• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

My HD5830 runs at x8 instead of x16

Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
97 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel I5 760@4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Pro
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory Super Talent 4GB DDR3@1600
Video Card(s) HD5830 water cooled by XSPC
Storage WD Blue 500GB
Case CM690 II+
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master GM 550W Semi Modular
Software OS: Win7 Ultimate 64bit OEM
#1
I have had this issue for a year. At first i fixed it by reseating video card. But it ran at x8 eventually. I reinstalled my os window 7 sp1 but no luck.

Here are what i tried and failed: get rid of dust of video card slot by using air compressor, clean video card (litterally), reseat both cpu and vga, install latest driver including beta driver, clear cmos.

I even changed a different card (fully working) it still ran at x8. So i guess my mobo (asus p55 chipset, no usb 3.0 no sata3) is malfunctioning.

I installed vga in the first vga slot (16x slot according to manual). So what should i do to make it work again? I am experiencing quite a frame loss in gaming.

Update1: Yesterday i inserted my hd5830 in a spare machine (i3 540, mobo with h55 chipset) and guess what it ran at x16 bandwith without a problem. So can i conclude that my mobo has failed?


P/s: Any advices, suggestion is appreciated. :D
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,700 (0.76/day)
Likes
1,364
Location
Minnesota
System Name I Dub Thee Infinity
Processor Intel Core I7-3930K
Motherboard EVGA X79 Classified
Cooling Corsair H80
Memory 16GB GSkill Trident X
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC+
Storage SanDisk Ultra Plus 256GB, OCZ V2 180GB, 2x Toshiba X300 5TB RAID 0
Display(s) Acer XB270HU
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium + Sennheiser HD 598 + Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA 850W G2
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Gigabyte Osmium Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#2
Have you checked for a bent/broken pin on the CPU socket or damage anywhere along the way from CPU to GPU?
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#3
Over tightening a CPU cooler can cause issues like this because the pins on the motherboard won't always make good contacts with the CPU if you over-tighten it or tighten one side more than the others. I've seen this occur with PCI-E slots and with DRAM slots.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
97 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel I5 760@4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Pro
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory Super Talent 4GB DDR3@1600
Video Card(s) HD5830 water cooled by XSPC
Storage WD Blue 500GB
Case CM690 II+
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master GM 550W Semi Modular
Software OS: Win7 Ultimate 64bit OEM
#4
Have you checked for a bent/broken pin on the CPU socket or damage anywhere along the way from CPU to GPU?
Yes i have. No bent or broken pin found. Also no damage on mobo. Visual inspection :D
Over tightening a CPU cooler can cause issues like this because the pins on the motherboard won't always make good contacts with the CPU if you over-tighten it or tighten one side more than the others. I've seen this occur with PCI-E slots and with DRAM slots.
Yeah because of that i had to reseat cpu but no luck so far.

Will try other mobo with my cpu and video card on. I'll update later.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,213 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,805
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#5
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
97 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel I5 760@4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Pro
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory Super Talent 4GB DDR3@1600
Video Card(s) HD5830 water cooled by XSPC
Storage WD Blue 500GB
Case CM690 II+
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master GM 550W Semi Modular
Software OS: Win7 Ultimate 64bit OEM
#6
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
97 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel I5 760@4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Pro
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory Super Talent 4GB DDR3@1600
Video Card(s) HD5830 water cooled by XSPC
Storage WD Blue 500GB
Case CM690 II+
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master GM 550W Semi Modular
Software OS: Win7 Ultimate 64bit OEM
#7
I was thinking could it be the cpu fault, not the mobo, socket or pcie slot. Cpu failed to deliver full vga bandwith as it should. Is there a way to test this? By changing to a different cpu maybe. :D
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,213 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,805
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#8
Id say its down to either or unless if you can find a spare machine and test that card. Ps it doesnt matter if its a vc or not, if you plug in a pcie board in the second 16x slot (8x bandwidth) the bandwidth of the primary slot will half.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,213 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,805
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#9
Id say its down to either or unless if you can find a spare machine and test that card. Ps it doesnt matter if its a vc or not, if you plug in a pcie board in the second 16x slot (8x bandwidth) the bandwidth of the primary slot will half.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,284 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,200
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
#10
X16/X8 should not affect your frame rate that much. Not enough to notice without benchmarking.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
97 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel I5 760@4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Pro
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory Super Talent 4GB DDR3@1600
Video Card(s) HD5830 water cooled by XSPC
Storage WD Blue 500GB
Case CM690 II+
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master GM 550W Semi Modular
Software OS: Win7 Ultimate 64bit OEM
#11
Id say its down to either or unless if you can find a spare machine and test that card. Ps it doesnt matter if its a vc or not, if you plug in a pcie board in the second 16x slot (8x bandwidth) the bandwidth of the primary slot will half.
I insert my video card in a spare pc and it works like charm. x16 v2.0
P/s: my pc doesn't have any cards inserted in pci/pci-e slot other than 1 video card :D

