• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

my computer restarts itself during playing

john34

i just upgraded to geforce 8800gs and overclocked it little bit but while playing crysis my computer reboots itself. i wonder if its power issue. but i have 550 watt psu with 30A max. what do u think????

it mostly needs 30amp or more i fried my vga with a to low amp

System Name NINJA ASSASSIN
Processor Intel Core i5 2500 @ 3.3GHz
Motherboard Asrock H61M/U3S3
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce OC GTX 760 4GB
Storage WD Green 1TB :: WD Green 2TB
Display(s) 32" Teac LED TV
Case BitFenix Shinobi w/ Window
Audio Device(s) Creative SB VX 5.1
Power Supply XFX PRO 650W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit
john34 - The thing is, you can have a 550w PSU and then you can have a 'True' 550w PSU.

Sorry if I'm treating you like a total noob but basically if you have a generic branded PSU it might say 550w on it but thats the max output or peak .. this is used upon start up of your system I believe. The actual rating of it may only be something like 400w or so ... not 100% how it all works .. and probs every brand is different.

Hang on .. I probs should've asked what PSU you currently have ??

Like I said above it may not be a 'True' 550w PSU .. I had a 400w PSU and popped in a 9800XT back in the day and it would boot fine, but when I would run anything 3D it would restart. The same thing happened a while later when I upgraded to the X1900XT.

You can see my current setup in my Specs list. It runs like a Kenyan :p
<<<<<<<<<<<

Last edited:

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock