driver on the two power switch pins on he motherboard. This would rule out the possibility of other damage in the front panel. Just obviously be careful of sticking a screw driver inside your computer when its powered, and be very careful not to slip near the pins and short something. Other option to do the same would be get some of the power switch connectors with a bit of wire, connect them to the mobo then touch the two ends of the wire to power up.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,802 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,576
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#7
Swap the power and reset switches round and see if it cycles when you hit the reset switch (Which will now turn it on). Another thing I'd do is remove the front panel connectors completely and use a screw driver on the two power switch pins on he motherboard. This would rule out the possibility of other damage in the front panel. Just obviously be careful of sticking a screw driver inside your computer when its powered, and be very careful not to slip near the pins and short something. Other option to do the same would be get some of the power switch connectors with a bit of wire, connect them to the mobo then touch the two ends of the wire to power up.
u can buy a power button most places for a few bugs so why even try to use a screwdriver?

since flavinator don't write what case it is, he could be lucky there is a replacement pcb he can get from the manufactor or pay it cheap from them.
 
Joined
May 27, 2008
Messages
3,577 (1.03/day)
Likes
533
Location
Huddersfield, uk
Processor E8200
Motherboard Asus P5KC
Cooling cooler master hyper tx3, 2x 120mm, 1x 80mm
Memory 4 GB DDR3 OCZ Black Edition
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD 2600xt silent pipe II
Storage 500GB WD Sata / 60 GB Samsung IDE
Display(s) 20" samusng LCD, gaming at 1680 x 1050
Case some old amd thing
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 650W
Software Windows 8.1, with 'start is back' obviously
Benchmark Scores It boots whilst im still young so im pleased with that.
#8
u can buy a power button most places for a few bugs so why even try to use a screwdriver?

since flavinator don't write what case it is, he could be lucky there is a replacement pcb he can get from the manufactor or pay it cheap from them.
I don't like spending my bugs when I don't need to :)
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,315 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#9
might be a broken switch.
Yeah, could of even broken one of the wires too.

Swap the power and reset switches round and see if it cycles when you hit the reset switch (Which will now turn it on). Another thing I'd do is remove the front panel connectors completely and use a screw driver on the two power switch pins on he motherboard. This would rule out the possibility of other damage in the front panel. Just obviously be careful of sticking a screw driver inside your computer when its powered, and be very careful not to slip near the pins and short something. Other option to do the same would be get some of the power switch connectors with a bit of wire, connect them to the mobo then touch the two ends of the wire to power up.
Safer way would to use a jumper pin.
 
Joined
May 27, 2008
Messages
3,577 (1.03/day)
Likes
533
Location
Huddersfield, uk
Processor E8200
Motherboard Asus P5KC
Cooling cooler master hyper tx3, 2x 120mm, 1x 80mm
Memory 4 GB DDR3 OCZ Black Edition
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD 2600xt silent pipe II
Storage 500GB WD Sata / 60 GB Samsung IDE
Display(s) 20" samusng LCD, gaming at 1680 x 1050
Case some old amd thing
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 650W
Software Windows 8.1, with 'start is back' obviously
Benchmark Scores It boots whilst im still young so im pleased with that.
#10
Joined
Aug 13, 2014
Messages
98 (0.08/day)
Likes
10
Location
New York
System Name Shadow
Processor AMD FX-8370
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo/Aerocool DeadSilence fans
Memory Kingston 2x8GB 1333MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire R9 270X 4GB DDR5
Storage SanDisk 128GB SSD, WD Blue 1T
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart M850 80+ Bronze
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#11
Thanks for the help. Might try to see if I can use a jumper thing from an old IDE hard drive. Would that work?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,224 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,810
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#12
A jumper block is a jumper block...
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,267 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,073
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#13
My system did this where I would hit the power button and it would get halfway through post and shut off. Powering it on the second time worked fin a few weeks later my system would randomly shut off gaming or idle at the desktop reading something. Later it got even more pronounced and happened more frequently. It ended up being my PSU.

