• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My Experience with Oloy RAM

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,748 (1.94/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @4.2GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling China Rock 4
Memory Oloy 32B(2x16GB) DDR4 3200MHz @3733MHz
Video Card(s) ASRock RX 5700 XT Challenger OC
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 3TB
Display(s) Acer ED323QUR ADIBPX 31.5" Curved 144Hz FreeSync
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply SilverStone 750W
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
I dont have a daily ryzen rig. The test bench for reviews was at 3200 though... base spec for the platform.
Ahhh no Ryzen love

Well, yes, at $50 it's obviously a good deal. I was just saying, don't expect much in the way of tech support. You know, like sometimes you need to ask about compatibility with a new board/chipset and stuff like that.
And in my experience, if a stick of RAM works out of the box, they tend to last forever. I think I only had one stick go sour in almost 20 years of building my own rigs.
Ehh I'd never go to the manufacture for tech support as they never know what they are actually talking about. Better off asking forums and just getting a refund. Newegg has a good return policy.

Always... but many TPU memebers claim they are enthusiasts? Cost typically never outweighs the percent gained in performance anyway.;)
Very true

I bought Oloy ram in October as it was dirt cheap and paired it with an MSI B450M Pro mobo, but it caused boot problems, so I had to change it.
It was definitely worth a try and I believe there's another thread where I posted about this.
I saw that thread. It almost made me want to avoid trying it. Could have been a bad batch though.
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
7,900 (4.13/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
Ehh I'd never go to the manufacture for tech support as they never know what they are actually talking about. Better off asking forums and just getting a refund. Newegg has a good return policy.
That depends. I had some issues with some RAM and Abit (yeah, I know) apologized they couldn't source the exact same kit to test, but they tested with something similar. I had some questions about a MSI board and I got a pre-baked response with a useless quote from the manual.
 

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,748 (1.94/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @4.2GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling China Rock 4
Memory Oloy 32B(2x16GB) DDR4 3200MHz @3733MHz
Video Card(s) ASRock RX 5700 XT Challenger OC
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 3TB
Display(s) Acer ED323QUR ADIBPX 31.5" Curved 144Hz FreeSync
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply SilverStone 750W
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
This is the best i can get without crashes

3733MHz 18-19-19-19-38

20191230_124113.jpg
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,205 (5.06/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,748 (1.94/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @4.2GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling China Rock 4
Memory Oloy 32B(2x16GB) DDR4 3200MHz @3733MHz
Video Card(s) ASRock RX 5700 XT Challenger OC
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 3TB
Display(s) Acer ED323QUR ADIBPX 31.5" Curved 144Hz FreeSync
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply SilverStone 750W
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
So it seems the RAM likes 3733MHz over 3600

It can do 3733MHz 18-19-19-19 but 3600MHx it won't boot unless at 18-20-20-20
 

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,748 (1.94/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @4.2GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling China Rock 4
Memory Oloy 32B(2x16GB) DDR4 3200MHz @3733MHz
Video Card(s) ASRock RX 5700 XT Challenger OC
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 3TB
Display(s) Acer ED323QUR ADIBPX 31.5" Curved 144Hz FreeSync
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply SilverStone 750W
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
I also just came across this article. I find it nice that Tomshardware also decided to post about the Oloy line of RAM

 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
18,122 (4.67/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
I find it nice, lol...!

Yes, they reviewed some Oloy RAM. :)
 

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,748 (1.94/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @4.2GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling China Rock 4
Memory Oloy 32B(2x16GB) DDR4 3200MHz @3733MHz
Video Card(s) ASRock RX 5700 XT Challenger OC
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 3TB
Display(s) Acer ED323QUR ADIBPX 31.5" Curved 144Hz FreeSync
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply SilverStone 750W
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
I finally got my 32GB took about 2 weeks. But so far it seems to be working well. Haven't had to much time to play around with them yet though.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
21,106 (4.21/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply FSP Hydro GE 550w :: something
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
I didn't do any fancy testing or tweaking, but I used a 16GB OLOy kit in a build recently with no issues with a 3200g...
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2014
Messages
1,240 (0.53/day)
Location
Grunn
System Name Indis the Fair
Processor R5 3600 (PBO 250/230/230, 73c temp limit, FCLK/UCLK 1866)
Motherboard Asus Prime X470 Pro
Cooling Heatkiller VI Pro, VPP755 V.3, XT45 240mm, 2xGentle Typhoon
Memory Patriot Viper Steel 4000c19 (b-die@3733 14-15/9-13-26-36 1.48v)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC
Storage 860EVO 500GB, 660p 1TB, WD Red 3TB, and other stuff
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T, Dell P2417H
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M
Audio Device(s) Behringer Xenyx Q1002USB, ATH-M50x, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2, Røde VXLR+, Modmic 5
Power Supply Seasonic 860w Platinum
Mouse Logitech G502, Razer Gigantus
Keyboard Corsair K70 (MX Blues, dying blue lights)
Software Win10 x64/Win7 x64/Ubuntu
With rev E you should be able to drive down the CAS latency by just slapping on more voltage, wouldn't be surprised to see 15-16 at 3733 at under 1.45v.

Rev E won't run low RCD(L), RCD(S) should be around half to half+2 of RCD(L). RP should be able to go down to CAS or CAS+1. Main problem with rev E is the very slow RFC, around 550-600 is typically minimum.