X16/X8 should not affect your frame rate that much. Not enough to notice without benchmarking.
Unfortunately when i was playing AC IV Black Flag i experienced frame loss quite clearly. At that time i could make it ran at x16 again but now i can't although i used the same method. :D

Same old question: Could cpu fail to deliver full vga bandwith? Cpu malfunctions perhaps.

ps: please read post #1 for an update.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
1,962 (0.64/day)
Likes
659
Location
Czech republic
Processor Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Rx 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Display(s) Dell U2415
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 550W
Software Windows 7 x64
#12

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#13
Not with THAT card at least :D
PCI-E bandwidth really depends on the game, but more often than not it won't make that much of a difference because the majority of times where a lot of PCI-E bandwidth is used is when textures are being loaded into the GPU's memory when a game starts up.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
97 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel I5 760@4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Pro
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory Super Talent 4GB DDR3@1600
Video Card(s) HD5830 water cooled by XSPC
Storage WD Blue 500GB
Case CM690 II+
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master GM 550W Semi Modular
Software OS: Win7 Ultimate 64bit OEM
#14
PCI-E bandwidth really depends on the game, but more often than not it won't make that much of a difference because the majority of times where a lot of PCI-E bandwidth is used is when textures are being loaded into the GPU's memory when a game starts up.
So from what you're saying i should just ignore pci-e bandwidth cause it didn't matter that much :D
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#15
So from what you're saying i should just ignore pci-e bandwidth cause it didn't matter that much :D
With one card, no. If it's not using the other 8 lanes for a reason, CFX might not work. Did you try running the card in the other PCI-E slot just to see if it would work?
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
97 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel I5 760@4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Pro
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory Super Talent 4GB DDR3@1600
Video Card(s) HD5830 water cooled by XSPC
Storage WD Blue 500GB
Case CM690 II+
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master GM 550W Semi Modular
Software OS: Win7 Ultimate 64bit OEM
#16
With one card, no. If it's not using the other 8 lanes for a reason, CFX might not work. Did you try running the card in the other PCI-E slot just to see if it would work?
Yes i did try. It works fine with other 2 pci-e slots (x8 slot and x4 slot) :D
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#17
Yes i did try. It works fine with other 2 pci-e slots (x8 slot and x4 slot) :D
Then I wouldn't worry about it. :)
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
97 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel I5 760@4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Pro
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory Super Talent 4GB DDR3@1600
Video Card(s) HD5830 water cooled by XSPC
Storage WD Blue 500GB
Case CM690 II+
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master GM 550W Semi Modular
Software OS: Win7 Ultimate 64bit OEM
#18
Then I wouldn't worry about it. :)
Basically, you're telling me to ignore the pci-e bandwidth and let video card runs at x8 although it suppose to do x16. Is GPU-Z giving me false reading? Correct me if i'm wrong :)
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#19
Basically, you're telling me to ignore the pci-e bandwidth and let video card runs at x8 although it suppose to do x16. Is GPU-Z giving me false reading? Correct me if i'm wrong :)
Could be. Power saving features sometimes disable PCI-E lanes when the system is idle. What I'm saying is you wouldn't know the difference even if it was running at x16.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
97 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel I5 760@4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Pro
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory Super Talent 4GB DDR3@1600
Video Card(s) HD5830 water cooled by XSPC
Storage WD Blue 500GB
Case CM690 II+
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master GM 550W Semi Modular
Software OS: Win7 Ultimate 64bit OEM
#20
Could be. Power saving features sometimes disable PCI-E lanes when the system is idle. What I'm saying is you wouldn't know the difference even if it was running at x16.
So in term of performance i'd play games as usual not much loss frame. I feel at ease now.

Besides i remembered turning of power saving option under bios and OS. Perhaps there is something wrong with cpu built-in pcie controller :)
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2012
Messages
575 (0.28/day)
Likes
188
System Name Main rig
Processor Intel i7-4790K Devils Canyon
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Antec Kuhler 620
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengence Pro
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
Case Corsair 600T
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-FI HD Platinum
Power Supply Corsair AX750 Gold
#21
how do you know you arent running at x16?

have you used gpu-z and run the benchmark to see if it changes under load?

modern cards/mobos are designed to drop to lowest possible level when idle.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
97 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel I5 760@4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Pro
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory Super Talent 4GB DDR3@1600
Video Card(s) HD5830 water cooled by XSPC
Storage WD Blue 500GB
Case CM690 II+
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master GM 550W Semi Modular
Software OS: Win7 Ultimate 64bit OEM
#22
how do you know you arent running at x16?

have you used gpu-z and run the benchmark to see if it changes under load?

modern cards/mobos are designed to drop to lowest possible level when idle.
Checked with gpu-z (start render test) and then ran 3D Mark 11 in Xtreme mode. It still shows x8.

But then again its result in 3D Mark 11 (ver 1.03) is fine X1100. There a lot of people with the same video card have similar result to mine. I guess x8 bandwidth doesn't hurt at all :)