Just an idea.

As I originally thought it was my switch before the random power offs at the desktop. Remember though yours might not be degenerating at the rate mine did if it is the problem.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#14
My system did this where I would hit the power button and it would get halfway through post and shut off. Powering it on the second time worked fin a few weeks later my system would randomly shut off gaming or idle at the desktop reading something. Later it got even more pronounced and happened more frequently. It ended up being my PSU.
That's a specific thing with Seasonic PSU's, there's some strange switching mechanism that's a safety switch that powers down the PC when there's a problem. If OP has a Seasonic PSU, that is his issue. @the54thvoid can confirm this

EDIT: Correct me if I'm wrong, the RM series from Corsair is Seasonic made?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,224 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,810
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#15
I just got one myself good to know in event i ever have a issue...
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2014
Messages
98 (0.08/day)
Likes
10
Location
New York
System Name Shadow
Processor AMD FX-8370
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo/Aerocool DeadSilence fans
Memory Kingston 2x8GB 1333MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire R9 270X 4GB DDR5
Storage SanDisk 128GB SSD, WD Blue 1T
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart M850 80+ Bronze
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#16
I've decided I'm going to try removing my CF to see if it's the PSU not being able to handle powering on. If so, I'm getting a higher wattage CPU.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#17
Joined
Aug 13, 2014
Messages
98 (0.08/day)
Likes
10
Location
New York
System Name Shadow
Processor AMD FX-8370
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo/Aerocool DeadSilence fans
Memory Kingston 2x8GB 1333MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire R9 270X 4GB DDR5
Storage SanDisk 128GB SSD, WD Blue 1T
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart M850 80+ Bronze
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#18
Joined
Mar 13, 2014
Messages
3,150 (2.29/day)
Likes
3,813
Processor i5-3570K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 2 x 8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws X
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti GAMING
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250 GB and WD Black 2TB
Display(s) ASUS 27 inch 1440p PLS PB278Q
Case Corsair Carbide 500R
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#19

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,267 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,073
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#20
That's a specific thing with Seasonic PSU's, there's some strange switching mechanism that's a safety switch that powers down the PC when there's a problem. If OP has a Seasonic PSU, that is his issue. @the54thvoid can confirm this

EDIT: Correct me if I'm wrong, the RM series from Corsair is Seasonic made?
I wouldnt know my seasonic doesnt do it my raidmax was the one that was bad. Infact I do know what you are talking about but I will say in that this particular issue was a power saving function availible on some motherboards that made seasonics make noise. Interestingly enough this was limited to seasonic PSUs as the OEM ones made for corsair etc had a different controller.

EDIT: Sorry @RCoon that was rude as f@#$ im not feeling well today.
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,119 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,548
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#21
Thanks for the help. Might try to see if I can use a jumper thing from an old IDE hard drive. Would that work?
yes, but dont leave it on there, otherwise it would be the same as holding the button down.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2014
Messages
98 (0.08/day)
Likes
10
Location
New York
System Name Shadow
Processor AMD FX-8370
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo/Aerocool DeadSilence fans
Memory Kingston 2x8GB 1333MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire R9 270X 4GB DDR5
Storage SanDisk 128GB SSD, WD Blue 1T
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart M850 80+ Bronze
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#22
yes, but dont leave it on there, otherwise it would be the same as holding the button down.
Do you think my issue could be that my PSU doesn't have enough wattage to start my all the parts in my rig at once
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#23
why on earth use a jumper?? that will harm it most likely. just use a flat head screw driver.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,315 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#24
why on earth use a jumper?? that will harm it most likely. just use a flat head screw driver.
Because there is less chance of hitting more than just the 2 pins you want to connect.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#25
Because there is less chance of hitting more than just the 2 pins you want to connect.

any new(post 09) motherboards have atleast 1 pin spacing between different connections,