Tertiaries are worth fiddling with if you want the last drops of performance out of the sticks, how much you gain seems to vary a lot by motherboard, since there is quite a lot of variance between autos board to board.
 

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,748 (1.94/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @4.2GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling China Rock 4
Memory Oloy 32B(2x16GB) DDR4 3200MHz @3733MHz
Video Card(s) ASRock RX 5700 XT Challenger OC
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 3TB
Display(s) Acer ED323QUR ADIBPX 31.5" Curved 144Hz FreeSync
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply SilverStone 750W
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
With rev E you should be able to drive down the CAS latency by just slapping on more voltage, wouldn't be surprised to see 15-16 at 3733 at under 1.45v.

Rev E won't run low RCD(L), RCD(S) should be around half to half+2 of RCD(L). RP should be able to go down to CAS or CAS+1. Main problem with rev E is the very slow RFC, around 550-600 is typically minimum.

Tertiaries are worth fiddling with if you want the last drops of performance out of the sticks, how much you gain seems to vary a lot by motherboard, since there is quite a lot of variance between autos board to board.
I'm still tinkering with them but even with the Ryzen DRAM calculator I'm having a hard time dialing in timings.
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2014
Messages
1,240 (0.53/day)
Location
Grunn
System Name Indis the Fair
Processor R5 3600 (PBO 250/230/230, 73c temp limit, FCLK/UCLK 1866)
Motherboard Asus Prime X470 Pro
Cooling Heatkiller VI Pro, VPP755 V.3, XT45 240mm, 2xGentle Typhoon
Memory Patriot Viper Steel 4000c19 (b-die@3733 14-15/9-13-26-36 1.48v)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC
Storage 860EVO 500GB, 660p 1TB, WD Red 3TB, and other stuff
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T, Dell P2417H
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M
Audio Device(s) Behringer Xenyx Q1002USB, ATH-M50x, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2, Røde VXLR+, Modmic 5
Power Supply Seasonic 860w Platinum
Mouse Logitech G502, Razer Gigantus
Keyboard Corsair K70 (MX Blues, dying blue lights)
Software Win10 x64/Win7 x64/Ubuntu
With the timing calculator you will still need to rely on some degree of trial and error. I would suggest not immediately changing any of the tertiary or termination settings.
 

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,748 (1.94/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @4.2GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling China Rock 4
Memory Oloy 32B(2x16GB) DDR4 3200MHz @3733MHz
Video Card(s) ASRock RX 5700 XT Challenger OC
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 3TB
Display(s) Acer ED323QUR ADIBPX 31.5" Curved 144Hz FreeSync
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply SilverStone 750W
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
With the timing calculator you will still need to rely on some degree of trial and error. I would suggest not immediately changing any of the tertiary or termination settings.
When i get home I'll try again. Currently at work so no access to PC
 

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,748 (1.94/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @4.2GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling China Rock 4
Memory Oloy 32B(2x16GB) DDR4 3200MHz @3733MHz
Video Card(s) ASRock RX 5700 XT Challenger OC
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 3TB
Display(s) Acer ED323QUR ADIBPX 31.5" Curved 144Hz FreeSync
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply SilverStone 750W
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
So far with my 32GB set

Anything at 3733MHz tighter than 18-19-19-19-38 fails to boot and this set doesn't respond well to volt increase. Anything above 1.35 and fail to boot
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2014
Messages
1,240 (0.53/day)
Location
Grunn
System Name Indis the Fair
Processor R5 3600 (PBO 250/230/230, 73c temp limit, FCLK/UCLK 1866)
Motherboard Asus Prime X470 Pro
Cooling Heatkiller VI Pro, VPP755 V.3, XT45 240mm, 2xGentle Typhoon
Memory Patriot Viper Steel 4000c19 (b-die@3733 14-15/9-13-26-36 1.48v)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC
Storage 860EVO 500GB, 660p 1TB, WD Red 3TB, and other stuff
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T, Dell P2417H
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M
Audio Device(s) Behringer Xenyx Q1002USB, ATH-M50x, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2, Røde VXLR+, Modmic 5
Power Supply Seasonic 860w Platinum
Mouse Logitech G502, Razer Gigantus
Keyboard Corsair K70 (MX Blues, dying blue lights)
Software Win10 x64/Win7 x64/Ubuntu
If DRAM voltage makes it unstable I would guess that it's a termination problem, either one of the secondary memory voltages or the termination resistances.
 

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,748 (1.94/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @4.2GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling China Rock 4
Memory Oloy 32B(2x16GB) DDR4 3200MHz @3733MHz
Video Card(s) ASRock RX 5700 XT Challenger OC
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 3TB
Display(s) Acer ED323QUR ADIBPX 31.5" Curved 144Hz FreeSync
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply SilverStone 750W
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
If DRAM voltage makes it unstable I would guess that it's a termination problem, either one of the secondary memory voltages or the termination resistances.
Also from searching around, I'm thinking my new set of RAM is Micron-A die

Buy I'll post a Thaipon Image once is get home

It's very possible but all the extra voltages kind of threw me as my BIOs layout is weird and doesn't list alot of that




Edit: Heres the screenie

RAM specs.PNG



3733MHz 32GB.PNG
 
Last edited:
Top