• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My Gtx 1050 ti is not working/ not detected in bios or device manger. Pci-e slots say there empty but my fan runs. Plz fast fix ASAP

ineedsomehelpasap

New Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2019
Messages
4 (0.57/day)
Recenty i setup my pc everying turned on and got power but my graphics card didnt give video so i used my onbored gpu. My graphics card dosent show up anywhere such as bios device manger or anywhere. My fans runs and works fine.
Specs
i7-9700k
rog strix Ze90-e motherbored
GTX 1050 ti
Plz give tips or fix ASAP
SRY FOR SPELLING ERRORS
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
6,512 (1.89/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo
Processor Amd R5 2600X@4.1
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2304
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3466cas16 16Gb in two sticks.
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8056 vega 3dmark timespy
Recenty i setup my pc everying turned on and got power but my graphics card didnt give video so i used my onbored gpu. My graphics card dosent show up anywhere such as bios device manger or anywhere. My fans runs and works fine.
Specs
i7-9700k
rog strix Ze90-e motherbored
GTX 1050 ti
Plz give tips or fix ASAP
SRY FOR SPELLING ERRORS
Well initially try reseating it, check if it's fan spins.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
1,131 (0.55/day)
Location
Alabama
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard X470 Tachi Ultimate
Cooling Scythe Big Shuriken 3
Memory C.R.S.
Video Card(s) Radeon VII
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores Never high enough
Hate to say it but ATM it sounds like a dead card.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
19,501 (4.33/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Be Quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NF-P14s|1xCorsair ML120 Pro|4xML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {AVR:Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150}
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
Unplug your PC and flip the button battery out of your mobo for a minute before putting it back in and trying again.

Sometimes some boards can become 'bugged' and will prefer to use only the iGPU as default even if you have a dedicated graphics plugged in.

The fact that you initiated use of the iGPU means that it gets 'stuck' so a bios reset is needed.

Unplug the PC and flip the battery.


:EDIT:

Ooooorrrrr the card could be completely dead as mentioned above.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
1,131 (0.55/day)
Location
Alabama
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard X470 Tachi Ultimate
Cooling Scythe Big Shuriken 3
Memory C.R.S.
Video Card(s) Radeon VII
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores Never high enough
Let's hope not.
The fact the card isn't even detected in the BIOS or OS/system is why I said that.

If you have another system I'd test the card in that to either confirm or rule it out.
 

ineedsomehelpasap

New Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2019
Messages
4 (0.57/day)
before i switched my motherbored it worked on my other motherbored so ..

i did the battery thing didnt work
but my card worked on my other motherored
and also thers a white light- vga light on my pc its on
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
1,131 (0.55/day)
Location
Alabama
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard X470 Tachi Ultimate
Cooling Scythe Big Shuriken 3
Memory C.R.S.
Video Card(s) Radeon VII
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores Never high enough
I take it you tested the card AFTER the problem occured.
If so then the card itself would be OK.

Also, according to the info you gave it happens no matter what slot you have it in.

Although you can't rule out the board right now as the cause, could still be an issue with the card itself.

I have one myself that acts dead in some boards, in others it works normally and the problem is board-specific but not based on any given board model. Between the DFI Ultra D's I have for example it works in at least three of them but doesn't work in the other one I have.
Any other cards I set in that board works normally so in my case, it is the card but the card itself isn't "Bad", just picky about what board it wants to run in.

In any case I'd try another card in the board if possible and see if that works to be sure it's not a problem with the board itself.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
9,710 (5.40/day)
Location
Too Long to fit in a single line here.
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
Blow out your top (or the x16) PCIe slot rigorously - and not with your own saliva but with compressed air or a leaf blower. This can be as simple as a dust problem. If you reseated the card and if the board was without a card on that slot for a while in open air, this is a real possibility.

You can also inspect the contact area of the card for any scratches/damage/junk, though that rarely is a cause.

And yes, confirm that you tested OK on the card on the other board AFTER it didn't work on the new one for us :)
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2011
Messages
56 (0.02/day)
System Name Ragnars Rig
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard ASUS Pro WS X570-ACE
Cooling 3x140 Copper Rad, Koolance CPU-380I waterblock, XSPC X20 750 Pump Reservoir Combo
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 ULTRA GAMING
Storage Samsung OEM 500GB PCIe NVME, Samsung EVO 500GB SATA SSD, 2TB WD Black, 4TB WD Black
Display(s) DELL S2716DG 27" 144hz, Vizio D50U-D1 4K 50" 60hz,
Case Fractal Design R5 Black w/Window
Audio Device(s) Logitech G533 7.1 Wireless Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic SSR-1200PD 1200W PLATINUM
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair Strafe w/ Cherry MX Reds
Software Windows 10 Education x64
You can try cleaning the pins by inserting a piece of paper folded over on itself a few times. Do not slide it! Just insert and remove over the length of the slot.
This saved me some pain when I removed the GPU and some unseen grime was stuck to the pins.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
26,747 (6.04/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Get some electronic grade contact cleaner disconnect power supply from the wall and remove the CMOS battery then spray the pcie slot and then clean the edge pins on the video card using contact cleaner you may want to use a clean rubber eraser as well. Have you also updated the Motherboard BIOS?

And where did you buy this 1050ti from?
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
2,121 (1.31/day)
Location
Long Island
before i switched my motherbored it worked on my other motherbored so ..
Did you wipe the HD and reinstall the OS after switching Motherboards ?

The fact that it worked on your old motherboard and doesn't on the new one tells me the card is fine and the system is confused. Unless that was a "like kind" replacement ... the system can be "confused" from detecting various on board newer chipsets and trying to install driver for older chipsets that it can no longer detect because they are associated with your old MoBo. While such a "switch' can be done, somewhat successfully, it also often results in the problem you describe.

Some folks will uninstall all hardware drivers before removing the old board ,,, and then install the new ones after the swap. But this makes future troubleshooting difficult as you never know if in fact Windows didn't reinstall the buggers right after you uninstalled them or as soon as you booted to the new MoBo. Many a system has sat on my workbench whereby a fresh install cured many ills after a recent user upgrade.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2008
Messages
1,641 (0.42/day)
Processor 5930K
Motherboard MSI X99 SLI
Cooling WATER
Memory 16GB DDR4 2132
Video Card(s) EVGAY 1080 nilla
Storage SEVERAL SSD"S
Display(s) Catleap/Yamakasi 2560X1440
Case D Frame MINI drilled out
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse DEATH ADDER
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Tournament
Software W10HB
Benchmark Scores PhIlLyChEeSeStEaK
Also do an over night Cmos clear. Use an Eraser to clean the PCI-E of the GPU (gold fingers) as Ive seen hand grease cause this issue.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2010
Messages
1,535 (0.44/day)
Location
Steel City, UK
System Name Little tiny thin
Processor i7 5960x 4.5ghz
Motherboard R5E10
Cooling Water
Memory 2x8gb 3200mhz with bling bling
Video Card(s) XFX GTR RX 480 8GB GPU
Storage Samsung 970 evo 250 on m.2 slot/512gb m.2 ssd on asus hyper card/2tb mechanical
Display(s) 2x 24'' led monitor
Case Fractal define R6 TG
Audio Device(s) built in
Power Supply AX860
Mouse AFX
Keyboard Corsair k95 some dead LED Lights
Software WINDOWS 10.1 pro
As your title says. (ASAP) You need more patience to fix and there is no short cut/way before you even fixed your problem.

Take those words.

Just noticed. Nice username and new member. I smell something fishy... Lol
 

Thecrashingwave

New Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2019
Messages
2 (0.50/day)
Hey im having a similar issue. I have a b360 m ds3h motherboard and a gtx 1050 ti. intel site lists the mobo and gpu as compatible. When i put the gpu in the mobo it gets power and fan is spinning, but when you check the bios the pcie 16 slot says empty. What can i do to make the mobo recognize the gpu?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
26,747 (6.04/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Hey im having a similar issue. I have a b360 m ds3h motherboard and a gtx 1050 ti. intel site lists the mobo and gpu as compatible. When i put the gpu in the mobo it gets power and fan is spinning, but when you check the bios the pcie 16 slot says empty. What can i do to make the mobo recognize the gpu?
Pull the mobo and build the rig out of case and fully insert the gpu
 

Thecrashingwave

New Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2019
Messages
2 (0.50/day)
you are right i was being a pussy. I was pushing so hard i was scared. just assembled mobo out of case and it went in. ill check if its working

Working great got the drivers installed. thank you for the help.
@
eidairaman1
 
Top